Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Vacationer from SoCal

One word describes this place…SMOKY!

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We made this reservation 8 weeks prior to visit because we needed a quick layover before our flight. When we checked in, we were greeted in the office by the smell of cigarettes. It smelled like an ashtray. The clerk was nice, but it was eye watering. We got to our room and both neighbors were smoking on their patio and it blew into our rooms. There was no way we were going to survive that, so we checked out and went to the Marriott. Marriott was only 30 bucks more and we had the whole resort. The place is close to the airport runway on a steep hillside in a poor section above ST. Thomas harbor, great view! NOTE: In the VI, this is considered a "guest house", not a hotel. The level of quality is way different between the two. We got the creeps because the floor was heavily slanted and being on a hillside it was disturbing. We spent 30 minutes in the place before ditching it. Ab.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

works on short notice

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was an unexpected stay because partner thought they booked a hotel but didn't so this hotel was available at the last moment. Well the term beggars can't be choosers holds true. Wonderful staff but what you come to expect from an island non chain hotel. I have no complaints but my bunkmate wasn't to thrilled.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by WhyBShy from Memphis TN

Very disappointed

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very shock to find a place like this on the website. You really should have a team of people to check out the services at all hotels posted under your sites. The following property needs remodeling and new management. I have pictures if needed. So disappointed because this was my first get away without my husband. I mad a BIG mistake choose SunSet Gardens
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich from MN

OK for short visit

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: The view
Cons: Lamps in the room. A new shower head.
This place is ok for short visits but not comfortable enough for longer ones. The view is tremendous but the rooms could use some work. There are only ceiling lights so it needs some lamps. The bedroom and bath are quite small and the shower head badly needs replacing but I was just there for two nights so I got along. So a few cosmetic improvements would help as I get the impression that the owners are trying to get by and not put any money into the place. I've stayed here twice now on business trips and at least this time the solar heat for the water had a back-up plan so I had hot showers in the morning. I will be looking for an alternative place for my next visit as I think I can find better value elsewhere. The manager is efficient and friendly so no problems there.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sue from Indiana

Nasty

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The overall rating of the hotel was very old and run down both inside the room and the property itself. The location of the property was in a very run down area. Not a real good impression of the island.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Donna-Marie Christian from Antigua.

My wonderful stay at Sunset Gardens.

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay very much. I loved that the Suites are close to the Airport. Thanks for having me. I really appreciated it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Prabodh Shah from Rochester, NY

Posted Feb 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
No running water in bathroom sink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by KMR from Ithaca, NY

As we expected, based on other reviews

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Debbie was very friendly, but the overall premises suffers from a lack of maintenance. It wouldn't take much effort to make some significant improvements in condition and cleanliness, though the most important areas, like the bathroom and beds, were clean. Comfortable, with nice views of the bay. Nothing within walking distance, so expect a taxi ride to get anywhere.