Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Ritz St Thomas

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Staff was great and bed was very comfortable
Cons: The price of food and beverage makes it a bit of a challenge staying there. Again, not unexpected prizing but does put a bit of a damper on the fun
Location: It was really easy to get into Red Hook where there are restaurants and bars. You can also catch the ferry from Red Hook to St Johns, etc.
Very nice hotel and bed was very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was good and pool beach was nice. Hotel is just a short cab ride to Red Hook to dine or catch a ferry. Only downside is food and beverages are expensive (but not beyond the expected when staying at a Ritz Carlton)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Posted Sep 20, 2014
The best hotel on the island by far. Gorgeous rooms, amazing staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Can't wait to go back

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Class and Service
Cons: The singers/band that was brought in a couple nights/week at the casual dining spot Sails were a bit dated. Better to have a dj or just reg. music
Location: We stayed on the resort the entire time...didn't need to leave!
We had a wonderful time at the hotel--we were so happy to find the calm and serene atmosphere. Adults who want to be away from the commotion can easily find quiet places to be alone and enjoy the surroundings. We enjoyed the tennis courts which were available even with last minute court reservations. The grounds were well kept and the staff were so pleasant. The pools were great..beach was a bit see weed heavy and not very large but we preferred the pools anyway. Our room was in one of the newly renovated buildings and we were able to enjoy beautifully appointed bathroom and bedroom and a sizable balcony. If there was one thing that really won us over it was the way the staff handled a little snafu with our room service--very minor issue, but it was handled with such class and thoughtfulness. The real star is Chef David who really showed us that the Ritz Carlton St. Thomas knows how to live lived up to the Ritz name. Looking forward to going back to this Ritz--or some other one in a different part of the world--sometime soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

The glorious views!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The rooms were quite large and the bathroom was very roomy and luxurious.
Cons: When watching television at night just before bedtime I would flip through the channels. I wish there was a guide listing.
Location: The location of the hotel itself was beautiful. It isn't close to any shops. A cab is required to go downtown shopping.
This was the second time I stayed here. The first time was approximately 3-4 years ago and was just as pleasant. The room I got for this trip had even better views of the beach which was a bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Texas

Tropical Paradise

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: We loved how comfortable the staff made us feel.
Cons: Providing a more personal experience. We were lucky to have a staff member take care of reservations and explain our options.
Location: The location is beautiful and there is plenty to do on the resort. We ventured over to St. John's which was a short Ferry ride.
What a great resort! There is something to do for the entire family. We were very impressed by the staff. They were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Our room was very spacious and overlooked the resort. The first day we were there we decided to go on a snorkeling adventure which was a great experience. We left out at 8:30am and returned by 4:30pm. My wife and I signed up for a sunset cruise on the Lady Lynsey the next day...well worth it! The restaurants were a bit pricey but the food was excellent! We rented a beach cabana two days in a row and just took in the breath taking view. We will be back very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Q from Memphis, TN

Beauty Defined

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Beautiful scenery Friendly staff
Location: Moderate temperature Lovely surroundings Boating Scuba diving Spas Delicious fresh food-serving restaurants
Everything was beautiful... the lobby, the rooms, the private beach, etc. The service was prompt, friendly, and top-notch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NC

great place for a quick getaway that doesn't a lot

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Staff and service View was amazing nice beach grounds were pretty
Cons: Maybe new chairs by the pool. the rooms seem dated,but the bathrooms look newly done and are nice.
Location: it is in a big cove so a great place to snorkel and play around on the boats and paddle boards they offer.
We were here for a wedding or else we wouldn't normally stay at st. thomas, but it was a good spot to base out of. The Ritz offers trips to st john and various other things and they have boats you can use as part of your resort fee. The pool was nice. It is all just a little dated. But the service was great in a ll areas. The people seem so happy that work there. The food is expensive but was very good. My quinoa burger was amazing! They have good exercise classes that come with your stay. We did yoga with Amy and water toning with Matthew.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wael from Sayej

We had one of our dream vacations at the Ritz

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Everything was amazing. We loved the hotel and resort so much, we didn't bother leaving it to visit other destinations not he island.
Cons: NONE
We planned this vacation to get away from stress and the long Northeast Winter. We expected great service at the Ritz and what we got was an amazing service and an amazing relaxing vacation. We did not have a single issue or complaints about the Ritz or it's staff. People were wonderful all around. The guests were friendly and we made friends every single day. The staff were super friendly and always willing to provide great service. Our 4 year old daughter wanted to stay and live at the Ritz. She is already asking when are we going back to the Ritz at St. Thomas. We will definitely visit this hotel again and other Ritz locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Travelers from Houston

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The visit was off to a rocky start with massive confusion and a lack of organization at check-in. However, the ladies there were friendly enough and we were greeted with a fruit punch drink. The property was very clean and well maintained. The atmosphere was very relaxing and personnel bent over backwards to assist in every way possible. We have decided that we will always stay here when we visit St. Thomas. Our only concern is with the food on property. It was terribly expensive, lacked adequate seasoning, and the quantities were VERY small. The best meal value is the breakfast buffet at Bluewater for $35 per person. Aside from that, I would advise that you save money by dining off prpperty. Try Cuzzin's, Gladys, Fish Tails, or The Fat Turtle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and excellent customer service!!!

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Our stay at The Ritz Carlton, St Thomas was one of the best vacations we had. We celebrated our anniversary and stayed at The Ritz for one week. The location was excellent. We especially loved the pool, the beach and the aquatic center. We tried kayak, paddle board, paddleboat and snorkelling. The customer service was superb! Everyone was a stellar employee from the bellman, the receptionist, the housekeepers ( u guys are awesome, room is always clean and cozy), the waiters and waitresses ( coconut cove, sails, bleuwater and gbl), the staff at the aquatic center and the lady lynsey.. Special thanks to the lady who made our anniversary extra special by giving us one full bottle Of champagne "on the house" and wilma at gbl for giving us a "congratulations" dessert when she learned that it was our wedding anniversary.. We will definitely come back again..