Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Greta from Atlanta

Love this place

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
My fiance and I came in for the 8 Tuff Miles and this place was perfect! It is a short walk into Cruz Bay and Phyllis provided us with food and drinks and great hospitality! We have stayed before in another room and will definitely be back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Very nice residence near Santa Cruz. Close to ferry, town and taxis, but very quiet. (It is located on fairly steep hill - not an issue, but perhaps for some). Owner is super nice. Kitchen included some food and drinks.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eddie from St Augustine fl

Bad bad vad

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
I felt hotels . Com and hill crest took advantage if us and am very disappointed absloutly auful experience, we were there 5 min and left
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice, roomy apartment; comfortable and close

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Beautiful gardens! Good exercise walking back up the hill. Phyllis left us fully stocked in the kitchen.
Cons: Perhaps a night light close to the bathroom. The steps were tricky.
Location: It is an easy walk down to town for the waterfront, ferry docks, restaurants, and shopping. Mongoose Junction was a fun place to shop and explore.
Hillcrest is at the top of a VERY steep hill, but it is an easy 5 minute walk down the hill to town and the waterfront. Phyllis was pleasant and helpful. The only drawback was the steps inside the apartment from the bedroom, kitchen, and bathroom. We used the air conditioner one night when it was exceptionally muggy, but most of the time we kept a door to the porch open to get the breeze.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Laurel, DE

Affordable, Good Location, Dated, Steep Hill

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
The breakfast is a make your own, bacon and eggs and muffins - which was great as far as I was concerned. I was surprised to find a bottle of tequila, vodka and rum as well as sodas, an onion and some drink mixes. The hill up to it was a little much for the wife. The place is dated, but has window AC and all the working amenities to be comfortable. Close proximity to Cruz Bay makes for many options for going out and easy access to the 'cabs' to go to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice apartment, walking distance to town/beaches

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to town (restaurants, stores) and a couple of beaches (Salomon, Honeymoon, Frank Bay). Spacious apartment, kitchen.
Cons: The noise at night was a little annoying at times but there is not way to change that.
Location: Very central location, just a few minutes to walk downtown and about a 30-minute hike to a couple of incredible beaches.
The guest house is located on top of a very steep hill that we walked several times a day. The apartment was nicely furnished and had a well-equipped kitchen. We stayed with 4 people - the parents slept in the bedroom and the children on foldout beds in the living room. There were food and drinks for us on arrival, as well as books and DVDs, and we had free WiFi (not very strong, but working most of the time). We had very nice views of the harbor from our apartment and a private balcony. It was a little noisy at night because of live music from bars in town but the music stopped before midnight and did not really interfere with our sleep. Roosters nearby woke us up in the morning. We were able to park our rental car for free right in front of the house. One day a leak in the heating system flooded the kitchen and part of the bedroom - the owner immediately called a repairman and it was all fixed the same day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Room was - even based on the "stars" - really poor. The beds were in really bad shape - and the so called - continental breakfast that was included - was 12 eggs and one pack of sliced bacon - for ourselves to cook. However the fridge was filled with different kinds of alcohol - free to use.. That's of course a different kind of breakfast..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be warned

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: The proximity to town.
Cons: Pretty much everything could be improved.
If you book Hillcrest know what you're in for. Everything is really beat up and dirty. The mattress was totally worn out and soft--really bad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mogens Zebbel from Roskilde

Et af de tilbud man ikke kan afslå på STJ.

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great Guest House

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: The informality and proximity to everything
Cons: A couple of hand towels in addition to the lovely bath towels would have been great.
Location: Salomon Beach, Honeymoon Beach, the park service headquarters, High Tide restaurant, Virgin Fire restaurant,....etc!
Hillcrest is a great guest house within walking distance of the shops and restaurants of Cruz Bay. Just down one huge hill - down is fine, up is challenging. A couple of miles down to the park and over the ridge to the best beaches on St. John! The room was comfortable and clean. It is great to be able to have breakfast in the room. Phyllis is very helpful.