Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Quinn from Erie, PA

Wonderful :)

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Beautiful island and beautiful accommodations :) provides everything you need for a relaxing vacation, close to nature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cabin was awesome!!!!!!!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
The campground staff were very welcoming, friendly and accomadating, hope to visit again very soon!!!!!!! Loved it!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolyn from New York City, NY

Wish I was still there!

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Warm breezes and warm hospitality. This is a great place to relax in a beautiful setting. Lovely cottages, well maintained. Enjoyed meeting other guests in communal kitchen area. Short walk to incredible beach with two good food vendors on either end of beach. Great recommendation from Deb and Paul for snorkelling/sail trip. Had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Option in Virgin Islands

Posted Dec 29, 2013
I've never left a comment about a hotel stay, but it is so hard to find an alternative to overstimulating and crowded and too expensive places in the virgin islands. If you enjoy doing your own cooking, if you understand this is more like a camping experience than a hotel or B&B, and if you want some peace but you are not a millionaire, the Virgin Islands Campground may be your only option. Give it a try.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nikki and Peter

Welcome to paradise

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Deborah and Paul were great and so friendly! We liked how relaxed it was
Location: perfect location. Honeymoon beach is close, snorkelling, rum!
We would highly recommend the Virgin Islands Campground as we were incredibly impressed with our stay. To begin with, the location is perfect. Water Island has only 182 residents (not all permanent), so as you can imagine, the island is quiet, peaceful and extremely laid back. Honeymoon beach is a 5 minute walk from the camp ground, with brilliant local food, amazing company and a stunning beach. You can also get the small ferry over to St Thomas, which is extremely cheap, convenient and runs often. As for the camp ground itself, we were very impressed with everything. Paul met us from the ferry and drove us up to the camp ground, where Deborah greeted us with rum punch and gave us a tour of the grounds. The cottages are beautiful and comfortable. The camp ground itself is very peaceful and there is plenty of privacy. However, the pavilion with cooking facilities is a great place to meet others staying at the camp ground. We paired up with another couple to go snorkelling with Karl, who is advertised in the welcome book you receive on arrival. We highly recommend his trip, especially if you're hoping to see turtles! If you're hoping for s relaxing getaway, then this is a perfect trip for you. Make sure you have plenty of bug spray and sun cream and you'll have a fantastic time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mom & Pop Campground Facility in Isolated Paradise

Posted Jun 15, 2013
Pros: On the ground, surrounding our tent, were red flower petals that had fallen off the trees. Behind our tent, several turtles crawled around.
Location: Honeymoon Beach is where locals go to escape the crowds. There were times when my family had the beach to ourselves.
When Paul picked us up from the ferry in his friendly down to earth nature it was as if we were visiting an uncle. He helped us carry in our lugage and his wife Deborah greeted us with rum punch. The entire facility is built upon their own property in which they themselves live in their own home. There's a breezy outdoor cooking facility for campers with a gorgeous view of the ocean complete with two large refrigerators, a grill, and a coleman burner. Connected to the outdoor kitchen is the bathouse containing two flushable toilets, two private showers, and two sinks with running water. Paul would take us to and from the ferry in his truck when needed, and would even help us carry groceries. I never felt any kind of awkwardness sharing the bathhouse or kitchen with the other campers. In fact, it turned out to be rather fun. At night we would hear the pleasant sounds of insects and animals that would slowly lull us to sleep. The steady breeze kept us cool and I never felt hot. If you've never gone camping, you should consider staying elesewhere. The showers were not always hot, which did not bother me-it was the carribean. No matter how much bug spray we used, we still got bit. There was evidence that some cute little lizards were visiting our hut when we were gone during the day. And yes-we did see some bugs in our tent. Although the other campers had never seen a single insect in their tents-just us.
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Mom and Pop at your service!!! Thanks so much for the detailed account of your experience here on Water Island and the Virgin Islands Campground. These reviews mean so much to us. Sincerely, Deborah and Paul
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sandra from San Diego

Sublime eco-camping experience

Posted Apr 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved every minute. The owners are incredibly helpful and friendly. This is eco-friendly cabin camping. The campground is scrupulously maintained, comfortable and well equipped, and the location is stunningly beautiful. Water Island is a gem, and close enough to St Thomas to commute at will. St John is also within easy range for day trips. Honeymoon Beach is beautiful and clean, perfect for swimming orkicking back and enjoying a beach cocktail, and has decent snorkeling too. Heidi, a former chef, serves delicious beach food that will please kids and foodies alike.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi, TX, USA

Amazing

Posted Apr 8, 2013
Pros: breeze... sunrise... sunset
Cons: nothing
Location: tree tops!!!
Out of this world!!!!!!! When I booked the trip I was looking for a vacation... away from all of the fast pace that fills are lives. I got the best sleep... with the stars and the costal breeze cutting across the sheets. We met some really cool people daily at the pavilion as well as Joes and to be honest we left water island very little!!! We did end up renting a golf cart because it takes a true trooper to explore the entire island on foot... all up hill. Snorkeling was amazing and we went out on a half day fishing and snorkeling with ...Tribal-Daysails .. my husband and I had the fight of our life with the Caribbean barracuda. The nature was wonderful... and it was truly priceless!!!!
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review...as you know we are tiny and reviews are our best advertising...thank you Please come back and see us. Sincerely, Deborah and Paul