Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Casual stay with some rough edges

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The relaxing and comfortable atmosphere.
Cons: Shower water pressure. Better road access, and more walking paths.
Location: The major walkable location was Secret Harbor, but the hills make the distance seem farther. It was a nice beach with a good bar.
Pros: Spacious rooms, great breakfast, friendly and helpful caretaker! The rooms were always comfortable when we returned from the day's adventures. It's also close enough to walk to another resort for the beach and a good bar/restaurant. It really does feel like a "retreat" with the decor of the rooms and the common places. Cons: The road to get there is in disrepair, and also a fairly steep hill. Taxis didn't want to go directly there a lot of the time. It's not on the waterfront or even facing the water - it's actually close to a roadway (but not accessible by that road, which was irritating.) The shower, while spacious and beautiful, had terrible water pressure. A good steady shower is important to me, so I felt this deserved a mention in the "con" column.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lisafrom Fort Lauderdale, FL

Island life

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice B&B. Helen was very sweet and it is walking distance to a beautiful beach. Had a very nice relaxing trip and the breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

A great B&B with wonderful hosts

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Our hosts were knowledgeable and helpful with island information. The pastries each morning were the best!
Cons: The lobby and our room were quite stuffy each day and after walking back from town this was unpleasant. The breeze on the balcony was helpful.
Location: It is a quick walk to town to eat or to catch the ferry. Secret Harbor beach is within walking distance, but there are better beaches elsewhere.
We loved our stay at Two Sandals. Helen and Jun were wonderful hosts. They were very helpful with tips and ideas for activities on the island and never steered us wrong. The pastries each morning for breakfast were the best! Helen makes them from scratch and each day they are different. Yum! It was about a 10 minute walk to Red Hook for restaurants or to catch the ferry to St. John, which we did most days. (If you are not adventurous, you will want to get a taxi to town). You can also walk to a beach, Secret Harbor, in about 7 minutes although we found better beaches elsewhere. We enjoyed a wonderful breeze and the view of the marina each day. We highly recommend this B&B and hope to go back ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rajfrom Houston

Excellent hospitality

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the stay. Would definitely recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Malibu Room / May Stay

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: -breakfast -owner was very pleasant and friendly -room was clean
Cons: -bathroom -furniture -linens (need to be better quality) -iron the bed sheets -curtains
Location: -loud music until 10pm every night -hotel is overlooking a very busy street -good burger/beer bar at red hook
We booked the Malibu room through Expedia for 3 nights, owner of the inn, Helen, was very friendly and professional. She prepares very tasty breakfasts. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. This hotel will work for you if you do not care about details and just need a room to sleep at nights.. For us, the room did not meet our expectations based on the images provided by expedia.com. We picked this hotel thinking it's a certain quality and style... hence the not so great -Bathroom very old. Clean however nothing like that zen/clean design as it's presented -what is sold as an ocean view was blocked with a huge corner column which pretty much made ocean view very very partial -bathroom has a floor lamp and very rusty at the bottom and cable running through the bathroom... -shower curtain rings rusty -cables all around -furniture seemed to be from 2nd hand stores... some very worn out -one of the towels had a stain which the owner changed right away -curtain was very sheer, somewhat uncomfortable If you tend to go to sleep early and care about surroundings below will be an issue: -loud music until 10pm every night from across the street (if you like going to bed early this is perhaps not very good) -very busy street right in front of the hotel, noisy... -to get to the hotel you need to go through a not very nice drive way, lots of huge pot holes and forgotten cars on the side of the road etc... very nice owner but the room needs a lot of work
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by CH

Inexpensive, but for a reason

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was only there for a night, but it was eventful. First, the owners took down the road sign that indicated where the B&B was. Although we were calling them, they failed to tell us that the sign was down. Spent quite a while searching for the place. Plus, the road to the B&B was terrible. Couldn't believe we were actually on the right road until we spotted the inn. When we finally arrived, the air-conditioning was off in the common area and our room. It was very warm in both places. The owner turned on the air, but we couldn't stay in the room, so we had to go elsewhere until the room cooled down. The next morning, we were meeting with a caterer and, again the common area lacked sufficient air-conditioning. Although the owner was about, we had to ask for the ceiling fans to be turned on to offset the warmth. The breakfast was excellent. It was not a hot breakfast, but the scones and fruit were great.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Kathleenfrom Boston

St. Thomas

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Disappointing
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by David & Lizfrom North Myrtle Beach, SC

Great location

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Helen and Jun were very welcoming and helpful. Jun picked us up at the airport right on time! We had to catch an early morning ferry and we could not get a taxi to answer, so Helen ran us down to the Ferry dock at Red Hook. We walked into Red Hook for dinner the one night we were there. It is very close walk but a little tricky in one spot. We would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by E. Gordonfrom MN

Nice quiet location

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Short walking distance to Secret Harbour resort with great beach and restaurant.