Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Very nice residence near Santa Cruz. Close to ferry, town and taxis, but very quiet. (It is located on fairly steep hill - not an issue, but perhaps for some). Owner is super nice. Kitchen included some food and drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Nice, roomy apartment; comfortable and close

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Beautiful gardens! Good exercise walking back up the hill. Phyllis left us fully stocked in the kitchen.
Cons: Perhaps a night light close to the bathroom. The steps were tricky.
Location: It is an easy walk down to town for the waterfront, ferry docks, restaurants, and shopping. Mongoose Junction was a fun place to shop and explore.
Hillcrest is at the top of a VERY steep hill, but it is an easy 5 minute walk down the hill to town and the waterfront. Phyllis was pleasant and helpful. The only drawback was the steps inside the apartment from the bedroom, kitchen, and bathroom. We used the air conditioner one night when it was exceptionally muggy, but most of the time we kept a door to the porch open to get the breeze.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice apartment, walking distance to town/beaches

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to town (restaurants, stores) and a couple of beaches (Salomon, Honeymoon, Frank Bay). Spacious apartment, kitchen.
Cons: The noise at night was a little annoying at times but there is not way to change that.
Location: Very central location, just a few minutes to walk downtown and about a 30-minute hike to a couple of incredible beaches.
The guest house is located on top of a very steep hill that we walked several times a day. The apartment was nicely furnished and had a well-equipped kitchen. We stayed with 4 people - the parents slept in the bedroom and the children on foldout beds in the living room. There were food and drinks for us on arrival, as well as books and DVDs, and we had free WiFi (not very strong, but working most of the time). We had very nice views of the harbor from our apartment and a private balcony. It was a little noisy at night because of live music from bars in town but the music stopped before midnight and did not really interfere with our sleep. Roosters nearby woke us up in the morning. We were able to park our rental car for free right in front of the house. One day a leak in the heating system flooded the kitchen and part of the bedroom - the owner immediately called a repairman and it was all fixed the same day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Room was - even based on the "stars" - really poor. The beds were in really bad shape - and the so called - continental breakfast that was included - was 12 eggs and one pack of sliced bacon - for ourselves to cook. However the fridge was filled with different kinds of alcohol - free to use.. That's of course a different kind of breakfast..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be warned

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: The proximity to town.
Cons: Pretty much everything could be improved.
If you book Hillcrest know what you're in for. Everything is really beat up and dirty. The mattress was totally worn out and soft--really bad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mogens Zebbelfrom Roskilde

Et af de tilbud man ikke kan afslå på STJ.

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Great Guest House

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: The informality and proximity to everything
Cons: A couple of hand towels in addition to the lovely bath towels would have been great.
Location: Salomon Beach, Honeymoon Beach, the park service headquarters, High Tide restaurant, Virgin Fire restaurant,....etc!
Hillcrest is a great guest house within walking distance of the shops and restaurants of Cruz Bay. Just down one huge hill - down is fine, up is challenging. A couple of miles down to the park and over the ridge to the best beaches on St. John! The room was comfortable and clean. It is great to be able to have breakfast in the room. Phyllis is very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington state

Accessible location to town (best if have a car)

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Good views with relaxing porch. Best if have a car as sits atop a steep hill. Phyllis (hostess) is very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stockholm

Friendly guest house in Cruz Bay

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Very friendly and nice owner; Phyllis who generously had filled our fridge with food and drinks when we arrived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Scottfrom Rochester, MN

Wonderful!

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hill is a tough walk, but the place was beautiful, and Phyllis (the owner) was absolutely lovely. Very accommodating, let us check in early on short notice, and was the perfect getaway place for a young couple.