Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from PA

Great Honeymoon cottage

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: a little building maintenance is required
Location: Things were easy and inexpensive to get to. You could ride the Shuttle to the beach for $1 each way or go into the capital or Red Hook,for $2 each way
Very romantic, total privacy, great view & pool was especially nice as you could almost roll out of bed into it and there was nobody to notice you. The pool used processed ocean water and was cleaned and maintained everyday by the pool man. This type of water was really great for my skin, almost therapeutic but even better you could use it any time you wanted in total privacy. It was our Honeymoon and exactly the type of place I had always wanted to go and stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Nice place, unique setup with Private pools!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Location and unique private pool setup. Easy walk or ride to very nice, but NOT crowded, beaches. Made us old married folks feel like honeymooners.
Cons: The hotel has two wings. One wing with smaller rooms is right by the busy road. The wing with the larger rooms is away from the road and quieter.
Location: Several good restaurants in Red Hook, with ferry port to St. John. Uncrowded beaches are either a short quiet walk or a short ride away. (More above)
When we tried to check in we discovered that we were victims of cancelled reservations, but they quietly fixed things by giving us a surprise upgrade us without telling us. It is a special place. Every room has a private pool, as in skinny dipping, right outside your BR or LR. The sitting/sunning area is also private. The rooms are nice and comfortable. The bathroom is outside, but private, also. There is a very nice open air restaurant/bar right at the hotel with good food. There is a 5 minute walk to the wonderful beach, part of a related property. The location is about a 3 minute, inexpensive, safari bus ride to the community of Red Hook, where there are various good restaurants. The nearby ferry to St. John leaves from Red Hook. Other very nice beaches are nearby, but require a rental car, taxi or safari bus ride. (Walking on the narrow, winding road is dangerous since there are no sidewalks or pedestrian paths.) Getting to Charlotte Amalie is best done by safari bus. We had a wonderful time, very relaxing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Dated but excited about private pool.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: It's privacy.
Cons: Get a back up generator!!!
Location: Didn't have time to find out.
We were excited to experience Pools and Pavillions, but the night we got there the entire Island had a power outage and they did not have a back-up generator. We waited it out one night, but when it didn't come back on, and we had no water to even flush toilets, we left and went to the Marriott, who did have a back up generator. Thank God!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nashville, Tennessee

20th Anniversary Trip

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable, access to bar/restaurant on sight, private pool...and the staff was wonderful!
Cons: The pool and the interior walls needed cosmetic repairs.
Location: Located 10 minutes from Red Hook and 10 minutes from Coki Beach...and a short walk to Sapphire Beach...food in Red Hook and Bolongo Bay (30) minutes.
Sweet but older hotel Near but not really at Sapphire Beach. It was an easy walk but a little unsightly due to garbage dump. The rooms themselves were very clean and modern but some of the walls were cracked and the pool tile was stained. All that said, we loved the place! From the happy hour and restaurant to the free range chickens out back, we thoroughly enjoyed the staff, the location and the fullly stocked room. We enjoyed breakfast from the complimentary fare in our room and drove to Red Hook or Bolongo Bay for dinner. Easy access to the front desk for information and beach towels. We loved the small saltwater pool outside our glass doors with privacy fence around...great place to relax after a day at the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Everything you need

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Nice staff room has everything you need pool grill kitchen living area bedroom two Tvs radio etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel depending on the room you get.

Posted Jan 29, 2015
We had a beautiful newly renovated room, but some of the other rooms looked a little out dated. Since the are privately owned villas I think it depends on the room you get. the restaurant was really good. The only issue was we thought we had booked a king bed and got a queen bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended for all

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels
Rooms were very comfortable and private. Great location too. Lovely restaurant and bar area too.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Yujia Sun from Michigan

overall is perfect!

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels
we were highly satisified with this hotel, recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by margo from florida

some pluses and some minuses

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: the idea of having your own pool to use
Cons: update.....
Location: near sapphire beach...a modest walk.....to really explore the area you need to rent a car or have unlimited money for cabs.buses are crowded...
a rodent in our original room. ofc moved us immediately and were apologetic. the idea of a personal pool is nice and there is a pool man to take care of the pools. washer and dryer on premises..coin operated also nice. Tina's cheers mate restaurant......open pavillion type had nice stock of beer and liquor and nice home cooked meals. Cabs always available. Bus also stops right outside to take you downtown to C. Amalie--Appliances were full size refrigerator and stove.....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2013