Ratings based on 583 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma

Loved It ! Will be back.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Location: We only went down to Red Hook for a little shopping and dining. Senior Frogs & Fish Tales are good places to eat also.
The Hotel grounds were beautiful and the staff was delightful. We absolutely loved it. We chose to not do the all inclusive option which was a mistake on our part. Next time we will do that, other than that mistake we have a wonderful experience. Food and atmosphere was perfect. Nightly entertainment was a blast. Felix is by far the best bartender and The Karaoke DJ is a blast. Very Family Friendly too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom d

3 star hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2014
First of all if contruction bothers you wait til mid january to book your stay. Half the hotel is under major contruction. Didnt bother me too much but woulda been better if i had booked after the renovation. The pros to this hotel were that most of the staff were nice. The hotel was clean. Its big and plenty of stuff to do(basketball courts, tennis courts, mini golf, free scuba lessions, fitness trails etc). Food was decent. The views were awsome! Lotta cool pics to be taken. The cons were that there are no maps so you have to guess your way around until you become familar. There arent alot of resturants only 2 that were functioning and one is dinner only. The beach is very small but thats how st thomas is. They dont offer free extended checkout but just lie and say u checked out the room at 11 there is no way for them to tell lol.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MD

remodeling and was not advertised or told bout it

Posted Nov 30, 2014
remodeling which meant closed retaurants, loud contruction, and several other advertised things were not open.and was not advertised or told bout it. What was open was great though
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sugar Bay

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Good location. Staff is friendly. Great pool and beach access. Champagne on arrival. Two complaints- 1) Room was missing a hair dryer. Asked three times over two days and never got one. 2) Checkout is 11 o'clock. 12 o'clock seems more in line with what other hotels offer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So so..

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Average rating for all inclusive resort. Bathroom door was broken. Beach towels were stained. Japanese restaurant was superior with good food quality and sushi bar. Buffet meals were nothing to brag about but for all inclusive it was acceptable. Great place for free drinks. Resort beach was rather small. Elevators were vandalized.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Under Construction, Communication needs work.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Pool area, Breakfast Buffet that started after the first couple days, Food and drinks were good. Small casino fun.
Cons: Communication with guests when problems. Room cleanliness +stocking with towels, light bulbs, batteries in remotes. Bigger casino. Volleyball court
Location: Red hook had nice eating/drinking places - Duffy's, Melts. Coki Beach had nice sandy beach and beautiful water.
It is hard to overall rate disappointing since we had a good time with friends. The pools were nice, food and nightly entertainment not bad and most employees pleasant and attentive, but - We lost our air conditioning three days prior to leaving and although we asked about a fix or possible new room, we had someone come and take the panel for the air unit off the wall, then nothing. When calling the second day, someone who answered the phone said they would let us know what was happening and no message was left. The third day someone came over and said he heard we had a problem with our TV. As I laid on the bed watching TV, my wife indicated to him that our air conditioning was the problem. He looked at it and agreed it was not blowing cold air. Yes, that we knew. He indicated the air guy was gone for the day, but with one night left, we did not bother asking again about a different room - we could sweat it out one last night instead of re-packing up and moving everything. Without the air problem, I would rate Sugar Bay ok, considering it was under construction. The rooms were mostly clean. We had some dirt along the bathtub when we checked in. We lent my sister light bulbs from one of our lights, since she had none in her room, except in her the bathroom. We also did not get a full set on towels most days, could have used wash clothes and hand towels instead of just two large towels a couple days. The shuttle to parking lot and pool area was nice but mechanical issues 1 day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Great value and location

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: pool area, entertainment, location
Cons: Front desk service, housekeeping consistency,
Location: The local $2 bus comes right by the hotel. We were only a couple of stops from Red Hook and about 30 minutes from downtown.
Sugar Bay is currently undergoing a major renovation. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted warmly. I had called before arriving to request a renovated room (were were returning guests). When we got to our room this was not the case. Not only was our room not refurbished but our Bay view was of the parking lot. We returned to the front desk and they did make a change although that meant having a room with 2 double beds as opposed to the king bed we had booked. Housekeeping left much to be desired. One day we had no washcloths, another day no hand towels and one day no towels at all! Housekeeping was on ISLAND TIME. Now for the positive - You would be hardpressed to find a more beautiful pool area. The food in the main restaurant (by the pool this year) was EXCELLENT. There were lots of choices and most everything was outstanding. We tried several beef choices, chicken options, soups, salads and fish options. The service was good most evenings (we had to remember it was Island dining). The bar service was outstanding. If you have never had a Sugar Bay Bushwacker or other cocktail, you are missing one of life's great indulgences. The ladies at the bar really know how to mix a drink. We enjoyed the nightly entertainment. Kudos to Kendall and Gloria. The gym facilities are excellent as well. All in all a great vacation since most of our time was spent by the pool. We would definitely return. Hopefully Dreams won't raise the rates too much!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brighton, MI

Don't Consider Until Renovation is Complete

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: The oceanfront view was great. The food and drink quality was very good. The Japanese restaurant service was excellent. The pool area was beautiful
Cons: The restaurant service at the Mangrove is usually pretty bad. Crossed up orders, forgotten drinks, long delays in taking orders and delivery of them.
Location: Booked a sail on the Daydreamer, the catamaran based off the Sugar Bay beach. Outstanding sailing, snorkeling, swimming, food, drinks and FUN.
We booked several months ahead. A couple weeks before, we discovered that they had started renovation. Called hotel for details and decided to go ahead with stay. We were promised and received a renovated room. The floors were new, the doorwall to the balcony was new, the paint was new, the plumbing fixtures and sink counters were new, the ceiling fan was new. Not sure if A/C was new, but it worked fine. What was NOT renovated: the bathroom door that didn't close, the phone that didn't work, the shower light that didn't work, the shower curtain that was too short (causing water all over bathroom floor). Reported all of these the first day and weren't fixed when we checked out six days later. The phone repair guy worked on it an hour and left without fixing it. Other things not renovated, but more tolerable: the beach towels worn to point of being rags, functional but well battered furniture, and most of the restaurants (only two were open). We were on all-inclusive plan - the food and drinks were very good to excellent - but with four of six restaurants closed, the choices were limited. Only one was open for breakfast and lunch. Service at Mangrove restaurant was occasionally good, but usually horrible. Service at Japanese restaurant was excellent, as was Turtle Sports Bar and Pool Bar for drinks. Loved the ocean view from our room. Pool area was nice, but renovation still underway. Beach was OK - rocky bottom in the water was the downer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

all good

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms, helpful staff, great pool and beach
Cons: Improvements are underway. At this time.
Location: About 2 miles from Red Hook and ferry dock; a mile from Coral World.
Resort undergoing renovation-will be even nicer. Lots of up & down steps, nice beach, close to Red Hook area for dining & shopping. Great spa!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Great deal of renovation underway. If you can look past that you will not be disappointed! Will definitely go back to this resort. Great bang for your buck!