Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Very nice hotel.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
This is a very nice hotel with comfortable and quiet rooms. The view on the bay is really great. My only critics are regarding the room service that is only scheduled twice a week and the odd location of the office that doesn't allow to drive to To check-in, you need to park at the bottom of the hill and walk to the office.The parking closes to the stair being reserve for the hotel should be reserve for 15 min guess to check-in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a reasonable price.

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Stayed there for one night before my flight out of St. Thomas. The room was large, clean, and quiet. The air conditioner was not a in window unit so it was very quiet compared to most. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a short walk into town so a car is not needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Central Florida

Easy Check-in, Room better than expected!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Loved having a washer/dryer to do laundry during a 9 day trip! The views from the room were impressive.
Cons: Not much that I can think of. The rate was great and the room was beautiful....what can be improved?
Location: It is a long walk to town on a rather busy road and limited sidewalks, so plan on taking a cab or renting a car. It is located on a steep hill
The staff at check in were very friendly and helpful. The room at Pirates Pension (Calypso) had a Queen Bed, a Pull Out couch with a real mattress, washer & dryer, a huge bath, a kitchenette with everything you need for light meals, plus an incredible view! I knew this room would be quite a hike up to the pool and restaurant, but an easier walk to Yacht Haven Grande where I had meetings every day. Called the front desk to order a taxi pickup right at my room whenever I needed it, and they were very prompt. The bellhops use golf carts to deliver you and you bags to the room, or to pick you up for check out, so you don't have to lug your bags uphill. Overall, one of my best stays in St. Thomas....I travel there on business quite a bit and I will be returning to Pirate's Pension! Much nicer and newer rooms than the other buildings on the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by C. Heathfrom Tampa, FL

Beautiful view, spacious room

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is apparently the newest and best type of lodging at Bluebeard's Castle. I've reviewed others before. Same deal - clean and spacious with gorgeous views of the Charlotte Amalie harbor or city. This room was "updated" - furniture and appliances appeared newer - all very nice. The 2 drawbacks are still the same - you need a taxi or car to go anywhere, and steps are involved to almost all rooms. Given that, it's a great value.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Clean, nice interior

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: clean, nice rooms on a hill with a nice view of the harbour. Cons: drive to the beach Long walk or a drive from reception to the room building. Once we got to the building had to walk 3 flights of stairs to get to the room, not good with 3 luggage and baby. To make things worse, called for help on chek out for luggage and drive to the reception, they sent this tiny old female (with rings all over her body) for help (no more than a 100 lbs). Meanwhile I had to walk 3 flights of stairs with baby, 3 luggage and a stroller with car seat - what were they thinking - had to carry all but the small luggage between me and my wife ). Balcony door would't open (even though they sent maintenance guy promptly), In the morning, good luck with reaching reception through phone, more than 20 minutes of busy line until I got to someone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom V

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
This hotel was perfect! Great views and a pretty good location.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Not Happyfrom ga

Charlie was so rude at check in. horrible

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Checked in and Charlie (yes I remembered his name because that's how rude he was) was acting like he didn't want to be bothered. Then he refused to show me to my room, then proceeded to give me nonsense directions just to get rid of me. Very rude, and I will never stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jess

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Laurenfrom New Jersey

Lovely stay

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place for an inexpensive hideaway. Lovely view from the room. Car is needed, parking is ample. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Nice views and central location

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Was pleasantly surprised about the quality, space and location of the Bluebeard Castle hotel. I was very happy with the space and facilities within the unit. I traveled for business this week, but will positively come back here with family.