Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

The VIEW

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: BEAUTIFUL view.
Cons: Bathroom lighting
Location: Grocery store and KMart about 5 minute drive from the hotel. Main Street (lots of jewelry) 15 mins walk. Take a bottle of water.
Short trip but lovely. The Staff were pleasant and helpful. Spent much of my stay looking out at the harbor. The grounds are well kept and its very quite. Breakfast by the pool was really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland ME

One night

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Visited Charlotte Amalie. Watched the boats and yachts.
We stayed only one night but would of had stayed longer if not for prior commitments. Staff was very professional, attentive when needed, and let you enjoy yourselves. Room was much nicer than we expected with great views, comfortable bed and kitchenette with /washer/dryer - a total surprise. Washer/dryer would have come in handy if this was the middle/end of our trip rather than first day. Extremely quiet and peaceful. Felt safe. Nice thing is that it is on a hill overlooking the bay. Disadvantage to this is that you either have to walk up/down to get to town or take a taxi. We, in our late 50's, walked down and hiked back up which certainly gave us our exercise! We would certainly recommend Bluebeards to anyone looking for a central location.
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Very nice hotel.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
This is a very nice hotel with comfortable and quiet rooms. The view on the bay is really great. My only critics are regarding the room service that is only scheduled twice a week and the odd location of the office that doesn't allow to drive to To check-in, you need to park at the bottom of the hill and walk to the office.The parking closes to the stair being reserve for the hotel should be reserve for 15 min guess to check-in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a reasonable price.

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Stayed there for one night before my flight out of St. Thomas. The room was large, clean, and quiet. The air conditioner was not a in window unit so it was very quiet compared to most. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a short walk into town so a car is not needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Central Florida

Easy Check-in, Room better than expected!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Loved having a washer/dryer to do laundry during a 9 day trip! The views from the room were impressive.
Cons: Not much that I can think of. The rate was great and the room was beautiful....what can be improved?
Location: It is a long walk to town on a rather busy road and limited sidewalks, so plan on taking a cab or renting a car. It is located on a steep hill
The staff at check in were very friendly and helpful. The room at Pirates Pension (Calypso) had a Queen Bed, a Pull Out couch with a real mattress, washer & dryer, a huge bath, a kitchenette with everything you need for light meals, plus an incredible view! I knew this room would be quite a hike up to the pool and restaurant, but an easier walk to Yacht Haven Grande where I had meetings every day. Called the front desk to order a taxi pickup right at my room whenever I needed it, and they were very prompt. The bellhops use golf carts to deliver you and you bags to the room, or to pick you up for check out, so you don't have to lug your bags uphill. Overall, one of my best stays in St. Thomas....I travel there on business quite a bit and I will be returning to Pirate's Pension! Much nicer and newer rooms than the other buildings on the property.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicolaifrom Copenhagen

Reasonably priced stay in St. Thomas.

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bluebeards castle is very nice and very reasonably priced hotel, comparing to the other alternatives on St. Thomas. However at the moment of our stay, the hotel was under renovation which for us was inconvenient, however future guests will probably enjoy this. The property is a bit torn, however the rooms was in a very good standard. People should note that you can be relocated during the stay as it is working with a timeshare concept, which resulted in us being relocated after our first night and we were relocated to pirates villas (not pension which was what we booked and payed for). We accepted to stay at the villas for the rest of our stay, as we did not want to relocate once again (seemed like the pension appartments was overbooked or some closed for renovations). If i was not for the issues and downgrade we would have given good recommendations, however the issues we had and the help we received was not satisfactory. You cant blame the front desc staff however, the management seems to have some issues with the room planning. The location is good and has a great view, however the are no beaches in walking distance from the hotel which should also be considered when booking (however we did not expect this when booking). There are a nice pool area and 4 restaurants at the hotel so if you don't need a beach you do not need to leave the hotel. However we did not spend much time there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Charlotte Amalie Stay

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was great, the room was amazing, we had an ocean facing suite. The hotel sits at the top of a hill in Charlotte Amalie so you get great views of the ocean and parts of the city. If you dont have a car you can easily walk into town but the hotel has whatever you need there. The accommodations were perfect. They have two restaurants on property, a pool, fitness center and business computers if you need. Check-In and Out was really easy and they helped us with getting to where we were headed. We wished we could have stayed longer than we did here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by C. Heathfrom Tampa, FL

Beautiful view, spacious room

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is apparently the newest and best type of lodging at Bluebeard's Castle. I've reviewed others before. Same deal - clean and spacious with gorgeous views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor or city. This room was "updated" - furniture and appliances appeared newer - all very nice. The 2 drawbacks are still the same - you need a taxi or car to go anywhere, and steps are involved to almost all rooms. Given that, it's a great value.