Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

verry bad staff

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: change most of the enplime exect santa and gib they at profesional
Cons: another bar in the lobby
Location: is ok bad is not close to enething
staff they beri bad people for this hotel 5 star they think and at berri unpersonality omly in the italian restaurant a person in the bar name is gib is at goog person the rest at the people here in the hotel work like 1 star hotel berri rrud people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2015
Had an amazing week at the ritz Carlton at Thomas. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: The food, beautiful grounds and terrific staff
Cons: The beach and pool is open 24 hrs a day but the pool bar was only open until 6. We would have loved sitting at either in the evening hrs
Location: The location feels remote. You had to take a cab to anywhere. This was the only drawback.
The food is terrific and the hotel staff amazing. The snorkeling trips are wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Queens, New York, NY

Resort Hotel with Great Service and Pretty Grounds

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Great views. Beautiful hotel grounds and buildings. Convenience of on site restaurants. Clean pools. Wont get bored here.
Cons: Make rooms more modern. Treat families with young babies more nicely. Felt we weren't welcome at the restaurants even though they were pretty casual.
Location: Since this is all the way on the east end of the island: Coki beach, Coral World, Magens beach is a must, Red Hook.
The service at this hotel is great, the best we received on the island. The staff is truly friendly and accommodating. Check in was disappointing because we had booked and paid for an ocean view but when we got there, they were "sold out due to a glitch in the system". We were given a $400 credit which is nice, but Im not sure it covered the difference in price between ocean view and garden view for three days. We have a creeping suspicion we were placed in garden view once they saw we had a baby with us because all of our neighbors had babies too... Aside from the initial disappointment, the room was nice: clean, updated and with some decent amenities. The bathroom was amazing. The actual room was less impressive. It was, in my opinion, mediocre for a five star hotel. It lacked the modernity and amenities you'd expect from a five star. The nespresso coffee machine was excellent, but the mini fridge barely kept our drinks cool and the bed lacked substance. The bed was so soft and flimsy, that you sunk right into it. The pillows were just down right feeble. They did provide a crib and toiletries for my baby, but the crib was not too useful for our young baby. Room service visits twice a day. The terrace was okay. What made this hotel for us was the hotel grounds and staff. The beach is small, but activities provided keep you busy. The pools are great and the convenience of restaurants on site are nice. Bleuwater did not live up to its hype. Our best meal was at Sails.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The staff went out of their way to be courteous and helpful.
Cons: Offer more casual dining options in the evening.
Location: We went to Red Hook for dinner, only a short cab ride from the hotel and offered several restaurants. We also took the ferry to St. John for dinner.
Great Vacation! The Ritz-Carlton was wonderful. We had everything we needed on the resort! The service was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Flowery Branch, GA

Wonderful views, great complimentary watersports

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Great views, great watersports, beautiful grounds,convenient to the ferry to St. John's Island (no passport required). Very comfy beds,AMAZING balcony
Cons: Waitstaff in restaurants could be warmer (smile, greet,etc). More music/live entertainment available. Maybe fire show on beach, bonfire, etc.
Location: Nicely located by Red Hook and Ferry to St. Johns. Can not walk to anything- but no resorts there really offer that with lay of island.Good snorkeling
Perfectly located next to Red Hook and the ferry to St John. MUST take the 20 minute ferry ride over to St. John to snorkel at their remote beaches and eat at their superior restaurants. Hotel was very comfortable and much prettier than the others on St. Thomas. The staff is mostly friendly, though the restaurant wait staff could be more helpful and smile more. The rest of the staff was over the top warm and inviting. GREAT watersports - all complimentary. Snorkles, windsurf, sail, kayak, paddle board- you name it, they have it and it's free. We had a great time. Much better than the other resorts there. We would definitely opt to stay at the Ritz again. If you have your passport, you can take the ferry to the British Virgin Islands, Tortola, etc. Fun short trip. The Ritz also has two yachts that you can charter out for snorkeling and/or a dinner cruise. Just wish St. Thomas offered things in walking distance, but there is no way with the hills of the island. Must taxi anywhere off resort you wish to go to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2015
I thought the policy of charging $20 extra to a guest who takes more than one exercise/yoga class per day was petty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Spendy but worth it!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Relaxing. Great service. Very nice resort. Incredibly easy to get transportation to other places. Food was expensive but it was very good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

tripped on step

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: lovely setting, staff; comfortable rooms
Cons: lighting on pathways and control of large groups (only two days while we were there--a 'reward trip' for a major company: staff tried hard to mitigate
broke ankle first night there: staff was very kind and accommodating. Enjoyed stay but didn't get to enjoy any of many resort options (snorkeling, sailing, etc etc)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Okla City, OK

Great Staff

Posted Mar 10, 2015
awesome customer service from housekeeping to pool towels staff to water activities staff. Very nice staff. would do anything for you to make you completely comfortable.