Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suitland

Hotel under construction.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Sapphire Village Resorts was not what I expected. First, the property is under construction. When my husband and I arrived we got a room in the condominium section of the resort. Room 309 smelled like a crime scene that had not been cleaned properly. The kitchen was very small. There were holes that had been patched and showed visible repairs. The water pressure in the shower was not up to par. The over all condition of the room was dilapidated. We called the front desk and ask for another room and was asked why we didn't like the room and had to explain in detail. We finally got a room that was by the marina(room F105). It still smelled like mildew. The bed did not have a Temprapedic mattress at all. We had back pain every morning. The condition of the room was just livable. The stove wobbled. The microwave oven was on the very edge of the cabinet. On the fourth day of our stay there was power outage. Despite the conditions, we continued to stay positive through this whole ordeal. As stated earlier, the property is under construction yet they are still booking rooms without disclosing this fact. Please beware.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maresa from KCMO

Beautiful beach access

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved our room. It was on ground level with great access to the beach!
2 out of 5
by mitou

Not worth the money

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Close to red hook
Cons: Bathroom
Location: Ferry, Duffy s love shack
for the price i expected more. Lots of little misses make this hotel not worthy of even 3 stars. They couldn't spend 10 bucks on a toilet seat. bathroom had no Windows no vent, no space. View from room was nice, but dont trust hotel pix... you are not close to water. Queen size bed was shorter than 5 feet, my feet swung. Old tube tv, no cable only got two channels. Hotel restaurant closed whenever, no consistent hours. But food was good. Many hills and many stairs. Overall was ok, but we paid more instead of staying somewhere else but felt cheated out of decent accomodations
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Islesboy from Minneapolis, MN

A plain Jane condo.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Nice and quiet!
Cons: Update condos with new furnishings.
Location: Close walk to the beach, can snorkel and swim or arrange for a boat to take you on a diving/sailing/fishing trip.
This condo could use some updating, as the decor seemed outdated. The drive from the airport was also far and there are no grocery stores within walking distance. Checking in was difficult, as there were no signs informing us where to pick up the keys (the Expedia listing offered no assistance).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice complex, great beach, lacking conveniences

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Stayed in large, clean 1 bedroom condo with harbor & ocean view in Sapphire Village complex. Full service restaurant with great nightly live music, and also have a beachside cafe. 3 small clean pools However, no convenience store and $4 per person taxi ride to Red Hook can get pricey, as no sidewalk to town. But once in Red Hook can easily get to St. John. Overall a nice location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Why to stay here or to not stay here

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Clean and close to everything
Cons: The place needs to be updated badly.
Location: 5 min from Red Hook and the ferry to St Johns. Takes 20 min to get to the other side of the island. Really great spot if you are looking to explore.
If you are looking for a clean place to sleep and make some meals this is the place to stay. The resort is ok and the amenities are alright. If you are going to be spending most of your time going to the beaches and exploring the island with a rented car this place will suit you very well. Its what I did and I had a great vacation. If you are looking for a resort that will cater to all of your needs you will need to find another place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: The view was pretty.
Cons: Cleanliness, support, communication.
Location: It was right by a marina, so there was a lot of boats you could pay money to go out on.
When arriving to the hotel we were told that the main office would be closing in a half hour. It would have been fine, but after a long flight we wanted to get food. The restaurant was closed, no one was available via phone, there was no one to help us. In the morning the office didn't open until around 8:30am, and it was just really hard to communicate with the staff. There were no shuttles to take us from the office to the hotel (which were far apart), we were placed in a room with one bed, when we requested two, it was just very disappointing. There were stains in the fridge, the room wasn't very clean, and we had no idea when or if the hotel staff would be by to clean. There was no "do not disturb" sign to put up either. It was just overall very uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chelsea from Sacramento CA

Great place! Very happy guests

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: The people and location. It had the best beach on the island with the best snorkeling.
Cons: Our room was nice but could use a little color. Our friends stayed in room 157 and their room was fully redone and decorated.
Location: Many things available, paddle boarding, boating, jet-skis, snorkeling, close to Coki Point and Red Hook.
Our room was perfect. Nice and spacious. Very clean. Loved the pools and beautiful beaches. Great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chelsea from Reno, NV

Great time and experience!

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: The view of the room and the perfect beach
Cons: If every room was like ours then it was perfect
Location: Paddle boarding, snorkeling is amazing, volleyball, 3 beautiful pools, wildlife, Redhook is right down the street. Megan's Bay is a great beach.
We stayed in room 157 and it was perfect! We loved the decor and the room overlooked the marina and ocean. The stay was very friendly and willing to help with anything. We had an amazing experience. The beach at Sapphire is one of the best on the island. It's simple and perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com