Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place — Very Convenient Location!!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Its location. The owner also made sure to get us white bread, muffins, and fruits for breakfast
Cons: The infrastructure.
Location: Its ver close to St. John's Cruz bay and Mongoose Junction area where most of the restaurants are located.
This is a great place. Phyllis (the owner) is a nice person and is very approachable by phone. This place is located very close to the Cruz bay village area in St. John's -- the place where most of the restaurants and bars are located. The only drawback of this place is that the entire infrastructure looks slightly old, and its about time that this place be renovated. Having said that, you get a Caribbean vibe from this place that won't happen in a posh hotel like The Westin. I would highly recommend this place.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ruth from USA

"Make your own" bed and breakfast

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Google map associated with Hotels.com had us walking to the wrong location ... Phyllis did pick us up when she finally answered our calls. Does not seemed concerned to get this changed for others who run into the same problem. Location is at top of a very steep hill and will make this difficult for many to walk to. Breakfast was make your own - A Surprise to us - but was very incomplete...only eggs and bacon, coffee or tea. No juice, toast, fruit. Our eggs were frozen -we had to find her and swap them out. Our stove was a two burner hot plate. Beach equipment is in poor condition. We were told it is "guest managed." Came back to room at end of first day away to no room services. Our dishes were still in the sink and our bed was not made. Mouse droppings in bathroom. Phyllis and neighbors do have dogs which you will hear barking often in this residential area. Guests are expected to take out trash; difficult even to get Phyllis' attention to return key when leaving. Really felt that since she had her money upfront that she did not care about us anymore. We imagine that years ago, her attention to service may have been higher but it is BAD now. Suggest visitors plan their trip ahead enough to avoid staying here. Have since read in her response to other reviews that we were sent an agreement upon our booking...we never received anything of the kind. Our desire is that this review will be taken by Hillcrest to increase the quality in time, it could be great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Danny from Atlanta

Love it!

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hillcrest Guest House! The location and proximity to Cruz bay is perfect. Little hill to climb if you're in good shape or you can take a cheap taxi. Phyllis stocked our fridge with all kinds of complimentary goodies and was there for all of our needs. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jo Croft from N.H.

Clean and convenient

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owner is very nice and very accommodating. I enjoyed my stay .it was a place to lay my head and easy access to taxi's. A+ to Mr. Samuel .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, oh

Cute B&B just up the road from town

Posted Apr 25, 2014
My boyfriend and I stayed for a week and had a wonderful time. The staff was very welcoming and made sure we were comfortable the whole stay. Convenient parking in front of the hotel as well as a small auxiliary lot near by. The full kitchen is great and totally stocked with plates, bowls, cups, pots, pans, etc. It is very helpful if you feel like cooking in a couple of nights. The only warning I would give is that it is at the top of a very steep hill. Great exercise, but tiring especially after a large meal or a long day out at the beach. I would consider taking a taxi home or renting a car if you cannot handle walking up a hill. Other than that, everything was wonderful! We will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by R from Brooklyn

2nd stay at Hillcrest House and will be back soon

Posted Mar 29, 2014
A comfortable oasis overlooking Cruz Bay.. The location is great for getting out to town or beaches. Our porch was great for drinks at sundown or coffee in the morning and watching the city below.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Hampton, NH

Hillcrest

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: View, friendliness of the owner, cozy accomodations
Cons: The futon was a bit hard sleeping but restful
Location: 5 minute walk from Cruz bay. Nice view. Bring a flashlight if walking back at night. The hill is steep but a good walk if you rest 1/2 way up.
Phyllis is a great hostess/owner. She shared he dogs and garden with us and had beach accessories and dvd's for us to use. The refrigerator was well stocked and the room was clean and very island. The building is old but it was a nice start to our vacation. There was a couple visiting who stay for a month every year for the past 20 years! The climb to the top of the hill was a killer but the taxis were glad to drop us off there when returning from the beach at no extra charge. We had a beautiful view and enjoyed the hummingbirds visiting the cactus flowers outside the deck. We just love St. John and look forward to returning again next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from New Hope, MN

Location, location, location

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Cons: The Wi-Fi was free, but a bit slow. Certainly not in the High-Speeed category.
Location: Restaurants, beaches, and the National Park are within walking distance.
The Hillcrest Guest House is within easy walking distance of everything at the west end of St. John. This greatly eliminates the need to rent a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from NJ

Close to town

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: proximity to town, Expedia booking rate, view, St. John beaches
Cons: wifi
Location: Lots of good places to eat. Easy to get a taxi to almost anywhere. We took a trip to Virgin Gorda one day and it was terrific!
It was great to have a kitchenette. Loved being able to walk into town. The walk to Sunset Beach and Honeymoon Beach was fun, if rocky. The wifi tended toward the feeble, but it did work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by The Happy Couple from Chicago, IL

Great location and good for the price

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
You can't beat the location! You're walking distance to what Cruz Bay has to offer. The villa we stayed in was the one that showed the picture of the rainbow. Phylis is a sweetheart and she will give you whatever you need. The hotel could use some updating, but you're not really there to stay in the hotel, right??