Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston

Excellent view

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Had a blast. This is a good B&B. Great rooms and patio with a view if u get an upstairs room. There is a real steep hill to get there. Better be in decent shape or take a car/taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Phyllis the owner is so nice.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Wonderful stay. Great location. Very cozy rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Getaway

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Stayed at Hilltop Guesthouse for a weekend in St. John island. Really enjoyed the location . Phyllis was welcoming and a pleasure to meet. Loved all the added amenities to the room and advice on the area. We stayed in the front suite with fantastic views of Cruz Bay and St.Thomas . Being with in close walking distance to restaurants and bars was great, though being in the front suite we " enjoyed" the club music well into the evening as the room was literally just up the hill.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place — Very Convenient Location!!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Its location. The owner also made sure to get us white bread, muffins, and fruits for breakfast
Cons: The infrastructure.
Location: Its ver close to St. John's Cruz bay and Mongoose Junction area where most of the restaurants are located.
This is a great place. Phyllis (the owner) is a nice person and is very approachable by phone. This place is located very close to the Cruz bay village area in St. John's -- the place where most of the restaurants and bars are located. The only drawback of this place is that the entire infrastructure looks slightly old, and its about time that this place be renovated. Having said that, you get a Caribbean vibe from this place that won't happen in a posh hotel like The Westin. I would highly recommend this place.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ruthfrom USA

"Make your own" bed and breakfast

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Google map associated with Hotels.com had us walking to the wrong location ... Phyllis did pick us up when she finally answered our calls. Does not seemed concerned to get this changed for others who run into the same problem. Location is at top of a very steep hill and will make this difficult for many to walk to. Breakfast was make your own - A Surprise to us - but was very incomplete...only eggs and bacon, coffee or tea. No juice, toast, fruit. Our eggs were frozen -we had to find her and swap them out. Our stove was a two burner hot plate. Beach equipment is in poor condition. We were told it is "guest managed." Came back to room at end of first day away to no room services. Our dishes were still in the sink and our bed was not made. Mouse droppings in bathroom. Phyllis and neighbors do have dogs which you will hear barking often in this residential area. Guests are expected to take out trash; difficult even to get Phyllis' attention to return key when leaving. Really felt that since she had her money upfront that she did not care about us anymore. We imagine that years ago, her attention to service may have been higher but it is BAD now. Suggest visitors plan their trip ahead enough to avoid staying here. Have since read in her response to other reviews that we were sent an agreement upon our booking...we never received anything of the kind. Our desire is that this review will be taken by Hillcrest to increase the quality in time, it could be great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dannyfrom Atlanta

Love it!

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hillcrest Guest House! The location and proximity to Cruz bay is perfect. Little hill to climb if you're in good shape or you can take a cheap taxi. Phyllis stocked our fridge with all kinds of complimentary goodies and was there for all of our needs. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jo Croftfrom N.H.

Clean and convenient

Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owner is very nice and very accommodating. I enjoyed my stay .it was a place to lay my head and easy access to taxi's. A+ to Mr. Samuel .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom columbus, oh

Cute B&B just up the road from town

Posted Apr 25, 2014
My boyfriend and I stayed for a week and had a wonderful time. The staff was very welcoming and made sure we were comfortable the whole stay. Convenient parking in front of the hotel as well as a small auxiliary lot near by. The full kitchen is great and totally stocked with plates, bowls, cups, pots, pans, etc. It is very helpful if you feel like cooking in a couple of nights. The only warning I would give is that it is at the top of a very steep hill. Great exercise, but tiring especially after a large meal or a long day out at the beach. I would consider taking a taxi home or renting a car if you cannot handle walking up a hill. Other than that, everything was wonderful! We will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rfrom Brooklyn

2nd stay at Hillcrest House and will be back soon

Posted Mar 29, 2014
A comfortable oasis overlooking Cruz Bay.. The location is great for getting out to town or beaches. Our porch was great for drinks at sundown or coffee in the morning and watching the city below.