Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eileen from Sewell, NJ

Great location! Walking distance to Cruz Bay!

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Location, View, Clean!
Cons: The bed mattress is too firm for our comfort.
Location: Cruz Bay restaurants! Rhumb Lines, Banana Deck, Lime Inn, Salty Dog, Ocean Grille, Beach Bar Hike to Honeymoon Beach.
Clean and well maintained! We enjoyed staying in 5C, second floor, with the lovely view of Pillsbury Sound. The condo is well equipped, spotlessly clean, and private. Very relaxing to hear the surf right below the balcony. Snorkeling was really good off both rocky points. We saw lots of fish including a squid which was a first for us. The pool is refreshing and the grounds are nicley landscaped and maintained. Walking into Cruz Bay is a bonus. So relaxing not to drive and find parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MIKIE from NORTH CAROLINA

REEELAX!!!!!

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: NOTHING
STAFF WAS THE BEST! AIRLINE LOST BAGS THEY WERE VERY HELPFUL! LOCATION THE BEST! FACILITY THE BEST! RESTURANT WAS EXELLENT (LOBSTER RESOTTA IS TO DIE FOR) 3 RD TIME TO ST JOHN; BEEN TO 18 OTHER ISLANDS THIS WAS THE BEST!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from western MA

Next time even longer:)!

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Location: Easy walk into Cruz Bay, bars/restaurants, ferry, USVI Visitors' Center (many day sails, etc. leave from their dock); Mongoose Shops, taxis to beaches
2nd visit in 3 yrs...almost a week each time in late Feb-early March. "Young" couple in 60's who love the convenience of the beautiful location-within walking distance all of Cruz Bay/rest via "taxis" or local $1.00 bus! This is a lovely/upscale place to stay -the tastefully decorated units are fully equipped-this time we had a 1 BR lower, last time a duplex-both with great views of water/sunset-all have decks or patios! We prefer ocean vs harbor view as (fun but noisy) bar music might be disruptive from latter-worth the extra $ Pool/ hot tub area lovely-although no beach in front there is a swim/snorkel dock with 3 levels of lounges/tables and plenty of shade available. Never crowded! It's a "peaceful pool" with no one under 16 allowed in hot tub (although a family with 4-albeit well behaved- young children dominated it several afternoons during our stay. Store on site offers necessities & friendly service 8-8. You can book tours, rent snorkel gear all right there-very nice service. New on site restaurant 362 (replaced the terrific, relocated ZOZO's, alas!) seems to have growing pains and unprofessional or not enough? service in "Sunset Lounge". We opted not to stay for dinner after a cocktail...All bar seats "reserved" for diners only although a full restaurant is downstairs(?). Those there for drinks-it is a lounge sit around tables away from views hoping for their drinks to arrive....We were in no rush so it didn't matter but might to some who wanted to catch a ferry, e
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by CG from North Coast

Charming Bungalows, tropical grounds on Ocean

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Sunset cocktails at Ocean 362 were great, incredible view, relaxing music, Good wine selection, Expert Bar Attendants.
Cons: The lush grounds and pool could use more upkeep and attention. Loud Leaf blower during the weekend day was annoying.
Location: Easy walking distance to everything,
Nice bungalow, Kitchen, living area, bedroom, Easy walking distance to Cruz Bay restaurants, boats, and shops, Quick snorkel near the resort, or you can Rent a Jeep to the multiple Island Beaches
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lyz from Boston

Great location, very close to town.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Just about everything! The guests are also very friendly, their are paths to walk on, access to the ocean, a great pool, views of St Thomas
Cons: Not too much. A gentleman by the name of Davidson is in charge of housekeeping, and he is simply awesome! He can take care of practically anything!!
Location: Walk to downtown, there are parks, the ferry, friendle bars, casual, mid range and fine dining around the area. Taxis to take you to the other beaches
I've stayed in St John many times, but this was my first time in Gallows Point. They market it as catering to older, childless people, and for the most part, that is true. Makes for a very peaceful place to stay. With the exception of getting to a grocery store, a car is not really needed, so it saves that expense. The grounds are very well kept, the staff are very friendly, accommodating, cheerful and eager to help solve whatever difficulty may arise. There is a little store on the property that sells coffee, etc., breakfast items, beer, wine, alcohol, sun block etc. Not a great place for kids
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent Resort on the Water

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Gallows Pt is located in a quiet location but only a short walk to all the restaurants, shopping and car rentals (for the park and excellent beaches.)
Cons: The onsite restaurant is a high end eating establishment and is not conducive for daily meals (L & D only.) Also, no fitness room is available.
Location: See above. Shopping, great restaurants, all water sports, excellent beaches, National Park and much more.
Gallows Point Resort is a condo style facility with outstanding water views and a relaxing environment. We enjoyed our stay there immensely will plan to go back on our next trip to St John. Of course, the blue waters and warm Caribbean temperatures are always an attraction for us and a great way to escape the winter doldrums back on the mainland. The staff was always helpful and the housekeeping personnel were excellent. We had no complaints during our entire stay. This a small resort with the essential amenities. However, they have an onsite concierge that can get you scheduled with any St John adventure from water sports to tours of the National Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: Loved the room and location
Cons: Staff
Hotel property was very nice, but at $500 per night would have expected more from staff (not very helpful or friendly). Location was close to down, but the local bar has live music every night which can be heard all night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Char from Arlington, VA

Bird's Eye View of Paradise

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The combination of condo style with hotel amenities is fantastic.
Cons: We didn't know this is an adult property. The concierge is kluge as she does several jobs at once and didn't confirm our dinner reservations with us.
Location: My husband is a snorkeler and the fact that you can enter the water off the resort's deck and have a fantastic under the sea view is perfect. It is a
We loved the Gallows Point Resort. We were sorry to only spend a week there. Many other guests were staying two to four weeks and we left very jealous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel on beautiful St. John

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed St. John. It is now my favorite of the Caribbean Islands. This hotel is in a great location - isolated from the noise of the town (if you get an ocean facing room) yet you can walk into town to shop and eat. St. John has the most beautiful sandy beaches I've ever seen, and the snorkeling off of the hotel's pier is possibly the best on the island. There is no sandy beach on the hotel's premises, but you can walk about a 40 minute walk to honeymoon beach which is wonderful. Each condo is individually decorated. Condo 6B on the first floor was lovely. We were in 6C upstairs which was OK, but not as nice. The view is partially obstructed due to the palm trees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 14, 2013
Great location on Cruz island. St. John's is beautiful. Small beach at hotel, good for snorkeling. Live bands can be a little loud at night, but always stopped before midnight. Definitely would stay again and would highly recommend St. John's to anyone who "wants to get away".