Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay but pricey but that' St. Thomas

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Nice room (111) overlooking pool. Very comfortable bed & pillows but shower kind of scary. Staff very nice; good restaurant. Would stay there again - safe neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Breath taking views and fabulous restaurant

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: The view and restaurant.
Cons: New ac unit to be working.
Location: Charlotte Amalie is a short taxi ride away. U can stay at the hotel and not have to leave.
The views were amazing! Our room had a balcony overlooking all of Charlotte Amalie and included a breakfast that was fantastic. At times it could be a bit loud due to the restaurant being right below us and open air. I would stay here again! There are a lot of stairs at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Beautiful views!!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Every single person on the staff, from the managers to restraurant, were absolutely the best! So accomodating, and friendly. Awesome job guys!!
Cons: The rooms should be renovated/updated. The pool needs to heated.
Location: The ferries to St. John are close, Blackbeards Castle, 99 Steps, various houses to tour, and Magens Bay Beach.
My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days. The staff was very nice, the food was good. I wish the room that I booked looked the picture of sample room. My room was much much smaller. That disappointmented me...a little. It's St. Thomas not much can get you down in great weather! Please note that hotel uses harvested rain water to supply the hotel, so the water takes a while to warm up. Also, the pool was not cleaned daily. It has lots of bugs and twigs on top of that it was not heated. I understand conservation and clean energy, but please find a way to heat and clean the pool. Throw hot stones in it..I don't know. The pool are looked very nice during day or night. I hang out on the couches just to take in the views and sun!! Next time, I will try a resort hotel to have a comparison.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unbelievable view from rooms, restaurant, and pool

Posted Jan 23, 2015
PROS: Clean comfortable rooms. Excellent complimentary breakfast which includes made to order eggs/omelets. Reserve a table for dinner, 10 days in the islands and this dinner topped them all. VIEWS VIEWS VIEWS CONS: Must use $10 taxi to get in to town. Water conservation is very important. All water in hotel is from cistern and is collected from rain water or trucked in at huge expense. Water pressure is very low and shower heads limit water usage. No big problem but better to know in advance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A hidden treasure!

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The location, the view, the breeze, the staff and the accommodations. The size of this boutique hotel makes for a friendly atmosphere.
Cons: The staff was constantly working around the hotel in an effort to keep the hotel updated and fresh. The staff took pride in their hotel.
Location: Cabs are easy to get since the front desk calls them for you and trips to town or to the ferry dock at Red Hook are reasonable.
A fantastic hotel with a million dollar view! We are very active "super seniors" who spent 5 perfect nights at Mafolie enjoying the warmth of the Caribbean while celebrating our anniversary. We selected the hotel based on the online photos and descriptions and were thrilled that every view was better than the online version. We also liked the idea of having a bar and a dining room within the resort so we didn't have to go out and find restaurants at nights. When I booked the reservation the only room available was the smallest in the hotel but I was so determined to stay there, I booked it! So imagine our surprise at check in to find out we had been upgraded! The secret to Mafolie is the size, the setting and the staff! By the time we left we felt we had been adopted by a new St. Thomas family. We are especially grateful to Chad and Lisa in the front office who made a concierge at a 5-star resort look like a beginner. My husband enjoyed the complimentary breakfast served in the open-air dining room overlooking Charlotte Amalie harbor while watching the cruise ships dock below. The hotel pool and pool bar was an added plus. This is not a hotel for children or those who can't climb stairs but for the rest of us it is the perfect place to put your feet up in the 85-degree weather and enjoy life.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iles vierges américaines

Hôtel en montagne aux Iles vierges américaines

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: L'atmosphère, le cachet des Iles et les couleurs. Merci de votre accueil.
Location: Nous n'avons pas eu l'occasion de visiter car nous repartions dès le lendemain pour BVI.
Nous étions à l'hôtel pour une nuit. Nous avons apprécié l'emplacement et la gentillesse du personnel et la merveilleuse vue sur la mer. Cependant, nous vous suggérons de mentionner que la soupe n'est pas comprise dans le prix du spécial du jour. Cela peut être confondant pour le client. La carte Menu spécial peut-être confondue avec l'expression Table d'hôte que nos voyons au Canada et en Europe. Cela dit le souper était délicieux. Le poisson ( yellow snaper) était tendre et moelleux. Et surtout pas trop cuit! Parfait.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, VA

Awesome Trip Down Memory Lane

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not a ting!
Location: Great location, easy access to town, beaches, other islands.
Mafolie Hotel hands down has the best view on St. Thomas. The staff is wonderful from Lisa at the front desk, Ella our breakfast waitress, Chad, Steve and Page the bartenders. I cannot rave enough about them. This is a small boutique motel with a nice pool and wonderful location. It is perfect for people who do not want a large resort. If you stay, make sure you have the lobster dinner. Delicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nassau, Bahamas

centrally located, amazing view & great value

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Very personalized service with breakfast included and restaurant on site with great menu options, Mafolie is good value all around. Make sure Rosemary cooks your omlette...so friendly and always smiling!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view, nice restaurant.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Great view from the room and the restaurant. Can even see sunrise and sunset from the room and the restaurant. Very special decoration in the room. The hotel also provide Mosquito net with the bed, which is very considerate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Hot breakfast and spectacular view.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Staff and view
Location: Need a car or taxi to get around outside of hotel
Enjoyed the hot breakfast option at the hotel with a gorgeous view.