Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Whatever you do--don't do it.

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Please see above.
Location: Difficult location requiring a taxi everywhere.
First, Expedia did not tell us check in was at room A 201. Had a helpful taxi driver not happened by, we'd still be looking for check in. The lady at the front desk was beyoun rude--she flat out lied to my face, saying my friend's phone was off the hook. ( It didn't work.) There was no phone in my room. This made it difficult to doordinate with my friend as we were seperated by some distance. The room was filthy. There was so much dust hanging off things it's a wonder a person could breathe. The TV didn't work. It was the kind of place I had to wear shoes at all times. We left for the airport five hours early just to get out.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Terrible Hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: The view of the water was very nice
Cons: Cleaning the rooms would be the beginning. Provide phones that work in every room. Signage for check-in.
Location: The hotel is on the hillside and the road is busy so a taxi is required to get to town. You have to go to town to eat.
Two rooms were booked by one person. Our rooms were separated (one on the beach and one on the hillside) because a group needed to be together. We had to take a taxi to get to each others rooms. The rooms were filthy, the phones were broken or weren't in the room. One room required turning the key and then kicking the door to get it open. Another room could only be locked with the security lock but it did not unlock or lock easily. The woodwork is missing chunks of veneer covering and particle board is exposed everywhere. One room had a fan that could only operate with the circuit breaker. The curtains were not adequate for privacy. Traffic passed under the windows most of the night. One receptionist was beyond rude. Other staff members were pleasant. The registration suite is not obvious, signage is not seen until after the suite is pointed out.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Palm Beach, Fl

Way overpriced

Posted Mar 12, 2015
The room was way out dated (furniture/appliances). There was an unclean feel to it. The tv/remote didn't work well. The fridge leaked. The only thing the room came with complimentary was cheap bar soap.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, NY

Run from this place!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The pool area was nice, but not nice enough to compensate for the room!
Cons: check out the owner units and if they are as bad as our refuse to rent them!!
Location: convenient to the ferry to St. John
Absolutely horrible! Luckily we only had to spend one night here! Sapphire in general looks very nice, but I guess they have "selected" units that are owner owned that can be rented out. Our unit #181 wad disgusting. It does not seem to be updated since it was probably built. We had two adults and two children staying in the unit [which they were aware of and charged extra for the children]. There were no extra sheets, blankets or pillows for the couches and seemed put out when we had to call for them. The couch was falling apart and disgustingly stained and dirty. There were no pool or beach towels, and depending on who you spoke to they were supposed to be in the unit so if they weren't, oh well! The bathroom was in dire need of updating, from mold/mildew, new fixtures needed and tub reglazed. The kitchen has a broken burner, and the bedroom air conditioning worked for maybe 1 hour until it crapped out. It kicked on all night sounding like a compressor was going off and put out no cool air. We called the manager no less than 5 times over 3 days until they finally agreed to a partial refund after visiting the unit themselves. We paid almost $300 with taxes and fees for one night to have them agree to a refund of $150 [which I have yet to receive]. You could not pay me enough to stay there ever again!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Great beach, unreliable accommodations

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: The beach.
Cons: Almost everything.
Location: Nicely situated on a beautiful bay with good views of islands in the distance. Need a car or cab to go anywhere. There is one restaurant.
This facility consists of condominiums, and the room quality seems to be highly variable. I was unfortunate to get a very poor room, so that results in a poor review even though some units may be much nicer than the one I had, as I heard from speaking to some other guests. My unit, which was in one of the buildings on the hill, had an old TV with one channel not cable as advertised, no safe in the room as advertised, and lots of roaches in the kitchenette. There is a marina down the hill where trips can be booked on site. The beach is beautiful, and snorkeling is possible. There are several pools on the grounds (including one near the beach used by ducks), but many of the amenities appear to be out of repair so that calling the place a resort is a stretch. Registration takes place in an unmarked room (#201) in one of the buildings near the beach to which a cab driver will direct guests, and the receptionists are also highly variable. I had intended to stay for 3 days, but canceled my stay after the first night, which I spent in the room only because I had arrived late and had nowhere else to go. A facility that calls itself a resort needs to have in-room safes. As a solo traveler I am not prepared to leave my valuables in my room without one when I go to the beach. The receptionist who registered me told me if I wanted a safe I should have gone to a hotel!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vincentfrom Atlanta

Don't go

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
This place is old and Dungee in dated rings smelled like mildew no restaurants to walk to teeny tiny beach with course saying and couldn't get a hold of the staffeven if you wanted to they were nonexistent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Could use upgraded

Posted Dec 15, 2014
I hotel was nice, in a nice location very secure, but could use upgraded. A lot of things were weathered and warn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

room & view were great, staff not so friendly

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: the view
Cons: staff could display pleasant customer service skills
Location: coki point & coral world
nothing spectacular about my stay, im from the island so im familiar with the island and the property
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Disappointingly shabby buildings in great location

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Its location was great.
Cons: The buildings are shabby.
Location: There is a beach and marina at the bottom of the hill. You can snorkel from the beach, and there were tours leaving directly from the marina.
The condos are on a hill above the beach and marina, so you can walk down to either. The view is lovely and the snorkelling was good off the beach. The pool areas were small but well maintained. However, despite just being gone over by the exterminators, I saw cockroaches in the kitchenette. The bed was advertised as having a tempurpedic mattress, which was not true (although it was clean), and the base underneath was incredibly noisy. The furniture was shabby and the air-conditioner was loud and inefficient (old). I would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Fair Stay

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall it was good but the room needs some much needed updates as far as hotel life.