Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome location! Awesome staff!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: The convenient location, the friendliness of the staff, the onsite pool and hot tub with their panoramic view, the onsite mini-store, the hammocks.
Cons: Housekeeping is inconsistent. When we finally had housekeeping, as we don't require it daily, didn't replenish coffee supplies or clean dining table.
Location: Right on Gallows Point that overlooks the harbor and the ferries coming in and out. Downtown is a short 5 minute walk.
Units are individually owned and not energy efficient regarding air conditioning. Very cold in the bedroom due to the lack of energy efficient windows/doors in living area, so raise the temp on thermostat before going to bed to compensate and make it comfortable for sleeping. The meet and greet at the dock was wonderful! Great location; walk to downtown, however very, very noisy with music from downtown at night, especially if you stay in a unit closer to the downtown location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Excellent hotel. Good location, nice room, tasty restaurant. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom hilton head SC

Paradise

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: The grounds were beautifully maintained, housekeeping was prompt and thorough, and the front desk could answer all questions.
Cons: The restaurant on-site was closed for September which was a disappointment.
Location: Conviently located close to Cruz bay and all the restaurants,boat rentals and shops.
This was our second trip to st John and The Gallows. What can I say about it? Incredible!!! I love staying at the Gallows. Our view was over the ocean to st Thomas, in the daytime we had the breathtaking view of the water and the islands and at night it was the twinkling lights of st Thomas. We stayed in 5B which was a lower unit on the ocean side. The ocean was right outside our back door and snorkeling was steps away. The lower units are smaller than the spacious loft units upstairs, but the reduced cost was worth it. There were peacocks actually roaming around! The only negative thing about our trip was that in September so many restaurants and facilities are closed as that is the off season, but that makes it so much easier to meet the locals. Anna Thompson worked the front desk at the gallows and was so helpful, be sure to look her up if you have any questions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Annandale, VA

Great location

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Location and Views.
Cons: The staff in the gift shop that we were told could help us plan our days with activities wasn't that helpful. Need to do your research before you go.
Location: Snorkeling off pier is fantastic. Hike to Honeymoon beach is close by and worth the short 20 minute walk.
We loved the location and the view. Quick walk into town and close to all the restaurants. Being so close to everything we didn't need a car. There was nice snorkeling right off the dock which was a huge plus. The rooms were nice and the staff was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best vacation so far......

Posted Aug 22, 2014
This is a must stay and enjoy......going back to the same place next year.......stan and Gina...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom g

Hotel close to town yet surrounded by the ocean

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Went on a mother daughter trip to St John for the first time. The Gallows Point Resort is very well maintained exceptional views and easy to get to ferry and town to eat dinner. Would highly recommend this hotel. Love St John and plan to stay there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tami Cfrom Hobbs

Great Place to Stay

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved the Gallows Point Resort. The location is great. The room could have used a little repair, but overall, we loved it. We became great friends with the iguana that wandered around our patio area. The view of the water is unmatched by any place we have stayed. St. John is definitely a wonderful place to relax and unwind. I would stay there again without question.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great location, walking distance to Cruz Bay

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Loved the location and views.
Cons: The floating stairs heading up to the bedroom was the only thing that we really didn't care for. The bedding decor was a little dated.
Location: Eat, shop, go on a hike, walk to the beach.
Gallows Bay is located within walking distance to Cruz Bay, the heart of St. John. The view from our room was breathtaking, & the outdoor pool area and lounge area was also spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Place to Stay!!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Wonderful Customer Service on every level.
Cons: -
Location: Wonderful beaches, obviously, also a very nice market just outside of the downtown area.
Right away, I knew this was going to be great when a Hotel shuttle was waiting for us at the fairy to take us to the hotel. Then they took our luggage to our room and showed us around. The room was incredible and was everything that we could have wanted.