Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stockholm

Friendly guest house in Cruz Bay

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Very friendly and nice owner; Phyllis who generously had filled our fridge with food and drinks when we arrived.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Guesthouse in St. John.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: The view from the terrace. The availability of DVDs, books and beach equipment (chairs, snorkelling gear....)
Cons: Breakfast consists in some food, but not enough, in the fridge. Almost useless wifi in the Frontsuite. The room was never cleaned during our stay.
Location: The hotel is close to Cruz Bay harbour, however it is difficult to be reached without a car due to the very steep street.
We spent six days and five nights in January in St. John Island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

At heart of it all, but a hill to climb!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Good value for money. Booze included, breakfast is limited however.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

Great location, needs some TLC

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Excellent location, refrigerator stocked with basic food items, size bigger than hotel rooms, Phyllis was very responsive
Cons: Replace older appliances (broken toaster) and coolers (broken handles), several drawers are dirty (one smelled of mouse urine), top of fridge filthy
Location: It is only a couple of blocks from the downtown area
Phyllis was great to work with, and very responsive to requests. The house is in a great location to the downtown Cruz Bay area with restaurants, etc.. The unit is true to the pictures, but what you don't see in the pictures is the place feels old, may not have the best neighbors as we were asked many times about locking the gate leading to our room, has some items that need replacing (toaster, coolers), and could use a deep cleaning. Definitely appreciated use of the beach chairs and towels, the stocked fridge, and its size. If you are going to travel all the way to St John you really want great accommodations while there - where I was disappointed at this B&B. As others have commented here, a good cleaning and some minor work would make this much better and raise my ratings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston

Excellent view

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Had a blast. This is a good B&B. Great rooms and patio with a view if u get an upstairs room. There is a real steep hill to get there. Better be in decent shape or take a car/taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Phyllis the owner is so nice.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Wonderful stay. Great location. Very cozy rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Getaway

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Stayed at Hilltop Guesthouse for a weekend in St. John island. Really enjoyed the location . Phyllis was welcoming and a pleasure to meet. Loved all the added amenities to the room and advice on the area. We stayed in the front suite with fantastic views of Cruz Bay and St.Thomas . Being with in close walking distance to restaurants and bars was great, though being in the front suite we " enjoyed" the club music well into the evening as the room was literally just up the hill.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place — Very Convenient Location!!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Its location. The owner also made sure to get us white bread, muffins, and fruits for breakfast
Cons: The infrastructure.
Location: Its ver close to St. John's Cruz bay and Mongoose Junction area where most of the restaurants are located.
This is a great place. Phyllis (the owner) is a nice person and is very approachable by phone. This place is located very close to the Cruz bay village area in St. John's -- the place where most of the restaurants and bars are located. The only drawback of this place is that the entire infrastructure looks slightly old, and its about time that this place be renovated. Having said that, you get a Caribbean vibe from this place that won't happen in a posh hotel like The Westin. I would highly recommend this place.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ruthfrom USA

"Make your own" bed and breakfast

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Google map associated with Hotels.com had us walking to the wrong location ... Phyllis did pick us up when she finally answered our calls. Does not seemed concerned to get this changed for others who run into the same problem. Location is at top of a very steep hill and will make this difficult for many to walk to. Breakfast was make your own - A Surprise to us - but was very incomplete...only eggs and bacon, coffee or tea. No juice, toast, fruit. Our eggs were frozen -we had to find her and swap them out. Our stove was a two burner hot plate. Beach equipment is in poor condition. We were told it is "guest managed." Came back to room at end of first day away to no room services. Our dishes were still in the sink and our bed was not made. Mouse droppings in bathroom. Phyllis and neighbors do have dogs which you will hear barking often in this residential area. Guests are expected to take out trash; difficult even to get Phyllis' attention to return key when leaving. Really felt that since she had her money upfront that she did not care about us anymore. We imagine that years ago, her attention to service may have been higher but it is BAD now. Suggest visitors plan their trip ahead enough to avoid staying here. Have since read in her response to other reviews that we were sent an agreement upon our booking...we never received anything of the kind. Our desire is that this review will be taken by Hillcrest to increase the quality in time, it could be great.