Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by R from Brooklyn

2nd stay at Hillcrest House and will be back soon

Posted Mar 29, 2014
A comfortable oasis overlooking Cruz Bay.. The location is great for getting out to town or beaches. Our porch was great for drinks at sundown or coffee in the morning and watching the city below.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Hampton, NH

Hillcrest

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: View, friendliness of the owner, cozy accomodations
Cons: The futon was a bit hard sleeping but restful
Location: 5 minute walk from Cruz bay. Nice view. Bring a flashlight if walking back at night. The hill is steep but a good walk if you rest 1/2 way up.
Phyllis is a great hostess/owner. She shared he dogs and garden with us and had beach accessories and dvd's for us to use. The refrigerator was well stocked and the room was clean and very island. The building is old but it was a nice start to our vacation. There was a couple visiting who stay for a month every year for the past 20 years! The climb to the top of the hill was a killer but the taxis were glad to drop us off there when returning from the beach at no extra charge. We had a beautiful view and enjoyed the hummingbirds visiting the cactus flowers outside the deck. We just love St. John and look forward to returning again next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from New Hope, MN

Location, location, location

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Cons: The Wi-Fi was free, but a bit slow. Certainly not in the High-Speeed category.
Location: Restaurants, beaches, and the National Park are within walking distance.
The Hillcrest Guest House is within easy walking distance of everything at the west end of St. John. This greatly eliminates the need to rent a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from NJ

Close to town

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: proximity to town, Expedia booking rate, view, St. John beaches
Cons: wifi
Location: Lots of good places to eat. Easy to get a taxi to almost anywhere. We took a trip to Virgin Gorda one day and it was terrific!
It was great to have a kitchenette. Loved being able to walk into town. The walk to Sunset Beach and Honeymoon Beach was fun, if rocky. The wifi tended toward the feeble, but it did work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve Wilson from Tucson, AZ

Wonderful place to stay in Cruz Bay

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lots of nice extras at no extra charge - unusual in today's environment. Phyllis provides the kitchenette stocked with liquor and quite a bit of food and snacks. The place is older but clean and well maintained. The view from the top of the hill is excellent and far enough from the main part of town to be reasonably quite, but a very short walk to restaurants and shops. Very reasonably priced by St. John standards as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alan from St Maarten

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent. Everything was just great as far as we were concerned.
2 out of 5
by Randy from California

Total Disappointment

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: The snorkel equipment was free to use, and there were ice chests and beach towels.
Cons: Just some TLC and some elbow grease would do wonders. Too many defects even to list.
Location: It was close to downtown Cruz Bay, which allowed for walking to town down a very steep hill, but required a taxi back because of the steepness.
The "Guesthouse" was a run down, filthy old building that barely passed for hospitable. While the owner was a nice lady, the "Suite" was absolutely terrible. The sad part was, with minimal money and effort, it could be an awesome facility. As it is now, old, filthy, rundown, and not taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stacey from Birmingham, MI

More like a mini-apartment

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: The view overlooking Cruz Bay is amazing.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Excellent location, only a 5 minute walk to all the action. Be prepared for a quick workout due to the steep hill to get back to the guest house.
The Hillcrest met and exceeded all of our expectations. We intentionally do not go for the canned and expensive resort experience. Our room was clean and comfortable. We stayed in the "Front Room" which is perfect for a couple, has a queen bed and a nice kitchette area. We found the kitchen stocked with eggs and bacon (to be prepared by us), a couple of pieces of fruit, muffins, mixers and four full bottles of liquor (vodka, rum, tequilla). This is not a b & b, but we didn't mind preparing our own coffee and simple breakfasts in the morning (there are grocery stores and markets near by). There was plenty of beach stuff to borrow. We used the beach chairs, beach umbrella, snorkeling gear and cooler. We packed up the cooler in the a.m. with water, sandwiches and beer and headed out for the day. Having a four wheel drive vehicle was a must to see the island beyond Cruz Bay. The price we paid for the accomodations, combined with the not having to rent beach gear and not eating every meal out, made our trip very ecomomical. The owner, Phylis, is kind, gracious and responsive. Although the room isn't attended to like a hotel, it was easy to keep everything in order and ask for changes in linens and towels when needed. We would highly recommend HIllecrest if you are looking for a low key, safe, clean and geographically desireable place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by michelle from Madison, WI

Great spot for shopping/dining but not sleeping

Posted Jan 8, 2013
Let me begin by saying that our trip to St. John was less about the lodgings than about getting out and exploring the beautiful island, so we did not want to pay out the nose for a fancy villa. Phyllis is a gracious and friendly hostess and it is nice to have towels, beach gear and food/beverages stocked and ready to use/consume. FYI - She no longer does ferry pick-ups though. We liked the proximity to shopping and restaurants. We rented a Jeep and getting to the gorgeous beaches was easy. With that said, we had some issues at Hillcrest that I didn't read in other review. Our family of five stayed in the Orchid Suite. This is a street level space without a view. We wanted to stay in town to get a better sense of the local vibe, but Cruz Bay during the night is LOUD. It is very hilly and at times we wondered if we were in the middle of a Nascar race. We slept with the windows open to enjoy the breeze (which I'm sure didn't help) but between the "race" cars, loud music, foot traffic, roosters, dogs, etc. we found ourselves frequently awake at night. For sleeping, there is a nice size bedroom w/ a queen bed and the living room has a full futon and single cot style bed. Our daughters were afraid to sleep in the front room next to the door to the driveway, so we squeezed all the beds into the bedroom. This made for a very tight bedroom and unusable living room, since all the furniture was in the bedroom. If I were to book again, I'd book a suite on the upper level.