Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great beach resort

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Good overall experience. Hotel is in a great location overlooking island. Awesome views. Great beach and pools. Food is good hotel food. Staff is great. Needs some entertainment or shows at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view and staff

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The scenery and view was amazing.
Cons: Staff at Sunset Grill and Aqua Terra.
Location: Snorkel, kayak, drove around.
The view from our room was amazing and the overall staff extremely nice and helpful. The amenities were also very nice and pools had an amazing view of the island. The only complaint I have is the food. The bar AquaTerra smelled like tuna fish majority of the time. Some of the waiting staff were slow and uncaring. The food from Sunset Grill was terrible and greasy. The Rum Bar and Azur Pool were very nice and great drinks. Coco Joes cafe was incredible but also incredibly expensive. Overall we will def return but probably only eat breakfast there out of convenience and dine elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis

Expensive and conveinent

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the beach front dining for breakfast and that the pools didn't close for an evening swim.
Cons: Longer hours at the pool bar, staff available at beach bar to work the beach customers. Someone coordinating checking in new guests.
Location: Great location and plenty to keep you busy on the resort. We only ventured out for dining and a snorkeling expedition.
Check in was a bit of a nightmare but we managed to survive on the free rum punch. They do have self check in but it wasn't working that day. Room was adequate and mostly clean. Not that you need TV and internet, but both were intermittently working during our stay, July 2014. We ate almost exclusively on the resort, food prices are high but if you didn't rent a car, it saves the thirty dollars for two round trip to town. It's worth taking a trip to the local grocery (Pueblo) and stocking up on snacks and drinks. Service at the beach was only near the main restaurant but be prepared to pay top dollar. We were never served by any hotel staff while we hung out on the beach, they missed out on a ton of revenue. We brought a collapsible cooler and brought our own. Plenty of seating available at beach and pools but we were early most days. Privacy on beach was nice, never ran into non hotel guests. Overall we would return knowing how to take advantage of what is available to us at the hotel and near the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Beautiful Property with Typical Resort Amenities

Posted Jul 15, 2014
We stayed at the Marriott Frenchman's reef for our honeymoon and really enjoyed our time on St. Thomas. The property was absolutely gorgeous, but you are really missing out if you don't make sure you get out and see the island(s). We saw Magen's Bay and Coral World on St. Thomas, Carnival and Trunk Bay on St. John, and took a day cruise of the British Virgin Islands through Breakaway Charters and those excursions really made our trip. We were very glad we didn't rent a car, as the taxis on the USVI are quite good. Taxi rates are standardized, so you can know exactly what you will be asked to pay for any trip. With regards to the resort, we found high prices for food as we expected but were pleased with the quality of the food. We did not do the all inclusive package, and in hindsight we were glad we didn't, as we spent less than $200 a day on food at the resort and the package would have cost us $400 a night to add. In addition the higher end restaurants on property aren't even included in the all inclusive package. One last note, we got home and had to cancel a credit card a few days later, as our bank had noticed some fraudulent charges starting at the resort and continuing in Florida, so just be careful. We obviously don't know if it was a hotel guest or an employee, but be alert regardless, same as any vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

amazing!!!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: fantastic!!!
this was the best vacation I have ever been on! the staff...wonderful! the amenities...amazing! the views...fabulous! the small hotel fee included snorkel gear..towels..chairs..umbrellas..boogie boards..mats.. the room was great! the beds and bedding were unbelievably comfortable!!! yes the food and drinks were costly but we got the free breakfast which was so extensive and delicous. We will be back again for certain..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from harrisburg, pa

Large resort, poorly kept

Posted Jul 7, 2014
For a 4 star the rooms were horrible. They had outdated furniture and the rooms weren't clean. The size of the room was tiny. Overall, the resort was well kept in some areas and messy in others--and by others I mean the rooms, hallways etc. As for the hotel beach, nice if you want loud music and a lot of people. It's also not clean with cigarette buds everywhere. I would not recommend this hotel and I am disappointed at the Marriot for not maintaining a higher standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, Al

Nice hotel with sea view.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Being next to the sea, the landscaping, staff, and clean facility.
Cons: The activities from the hotel.
Location: Nothing closer than town.
The hotel was far from all beaches and town. The cab fees were varied from one to the other for same destinations. It was very costly to leave the hotel for outside activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Beautiful ocean views!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: I loved the ocean views & the many amenities on the resort grounds.
Cons: The only thing I would recommend is a faster check in.
Location: There were two hotels, one on the beach & one on a hill. The resort had tennis, shops, grocers, spa & more. Major shops were very close by.
We only spent one night before returning home to the mainland. We had quite a wait for our room, to compensate for the long wait, they gave us a credit on our bill & a discount on dinner at one of their restaurants. The resort had several restaurants to choose from & all appeared to be great. The patio / grill had a large pool that overlooked the ocean & the happy hour location had nice music playing & a gorgeous view of the ocean & the town by night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Just about everything!
Location: You can go to snorkeling beaches, play golf, shopping, and find other excursions.
The hotel has everything you would want. A beautiful beach, wonderful pools, great restaurants, lovely rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

It was our first trip to the Caribbean

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff and the views make this hotel extraordinary
Cons: Morning Star Beach rooms could be modernized, although I loved the location of the Morning Star Beach rooms. More medium-priced restaurants.
The hotel is perfectly located--away from the noise of Charlotte Amalie, but close enough to get to restaurants and the ferry with ease. The shuttle service was excellent and we spent very little time waiting for the vans to arrive. Morning Star Beach is a beautiful beach (although we slightly preferred the beaches on St John for swimming). The staff was helpful and accommodating, and the SPA was first class--with its own secluded swimming pool. I love the occasional iguana sighting.