Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Wonderful relaxing time. Staff were very attentive. Pools were clean and the iguana visitors were fun to watch. Four restaurants had good food but the menus left a bit to be desired in terms of variety when you are there for more than a few days. Breakfast is expensive so look in the gift store where the have nice alternate options. We had a great mother/daughter vacation together. What a great escape from the very cold Great Lakes winter!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hampton, NJ

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Great resort, plenty of amenities, friendly helpful staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

crowded and no air-conditioning

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: staff very nice and location pretty
Cons: airconditioning system, actual hotel is run down
Location: a bit trapped unless you have a car
NO air conditioning and no where to go! We couldn't get a refund because we booked with Expedia
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Senic Location

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Over priced for the quality of this property
Location: Senic views
It only takes one rude staff member to spoil the stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rensselaer, NY

Great resort in St. Thomas

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Amenities, pool, view
Cons: Deep clean/remodel bathrooms, start a recycling program.
Location: St. John is a very quick ferry ride away (car or passenger) and well worth the trip.
My Husband, 1 year old Son, and I stayed at this resort this past week and overall were very pleased. The AC was not operating for a few days before our arrival and was in the process of getting fixed when we arrived, but the staff was very courteous to the fact that we had a baby and upgraded our room to a balcony (for the breeze) in case the AC did not come back on quickly (but it actually did). Pros: -Pool/Ocean view is stunning. The pool was never overcrowded either, which was very nice -The room was very spacious (even with a crib) -The view of the pool/ocean from the balcony was great. It was cool to be able to listen to the music that was going on at night from our balcony -Take note of all that is included in the resort fee you will pay daily (for example, local calls, which we had no idea) -Fridges in room (the grocery store is very close by so it was easy to stock up on some snacks) -Gift shop had decent selections. Bagels, pastries, coffee, sandwiches, etc. available Cons: -Food is very pricey at all restaurants (for example, $20 for a burger and fries, although they were very good). This is nothing out of the norm for resorts though. -No recycling available. This is a pet peeve of mine. They give out 4 free water bottles daily, so those alone add up, when they could easily be recycled -The grout in the shower could have been a little cleaner, although im sure its not easy with the high humidity in the air there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

So much fun... We didn't want to leave!

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: I really liked the laid back atmosphere and just being able to give your name and room number, instead of having to carry cash around. The views too!
Location: You have to go to Oceana Restaurant... It's one of the best meals I've ever had. Downtown shopping was fun too and only a short cab ride from hotel.
This was our first trip to St Thomas and we can't wait to go back. It was a very relaxing and fun week. Everything you need is pretty much right there or a phone call away. They have several restaurants on site and at the beach. The food overall is really good. The staff was very friendly helping us get taxi's all week and even watched our bags a few times. They also have a station to book adventures during your stay. We went on a 3 hour snorkeling tour and went swimming with some sea turtles... So much fun!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Westchester

good pools; lot stairs to beach

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Good location.
Cons: More elevator facilities for people who do not do stairs easily. Reception did change room to main building.
Location: 2 miles to main shopping. Driving was OK though they drive on the left!
Marriott closed elevator that avoided many stairs to beach; now it's a long walk up and down. Some rooms are very far from pools and lobby, and in this section there is no elevator. Morningstar Hotel (same grounds and a Marriott) is on the beach but far from pools. Beach and water were excellent. Hotel staff generally pleasant. Reception staff less so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Great Location

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Very nice and comfortable hotel in a beautiful location. Very pricey Two rum punches on the beach cost $28.32!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An unfortunate experience

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: We never got to really enjoy being there.
After traveling since 6:00am, we finally arrived at The Marriott Frenchman's Reef at 4:00 pm. We were looking forward to resting up and then enjoying the many amenities the hotel offers. However, due to some computer problem, we were unable to check into our (2) rooms until 8:30 pm. We were offered free drinks and were given a pager which never went off. After several visits & complaints at the desk, we managed to have our dinner compted. However, at check out the next day, when asked about getting an adjustment on our room charges (as had other guests), we were told nothing could be done since we had booked through Expedia. Needless to say we were quite disappointed and will have to think twice before booking with Marriott or Expedia in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: upgraded rooms and amenities, adult only areas
Location: We went into Red Hook one night which was a lot of fun. There are tons of bars and restaurants there.
We stayed at the Frenchman for 3 nights. Our room was decent, a little bit dated, but not horrible. We had requested a king bed and got stuck with a double. Our room looked out onto the harbor and it was fun watching the cruise ships. The hotel provided towels are kind of dingy and could use replacing. There are tons of families at the resort and an adult only area/pool would have been nice. We spent an afternoon at Lazule spa which was very relaxing and I'd highly recommend the hot tub and cold plunge combo. If you book an appointment, make sure that you tell them that you're staying at the hotel, because you get a discount (its part of the resort fee) The staff were friendly, but definitely on "island time" and as many reviews point out, in no big rush to help you out. Several times we walked through the lobby and saw really long lines at reception. We ate dinner at Havana Blue which was delicious. We had the lobster and steak combo with a truffle mash to die for. Overall I'd say it's a nice place to stay but I'm not sure it's worth the price.