Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location, walking distance to Cruz Bay

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Loved the location and views.
Cons: The floating stairs heading up to the bedroom was the only thing that we really didn't care for. The bedding decor was a little dated.
Location: Eat, shop, go on a hike, walk to the beach.
Gallows Bay is located within walking distance to Cruz Bay, the heart of St. John. The view from our room was breathtaking, & the outdoor pool area and lounge area was also spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Place to Stay!!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Wonderful Customer Service on every level.
Cons: -
Location: Wonderful beaches, obviously, also a very nice market just outside of the downtown area.
Right away, I knew this was going to be great when a Hotel shuttle was waiting for us at the fairy to take us to the hotel. Then they took our luggage to our room and showed us around. The room was incredible and was everything that we could have wanted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful resort. Great location.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The resort exceeded my expectations. Great location, walking distance to ferry, restaurants and shopping. Staff was friendly and responsive. Accommodation were beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

We loved this place!!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
This hotel is super convenient to Cruz Bay. All of the staff were awesome. And our view was phenomenal!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Central Florida

Great Vacation Spot!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location!
My husband and I stayed in an upper harbor room. It was during the slow season (June) so we didn't have any problems with loud music coming from the bars. The room was very nice with a beautiful view. The sunsets from GP were amazing every night. We chose not to rent a Jeep and didn't have any problems walking to the market (5 min) or to an entrance to the National Park (15 min) for access to beautiful and secluded beaches like Honeymoon beach (30 min). If you need a taxi they are readily available. The staff was excellent. Overall I would highly recommend GP to couples or adults without children. Other hotels like the Westin are more kid friendly with a large beach and watersports like kayaking, dinghies, and wave runners onsite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great view. Great location

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Everything was great. It's within walking distance to the town. Our room was right by the water and everybody was really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonathan from Annapolis, MD

Perfect for romantic getaway

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel has a shop with useful supplies, from coffee to beer and wine and snacks, as well as sunscreen, rental snorkel gear, etc. You can open an account to charge to your room and pay up on your last day. Very convenient. Also, the hotel has a restaurant and a bar, both nice, good food, and panoramic view of the sea and St. Thomas. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to town, so you can park at the hotel - parking in town is impossible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrew from Chicago

Lovely view, attentive staff!

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing really.
Loved the location close to Cruz Bay. Near a lot of great restaurants. Great balcony view, room was perfect. Staff attentive and courteous. I would go back and stay there again! No real beach, but it's worth going to Trunk Bay which is 15 minutes away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Massachusetts

Great setting within walking distance of the actio

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Cons: Unfortunately, a noisy bar nearby with generally poor bands that play late into the night. Less of a problem for the ocean view than harbor view rooms
Location: Restaurants, shopping, night life, public transportation all within walking distance over well lighted well traveled streets.
Great Find, we got lucky! Pleasant staff, well cared for property, clean, well serviced, spacious apartment. Courteous service. Knowledgeable staff. Good recommendations. Convenient on-site convenience store and beach equipment rentals. We were on the upper level on the ocean view side. Couldn't have been nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sue from Connecticut

Great location!

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is our second visit to St. John. We stayed in a beautiful villa last time, but we all agreed we enjoyed the location of Gallows Point better. With adult children, we loved being able to go into town for drinks and not worrying about driving back on narrow, steep, winding roads. We also loved the sound of the ocean hitting the rocks, especially at night. The views are not as spectacular as up in the hills, but were still lovely. We were also happy we stayed at Gallows instead of some of the other in-town places because Gallows is just far enough away that you feel you are away from it all. It also has beautiful grounds which most of the other in-town places do not. We will definitely stay here next time! The only reason I did not give the hotel service 5 stars is that we were told to come to the reception area at 830 for the 900 ferry, however, we were not brought to the ferry until 8:50 which was a little nerve-wracking. They assured us we would make the ferry and they were right, but still a little unsettling.