Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: accomodations very beautiful
Cons: The dining room- dinner was disappointing.Music from town until very late at night
Location: not much,few restaurants and bars
only problem one hast take a taxi to go to any beach and also often to go to town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

Great hotel, amenities and unbeatable location

Posted Jan 9, 2015
We stayed on cruz bay side in an upstairs unit. View was spectacular and unit itself was well appointed, super comfy bed, newly renovated kitchen and bath. Grounds are gorgeous and a very short walk puts you in cruz bay. On site convenience/gift shop with concierge services to book excursions. Will stay here again next time for sure. Restaurant on site is good but only open for dinner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Great spot to go for a quiet getaway.

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros : 1.) Concierge guide, Mano, is one of the most professional and friendly hosts I've ever met. Incredibly helpful and happy. 2.) Unbeatable views of sunset. 3.) Josh, the resort restaurant bartender - could easily compete with some of the best bartenders in the world. Cons : 1.) None.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Overland Park, KS

Outdated & Overpriced

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: The view of the sunsets were definitely beautiful!
Cons: Temperature in unit 5D, waterproof skylights, maintenance on units, furniture and decor, disclose fees from scheduling excursions through gift shops!
Location: Cruz Bay is within a couple minute walk down the hill with everything you will need for your stay! No need for a rental car.
This was our first trip to St. John, deciding to stay at Gallows Point after researching and reading reviews. We were under the assumption that it was one of the best places on the island. We booked an “Upper Ocean” for $545 per night. Upon checking into Unit 5D we were disappointed. The place was outdated with low budget furniture and décor compared to what we had viewed on the Gallows Point website. We walked into 5D to find the air conditioner “off” and the temperature at 87 degrees. For $545 per night I don’t think it’s too much to ask to have the air conditioner “on” prior to our arrival. We quickly discovered that if the blow dryer was used in the upper bathroom, the circuit trips. My husband put on his mechanic cap and had to reset the breaker multiple times. During a rainstorm, the skylight above our bed began leaking on my husband’s chest and head. Unbelievable! We moved the bed and contacted the office in the morning. The staff offered to move us but we declined since we were at the mid-point of our trip and didn’t feel like packing and unpacking again. We made the most of it each night giggling while moving our bed in anticipation of nightly storms. The management did comp a dinner in the restaurant to make up for it. The final straw was when the hot water heater broke. The maintenance man did a nice job of fixing it, but obviously took away from our romantic 1st anniversary vacation we were seeking. To say we're disappointed would be an understatement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome location! Awesome staff!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: The convenient location, the friendliness of the staff, the onsite pool and hot tub with their panoramic view, the onsite mini-store, the hammocks.
Cons: Housekeeping is inconsistent. When we finally had housekeeping, as we don't require it daily, didn't replenish coffee supplies or clean dining table.
Location: Right on Gallows Point that overlooks the harbor and the ferries coming in and out. Downtown is a short 5 minute walk.
Units are individually owned and not energy efficient regarding air conditioning. Very cold in the bedroom due to the lack of energy efficient windows/doors in living area, so raise the temp on thermostat before going to bed to compensate and make it comfortable for sleeping. The meet and greet at the dock was wonderful! Great location; walk to downtown, however very, very noisy with music from downtown at night, especially if you stay in a unit closer to the downtown location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Excellent hotel. Good location, nice room, tasty restaurant. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom hilton head SC

Paradise

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: The grounds were beautifully maintained, housekeeping was prompt and thorough, and the front desk could answer all questions.
Cons: The restaurant on-site was closed for September which was a disappointment.
Location: Conviently located close to Cruz bay and all the restaurants,boat rentals and shops.
This was our second trip to st John and The Gallows. What can I say about it? Incredible!!! I love staying at the Gallows. Our view was over the ocean to st Thomas, in the daytime we had the breathtaking view of the water and the islands and at night it was the twinkling lights of st Thomas. We stayed in 5B which was a lower unit on the ocean side. The ocean was right outside our back door and snorkeling was steps away. The lower units are smaller than the spacious loft units upstairs, but the reduced cost was worth it. There were peacocks actually roaming around! The only negative thing about our trip was that in September so many restaurants and facilities are closed as that is the off season, but that makes it so much easier to meet the locals. Anna Thompson worked the front desk at the gallows and was so helpful, be sure to look her up if you have any questions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Annandale, VA

Great location

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Location and Views.
Cons: The staff in the gift shop that we were told could help us plan our days with activities wasn't that helpful. Need to do your research before you go.
Location: Snorkeling off pier is fantastic. Hike to Honeymoon beach is close by and worth the short 20 minute walk.
We loved the location and the view. Quick walk into town and close to all the restaurants. Being so close to everything we didn't need a car. There was nice snorkeling right off the dock which was a huge plus. The rooms were nice and the staff was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best vacation so far......

Posted Aug 22, 2014
This is a must stay and enjoy......going back to the same place next year.......stan and Gina...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom g

Hotel close to town yet surrounded by the ocean

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Went on a mother daughter trip to St John for the first time. The Gallows Point Resort is very well maintained exceptional views and easy to get to ferry and town to eat dinner. Would highly recommend this hotel. Love St John and plan to stay there again.