Ratings based on 597 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

Was a little nervous after reading reviews

Posted Apr 30, 2015
a little nervous about hotel after reading some of the reviews. We arrived at 3:30 with no problems, checking in. Iguanas were not a problem, but they are on stairs down to ocean and a few at pool area. Service was faster than thought being on island time. Most all personnel were pleasant and willing to help. Our safe in room stopped working, and a call down to front desk and it was taken care of in less than a hour. Found beds comfortable, we stayin in frenchman reef. I can't understand why Expedia can add the. $45 a day resort fee if you do all inclusive, that was quite a surprise! The stairs down to ocean from main hotel was not a problem, but walking upstairs was exhausting. Not recommend for elderly. There is a shuttle. All in all we were pleasantly surprised with the Marriott.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Another Outstanding Visit

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Everything! Views, friendly staff, Havana Blue, the beach, the pool, water taxi, fun adventures through the Adventure Center...and did I mention the v
Location: The Marriott's is spectacular and Megans Bay is my absolute favourite!
This was my sixth stay at this spectacular resort and I'm already looking forward to my next visit! The site itself is breathtaking...amazing views everywhere. Gorgeous pool and the Havana Blue restaurant is fantastic. Really wonderful staff - Shania in guest relations and Ken in the lobby are standouts. Great rooms (love to stay in the main tower overlooking the harbor). The water taxi is a great way to get around and really recommend checking out the fun things offered through the Adventure Center. This year, had a great time nite kayaking --- what fun! Great resort --- exceptional experience all the way around!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philly

Great view, clean rooms

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Views, pools, beach, feel.
Cons: Lower prices
Location: You have to cab or ferry everywhere, nothing is close. The hotel offers a lot of things right on site, but if you want to go to other places, its far
The views were awesome, definitely a beautiful location and clear water. The hotel is kind of out of the way from everything else on the island which is good or bad depending on how you view that. Everything is so expensive but idk what I expected, so we just went into town and stocked up on food/booze/etc to save some cash for the fun trips the hotel sponsors. It was a great experience, just very pricey; more than just flight and room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma

All-around pleasant and enjoyable stay!

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The pool/grounds were beautiful! Staff was all very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Rooms in Harbor wing were a bit outdated-- could be improved given the price of the hotel.
Location: The hotel is located on top of a hill which provides amazing views of the ocean and harbor, but you must take a cab to leave the hotel.
My husband and I stayed here just recently and had a wonderful stay. We were located in the Harbor Wing which had a gorgeous view of the Charlotte Amalie Harbor. We appreciated the view, but it would've been nice to be in the main part of the hotel (the Harbor Wing is about a 5 minute walk from the lobby). The hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The pool is to die for and the hotel has its own private beach which was quite nice. Food options were generally good-- their Havana Blue restaurant was amazing!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

long wait for check in

Posted Apr 20, 2015
love this place, but we had to wait over 2 hrs for room. We then got the handicapped room right by the lobby. Booked months ago- lame
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Beatiful pool and beach
Cons: rooms were a bit dated. need to be updated.
Location: snorkling at St John's trunk Bay was fun.
Hotel was at a Beatiful location. The staff was very nice abd helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tolland, CT

Beautiful Views

Posted Apr 18, 2015
We had a harbor view room which faced the city center and mountains. Great views both during the daytime and evening sunsets. All of the hotel amenities were enjoyable, the infinity pools were spectacular. Hotel staff were pleasant, & Mist services were very good, including all restaurant meals. Prices were a little steep but to be expected. The Marriot location is great with a 15 minutes ride to most tourist attractions. Highly recommend the ferry to St.John (Trunk Bay & Cinnamon Bay), only a half hour ride each way. We would definitely return to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Staff was very professional and helpful.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The hotel is in a great location but needs updates. The staff was great. Food was good but pricey. Eat and drink during happy hours.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom dc

Disappointed

Posted Apr 11, 2015
This was my son's first trip to Caribbean and I wanted to make it special. That is why I was willing to pay for a standard room with a breakfast about $400 (it is a lot for a single mother). However I was disappointed right from the start - instead of a requested double bed we got one bed and instead of a nice view we got a room with a view of a parking lot... Sad...When I wanted a different room a supervisor was very indifferent, no apology, no change. Beach was nice (but not turquoise water, not good snorkeling), pools were small but also OK, breakfast was nice. We also had one dinner in Sunset Grill and food and service there were great. Dasha
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, great view, terrible service

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Hotel nice enough. Great location, views, beach and pools. Service at dinner was terribly bad on multiple occasions. Out of food, glasses, brought the wrong orders, and slow even by island time standards. Room was okay in size, very uncomfortable beds and really noisy AC. Hot water was intermittent, and wifi not consistent.