Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Like a home away from home...

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Our hosts Leah and Gunner were the best!
Location: The location is a little off the main road but pretty easy to get to. Rent a car from Leah and Gunner if you plan to explore the island(s).
Villa Marbella is a beautiful establishment atop a cliff with beautiful views of the mountain side and ocean. If you want to get far away from crowds, cruise passengers, and little children, Villa Marbella is the only way to go. My significant other and I stayed in the Cruzan room which had a private entrance with a patio and gorgeous view of the ocean. The room has your basic home amenities e.g. kitchenette, dining area, refrigerator, bathroom, TV with cable, DVD player, and a bedroom with windows to the ocean. Our room was also stocked with beach chairs, beach towels, beach umbrellas, flashlight, bug spray, binoculars, sunscreen, bug zappers, basic toiletries, and a safe to lock up those items you want to stowaway. Additionally, the owners have their own fleet of cars that you could rent right from them and no one can beat their prices for the quality of vehicles. If you're looking for immediate access to the beach, there is a quiet beach about a 10 minute walk down the hill from the Villa. It's definitely a journey back up the hill to the Villa but it's worth it; plus, it's a great way to get in exercise while vacationing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from slovakia

The best place, best people, best vacation!!!

Posted Aug 9, 2014
I and my mom loved Villa Marbella, we loved the view, we loved Leah, Gunnar and their 3 lovely dogs. Villa Marbella is wonderful and very clean place with the trail to very nice beach. Leah and Gunnar was always helpful. Leah picked-up us at the airport and dropped off in the airport. They were always there if we needed anything. We were not sure if need the car for all our stay and Leah just let us decided during the stay what days we want the car which was super sweet from her!!! I can hard recommend to rent a car because the island is so nice and each part is different and than for sure i will recommend to visit St. John as well so for all of this is important to have a car. The host provide a beach chairs and all staff needed for snorkeling so you don't need to rent it on the beach. I could say that villa Marbella suits was for me the best choice and if visiting the island again ( we are from Europe- which is little bit harder to get to the island) we would without question stay with them!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

A perfect, relaxing get away

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: We liked everything about this hotel - especially that it was not a traditional hotel.
Location: Beaches, beaches, beaches!
We loved staying at Villa Marbella while celebrating our 20th Anniversary. It was a quiet, small villa which allowed us to relax and enjoy St. Thomas. Leah and Gunner were hospitable and helped us navigate the ins and outs of island life in St. Thomas for the week we stayed with them. We loved the dogs they have. The beaches were amazing. We were able to walk to a secluded cove from the hotel and also walk to Bluebeards Beach Club for people watching and the pool bar. It was a perfect hotel for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from Chicago, IL

Great people, great view, great price!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Price, great staff, beautiful view
Cons: Bed/futon in Mango room wasn't very comfortable, but was space efficient at least.
Location: The island is small, so there was plenty near by! I would *highly* recommend renting a car, however.
We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Marbella. Leah and Gunnar were very accommodating and make everything very easy for our first stay on the island. I loved the location - great views! The only reason why Marbella didn't get 5 stars across the board was because our room (Mango Room) was smaller than we anticipated. It worked well enough for our needs, however the bed wasn't terribly comfortable. Other than that - we had a great time, the price was right, and we'd definitely stay there again (just maybe in one of the other rooms)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Louisiana

Perfect for a couples get away!!

Posted May 30, 2014
Was very happy with my experience. Wonderful place. Perfect place to get away. Staff very accommodating. It was so quiet and pleasant. Felt so safe. So much so i forgot to lock up before we left every thing was fine when we returned 3 hours later. Hope we can get back there soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fall River, MA

Great Hospitality

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: The owners are the nicest people, incredibly helpful.
Location: Up in the hills so not directly on the beach, but very quiet and incredible views. With a car, you can get around no problem.
I had a great stay at Villa Marbella Suites. Traveling alone, I was a bit nervous about getting out and about, finding my way around the island. Leah and Gunnar went above an beyond to help me get around with maps and recommending the best beaches, restaurants and markets. The room itself was very clean and had everything I could need, including a mini fridge, microwave toaster, hot plate, etc. With the Villa being located up on a hill, the views were amazing and it was so quiet and peaceful. This was definitely a factor in making my St. Thomas vacation so wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Unoman from Chicago

More like a Bed & Breakfast minus the breakfast

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is conveniently located - within miles of downtown St. Thomas. it is perched on a hill with a great view of the ocean. The room was more like a suite - with a separate kitchenette. Room service is basic - just making the bed.....towels are not changed daily, neither are the bed-sheets. No breakfast is provided - one has to make it oneself, so get the necessary provisions the day you arrive. The owners are very friendly and live on the premises - they are very helpful in providing maps and directions...the hotel does had a pool (which I didn't use given that going to St. Thomas is to dive into the ocean) - it is best to rent a car if you are staying there for more than a couple of days. Amenities in the room are basic - a small TV, no internet, small fridge and fans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Charles from Texas

Honored Guests in St. Thomas

Posted Mar 31, 2014
We had a great time at Villa Marbella. Leah and Gunnar treated us like honored guests. We were transported to and from the airport. The Mango Room was small but comfortable, so make certain you choose the appropriate room for your needs,
4 out of 5
Recommended
by St Thomas Veteran from Sterling Hts, MI

Great hilltop views!

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hilltop villa with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea and surrounding mountainside neighborhood. Our gracious hosts made sure we had everything we needed to feel comfortable and welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Taylor

Great View, Wonderful Hosts

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Villa Marbella is a gem on St. Thomas. It almost seems like a home away from home. The staff (also the homeowners) are very friendly and welcoming. Unbelievable view from the pool deck. The house/hotel is in a nice neighborhood and is convenient to Havensight/Downtown. Red Hook is a bit of a drive. When your on island, that doesn't really matter since the driving is a new adventure every time! If your staying at Marbella, do yourself a favor and rent a car... A rental car is essential here and the staff has several rental cars available for you right from their driveway. Great place to stay if your looking for a non-tourist filled hotel getaway.