Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Charles from Texas

Honored Guests in St. Thomas

Posted Mar 31, 2014
We had a great time at Villa Marbella. Leah and Gunnar treated us like honored guests. We were transported to and from the airport. The Mango Room was small but comfortable, so make certain you choose the appropriate room for your needs,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marilyn/Bob from Ohio

Fabulous Villa

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness, the location, the hosts, the quiet and privacy-everything we could awant.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close by to restaurants, shopping and sightseeing.
Hubby and I stayed for 11 days at this incredible gem of a Villa. The hosts Leah and Gunnar are not only two of the nicest hosts (without being intrusive) -and the accommodations were wonderful. We stayed in the Cruzan room and woke up to the ocean every day-and slept to the sounds of it every night. The room had a kitchenette that allowed us to make some meals there, which was also nice-in addition to having use of an outside grill to make steaks! The pool was beautiful and we never saw anyone there except for ourselves the entire time we were there. There was absolute privacy and no noise at all. The price was extremely reasonable for "high season" in St. Thomas. Every day the room was cleaned by Leah which was also a nice plus. There is a little hill that leads to a private beach for incredible snorkeling so take some good walking shoes. It is gorgeous! Marabella Suites are also close enough to everything that we needed-nice restaurants, and shopping (yes there are Kmarts not far from there either). We can't say enough good about this place or the hosts-and we will highly recommend it to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Connie

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The most gracious hosts and a beautiful property with a spectacular view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous views, private beach on St Thomas!

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Fantastic value! Views from rooms and pool are heavenly. There is even a private beach - very large and beautiful. We were attending a family wedding at the Marriott and decided to stay here, just a few minutes drive away. We loved the peace and quiet. I stayed in the smallest accomodation at Villa Marbella and for one person or close couple it was fine. Every other suite has views (not the Mango Room) and they are spectacular. Owners Leah and Gunner were so friendly and accomodating...picked us up and dropped us at airport. We were able to rent a great car from them for use on the island. Suites/rooms are complete with TV, kitchen facilities (coffee maker, fridge and hot plate or more depending on size of room). The best of all is the pool area...great views , relaxing, plenty of chairs, and umbrellas and floaties! Loved the private, gorgeous beach just a 10 minute walk from the Villa Marbella.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
this is a quaint little place but not the place to stay if you want a beach experience (which is usually why you go to an island right?). The description says a short walk to the beach but its more of a hike. Anyone with knee problems or any type of injuries, this definitely isn't the place to stay. It is also hard for taxis to find so you have to walk a descent distance (which again, if you have any health problems its very steep and won't be easy) or you could rent a car if driving on the left side doesn't bother you. We stayed in the mango room which was very small but that didn't matter because we spent most of our time away from the suites. Although the location was sub par the owners were very nice and helped a lot in helping us find things to do
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve M from Dallas

Highly recommended

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
We very much enjoyed our stay here. It's a great location, away from the hustle and bustle, and so much better than staying at a large resort. As others have said, it's more like staying with a friend. Leah and Gunnar are very friendly and extremely helpful. We stayed in the Mango room, which definitely fits the definition of "cozy", but it was very nice. They thought of *everything* in the room, including every kitchen utensil you could need, a personal bug zapper, and a Keurig coffee machine. We also loved the refreshing pool and the patio, which was perfect for relaxing and watching the sun set. I also appreciated the free Wifi, the honor fridge, and the free use of snorkeling gear. I would recommend renting a car from them as well, as the rate includes airport transfers. Be aware - the Mango room uses a futon mattress (so it can fold up and create more room), and we had a hard time getting comfortable on it. A mattress topper would be an awesome addition, in our opinion. Your mileage may vary :) All in all - highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel!

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: We loved the Beach that was walking distance. On most days we had the beach to ourselves. Awesome!
Cons: Having a place to wash our sandy feet off before going into the room, and a better bed, our backs was hurting after the 2nd day.
Location: It was a great location. We traveled the whole island, by renting a Jeep from the owners of the Villa.
Our Trip was August 17, 2013 to August 24, 2013. We had a GREAT time! Awesome view from the Villa. Would recommend this hotel to Everyone. We had a GREAT time. The only draw back is Time went by so fast, our 7 days was over in what seemed to be a blink of an eye. Thanks for an Amazing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice great host and hostess

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Everything. Not a hotel very personal
Location: Beach , eat , snorkel , dive
Great place to stay very very clean. Little walk to the beach but well worth it. Leah and Gunnar are amazing host. Place was clean stayed clean. I will be back to visit them and will tell all my friends where to go stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amber

Fantastic place!!!!

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, view, pool, owners, beach, easiness
My husband and I had a fantastic time! Leah and Gunnar are fantastic hosts! Everything was very clean and nice! Our suite was cozy and had a fantastic view. It felt like home away from home! My husband and I were here to relax And that's just what we did! I'm pregnant and didn't have the energy to go run all over The island and it was a perfect place to relax. I had my tea every morning out by the pool. We went down on the beach almost everyday. Was a 10 minute hike so bring tennis shoes but Well worth the hike. There was hardly anyone on the beach and when there was someone they were Way down the beach! I would recommend renting a jeep from them also. Roads are kinda rough but you get used to driving on the Left side pretty fast. It's a 5 minute drive into town. There are grocery stores and Leah provides just enough stuff (microwave, fridge, cook top, toaster, coffee maker) that you can snack and eat simple meals without us women having to cook on vacation. We ate breakfast and lunch in and dinner out. Food can be kinda pricey at restaurants. I'm definitely going back as soon as I can get a babysitter!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sweet place, room choice important

Posted Jun 25, 2013
We loved Villa Marbella, we loved the view, we loved Leah, and we loved that we could take a trail to the beach. Our only complaint was that we had no idea that the room we had booked only came with a futon, not a real bed. It was not the most restful night's sleep and we would not have chosen that room if we had known a bed would not come with it. Everything else was great. Leah was always helpful to point us to a good restaurant or snap a photo for us! We would use Villa Marbella again if we return to St Thomas, we would just not stay in the Mango Room.