Ratings based on 628 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, but a bad experience

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The views, the food, the pools.
Cons: The attitude of certain staff members.
I am from Tortola but i decided to stay at the marriott since my friend and i was flying in from Philadelphia. The hotel is very beautiful, there are many wonderful views. Most of the staff members are friendly and helpful but some staff members are lazy and rude. Our worst experience was booking our hotel room for 5 days and then returning from Tortola after 2 days and the room was given away. I spoke to the lady at the front desk and she kept saying that if we aren't in the room and our bags are not there they automatically give away the room. Which i think is wrong because what if someone travelled with no bags? just a purse on a business trip? it would make no sense, we booked the room for a certain amount of days and already paid so what they did was wrong. Also as a result we walked into the room and another man and woman was in there the man was half dressed. It was so embarrassing our key didn't work but since we had the room keys the bell boy opened the door. The man in the room was so upset and i explained what happened and i was very upset and disappointed. It took 2 hours just to solve the problem because the lady at the desk acted like this was normal and wouldn't accomadate us with anything and then gave us a room with a different view than the one we paid for. I told the lady it would be my last time here and she just shrugged her shoulder and said ok. It was very disappointing and upsetting. I was truly shocked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

Gorgeous views!

Posted May 30, 2015
Beautiful and clean but insufficient signage and staff. Resort is quite large, lots of confused lost faces looking for beach access, pools and bars. Staff friendly but insufficient people about the resort. Although some errors were made with rooms and charges the persons on duty resolved all issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Moe

Nice friendly staff

Posted May 29, 2015
Hotel and amenities were great, restaurants need some polish, not sufficient staff, long waits, and food was lacking. First night irdered two seafood dishes and racked-up a pretty large tab but food flavors and temperature were lack- luster. Tried the bistro also while at the beach and the menu needs LOTS of work, food was cold most of the times. What the sence in getting a burger with fries when thd fries arrive 30 minutes post burger....Not Again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mendham, NJ

A beautiful Resort

Posted May 29, 2015
We had a wonderful time staying at the resort. The ocean view from our room was spectacular and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed all the food, especially the breakfast buffet. I would recommend this resort to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Disappointed.

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: The views from this location are magnificent--except for those facing the ocean, which is destroyed by an illuminated tennis court.
Cons: Reinvestment would help with some flaws, others are design flaws.
Location: Wonderful island, but spent a small fortune on taxi service. Beach was best ever--white sands, clear water. Foliage was magnificent. Zipline was cool
This ought to be a wonderful resort, but management has let it slide to where we cannot recommend it right now. There are numerous problems with this facility right now. Some are little, some big. One pool has no food/beverage service because the nearby restaurant is being repaired. The towel hut closes at 5 PM, so don't come late to that pool or the beach. The hot tub has no jets and no heat. The towel hut on the beach has few snorkels and fins. If we didn't return ours when we did, the next party would have been without. The bar at the main pool (deepest point 4'6") closes at 7 pm, so don't try too swim late. The ferry to the downtown is lovely, but only one of two ferries is working, so the boat is full and runs hourly rather than on the half hour. The last ferry is at the same time the shops close, rather than after. One of the restaurants, Blue Havana, was absolutely lovely. Staff there were professional and the food was truly excellent. Because of the isolation of the resort, we ate twice at the Sunset Cafe. At neither time did they have someone bussing tables. The wait staff didn't have time, so tables sat dirty, no one brought bread to the table despite two requests, and no one refilled water glasses. In the room there are NO hooks to hang wet swimsuits or towels. Ceiling lights have been covered over with metal plates. Crack floor tiles are left unrepaired. One external building has no elevator and another has only one--for six floors!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Huntington Beach, CA

Double charged...did not recognize pre-paid

Posted May 29, 2015
When checking out I was presented with a bill for the entire amount even through the room stay was pre-paid through Expedia. I told the desk clerk and he didn't believe me...then I pulled out my Expedia confirmation to show and he said okay will reverse charges...but didn't need to see or copy my Expedia confirmation? Still waiting for charges to be reversed and now working with my credit card company. Such a shame as it is a nice property. However it is not worth double the price or the hassle to get things straightened out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Westchester NY

Best Caribbean Vacation Ever!!!

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: The hotel was very clean and the views are something to talk about. The staff provide all assistance and are extremely helpful with your needs
Cons: From my visit I didn't experience anything that would require improvements.
Location: I had the water view room at the back of the hotel and it was great waking up going on the balcony and looking at the mountains & the boats passing.
My stay at the Marriott's Frenchman's Reef was awesome. My children ages 19 & 15 had a great time on the resort not to mention the breathtaking views. The hotel staff was so super awesome they make you feel at home that you don't want to return home. The food was truly great on the resort and at the Sand Bar on the beach. The island drink pain killer is a must to try, I don't drink alcohol so I had the virgin so can you imagine with. I'm already planning my next trip 8 days went by too fast! Excellent resort if you ask me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Beautiful Views, decent amenities, okay food

Posted May 28, 2015
We stayed at the Morningstar side of the hotel. I would love to give this hotel 5 stars because of the beautiful views but unfortunately due to the following reasons I cannot: they had no activities for kids even though that was advertised, the room was not updated, the grout in the bathroom floor was filthy, there was a stray cat that took residence in our balcony and he was not scared of us so we couldn't use the balcony, food and beverage prices were outrages but the quality was okay at best. I would recommend it if you don't care about those things and just want to be on a beautiful beach with great views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Springfield, IL

Posted May 27, 2015
Cons: I would expect a pristine environment from Marriott. Some areas on the outside of the main building and other buildings could use some repair.
Difficulty getting a room during off season - May 15th... although hotel didn't seem busy. They must layoff staff during this season to save $$$ so available rooms cannot be let. Havana Blue (restaurant on the premises) is awesome. Beautiful décor and ambience. Hotel is one of my very favorites. Hotel and setting is outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Very nice hotel

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: We could not do without the shuttle service to the Cove. My parents were staying there and it made the trip very easy for them.
Cons: Service at the Sunset Grill. Follow through by the hotel manager
Location: Onsite there was a boat that took you to Buck Island. We snorkled with the turtles. The afternoon was beautiful
The room was extremely clean. The beds were very comfortable. The bellmen were wonderful and made getting a taxi or the transportation to the other 2 resorts very easy. The shuttle drivers were extremely polite and nice. The breakfast at the Aqua terra was a perfect way to start the day. The food at Havana Blue was very good. My 7 year old daughter loved CoCo Joe's. With the cost associated with the taxis eating at the resort was a very good deal. We did have one bad experience and unfornately it was on our last day of our trip. We had decided to have lunch at the Sunset Grill. The waitress was rude to my father in law who is hard of hearing and my mother who is over 75. We waited over 35 minutes after our order was placed but were never served any food. We had to leave for the airport so we ended up leaving the resturant. When I spoke to the front desk manager she said she would credit our account if we wanted to get some ready made sandwiches at the market place. We did but the credit to the account never came through and I have been charged for the sandwiches. My 7 year old daughter cried because she was hunger until we got to the airport that was the hardest part of the trip. To say the least my husband is mad that my daughter left hunger and the attitude of this one waitress plus the lack of follow through by this front desk manager. This is the reason why I gave an overall 4 for the rating and a 3 for the hotel staff.