Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warning! Genuinely disappointed in Marriott.Shock!

Posted Dec 24, 2014
My husband and I read many negative reviews about this hotel (mainly the staff) and assumed that the people writing them were just too "picky"...it's a marriott so of course it will be great as usual. We were WRONG!! As previous reviews stated, the staff was unfriendly, unaccomodating, and LAZY!!! The lobby was not overpopulated and there were MULTIPLE employees that were not helping other visitors laughing and talking negatively amongst each other about a couple that had just exited the lobby. After they concluded their gossip session, we inquired about the process to check in and obtain information about excursions. The woman employee did not verbally respond, but pointed at a counter across the lobby. The gentleman who checked us was apparently the only employee who had been through any form of customer service training. Like many other reviewers noted, the hotel did not have the information regarding our room type or our trip dates correct and gave us "the only clean room they had available". We didn't harp on the terrible start and decided to enjoy the rest of our stay. On our first trip to the pool later that evening, we said "excuse me" THREE TIMES to a female employee (who we later learned was in a management position) to inquire about directions to the pool and location to check out beach towels. Not only did she hear us, she looked at us briefly, turned around, and RAN away! Wait staff at restaurants greeted us with "why are you in here and what do you want?".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom easton pa

Morning Star is on the beach and Frenchmans reef I

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Morning Star on beach
Cons: Had to leave housekeeping $ every day to get the right amount of coffee, and some things cleaned.
Location: You would need a car, which we had and drove around island to the beach and town.
Restaurant Coco Joes had very slow service, but good food. Everything else was great. All meals were a little pricy and many could have been shared, especially breakfast. When for our 40th anniversary, had been at Frenchman's reef for honeymoon. Hotel did not think to ask if we came to hotel for special occasion.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago, il

Smelly rooms with lots of humidity

Posted Dec 18, 2014
The check in desk was not friendly at all. Room smelled so bad with excessive humidity. Food was so expansive. You can't go to close by to shop food because the hotel is far by walking to closest grocery or a restaurant. Very very expansive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Nice hotel. We stayed on 3rd floor of morningstar with ocean view room. Nice balcony overlooking tennis courts. It's a large property and can be a little confusing where all the restaurants and pools where located. Take some time to walk around and see all that's there. We had my birthday dinner at Blue Havana. Great food and wait staff were excellent! Night kayaking was a lot of fun. Saw large tarpons and sea turtles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great escape from winter

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: This hotel was extremely clean and the service was wonderful.
Location: This hotel overlooks Charlotte Amelie. They offer ferry service to the downtown area and have tours for other areas. On-site beach+++
This was a great vacation! The Marriot Frenchman Reef hotel is a beautiful resort to escape the winter. The views are breathtaking everywhere you go. The pool facilities are great overlooking Charlotte Amelie and the ocean. The beach is perfect with great amenities for all. Chairs and umbrellas were plentiful. This resort has everything..For those having trouble with the steps to the beach, the shuttle service is very convenient. Can't wait to return. Merry Christmas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Would stay here again, again, and again!

Posted Dec 14, 2014
I was a bit wary from the mixed reviews but my family and I were floored by the beauty, cleanliness, friendliness of the hotel and staff! The views are unparalleled- this hotel gave me some of the best photos of sunrises and sunsets I've ever taken! The beach was quite large and there were multiple pools to take advantage of. The room itself is much larger than anticipated with stunning views of the horizon. When we arrived we did note that the bathroom door was off the tracks but this was fixed within an hour of telling the staff. The central location of the hotel makes anything on the island accessible with a 15mins cab ride. I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone deciding on where to stay and will plan on telling my friends and family that when they visit they should stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

This resort was truly paradise.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: If you did not want to walk to the main hotel, there was always a shuttle waiting to take you. Taxi's were also readily available to take to town.
We stayed at Morning Star Beach and it was beautiful. We had a beachfront room which I recommend. It was very laid back. If I had any questions, I just had to call the customer services and they were helpful. There are several restaurants and bars on the property. The main hotel (Frenchman's Reef) had more activity than Morning Star Beach if you wanted. I think this resort had everything you could ask for in a tropical vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom m

We stayed at morning star and it was beautiful.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
The staff was nice, hotel clean, convenient, food was fair!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Cons: Speed up the front counter reception experience.
Drinks and meals could be more affordable. Got asked about the time share too often during our stay. Food prices in the gift shop were very high. The location of the resort was extremely nice and we didn't see a better place during our entire stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Good Service Great restaurants Amazing Location