Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Camping without the downsides of camping!

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness and closeness to nature.
Cons: Island is accessed by a ferry which stops around 6pm making it hard to go out if you're looking for stuff to do at night.
Location: Heidi's at Honeymoon beach for food (fish tacos!). Explore Fort Segurra and do some snorkeling (early to see sea turtles!)
Virgin Islands Campground was great! Deborah greeted us with rum punch and Sean showed us around the grounds (shared bathroom and kitchen). Our cabin was perfect! Clean, private, with beach towels, bath towels, fresh linens and flowers. The toilets are a little to get used to but the campground is very eco-friendly and again, very clean and well maintained! Shampoo, conditioner and shower gel are provided too! Kitchen is a great place to interact with the other guests, everyone staying there while we were were super friendly and respectful of food, space and privacy. Water Island itself is not for everyone but it is EXACTLY what I was looking for- a quiet peaceful place to kick back in nature- lay on the beach, do some snorkeling, explore the grounds, eat some amazing fish tacos at Heidi's and go to bed early. 5 days here and I feel totally energized and at peace!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Craig from Boston, Ma

Great place for a quiet vacation

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: It was relaxing, nice and quiet while still having an open social atmosphere if you want it. There's no front desk or corporate-y feeling to it.
Cons: The showers are cold and you have to keep pulling on a string to keep it flowing. Kitchen area could use a microwave.
Location: Do: Find Jeff near Dingy's, ask about sailing/snorkling Go to St John on one day Get a fish taco from Heidi's Don't: Go ziplining
We went here for our honeymoon, and decided on water island and this campground in particular because we wanted to avoid the crowd and have a quiet, relaxing vacation. It was what we hoped for. The main honeymoon beach is fantastic and easily in walking distance. The rooms are screened to let the breeze come through and help keep you cool while keeping any bugs out. There's privacy curtains which is convenient for honeymooners or couples. :) There's a shared bathroom and a (covered) outdoor kitchen area with a picnic bench that adds a social element to it. We met some nice couples we ended up hanging out with. There's a hot tub that we used a few nights out of the week we stayed that was nice and relaxing. The administrator of the campground, Sean, is very nice, responds to any issues quickly, and even set us up with a 7 lb lobster on our last day! Check with the locals for tips on fun things to do. We went on a sail/snorkling venture with a guy named Jeff on the beach that works at Dingy's. That was great and we got to swim with the turtles and saw a small shark, a barracuda, hundreds of colorful fish along the reef. You can also rent a golf cart relatively cheaply and go exploring around the island. If you're staying for at least a few days make your way to St John on one of them. We spent a day there, rented a motorcycle and cruised around stopping at beaches and taking lots of pictures. That was def fun it's so beautiful there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Machi from Boston, MA

The best of USVI, which BTW is boring as hell

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Close to nature and comfy & clean. This place is a complex of a few bungalows. Some of them share showers/toilets. No A/C, no glass in the windows.
Cons: Jacuzzi was so chlorinated (?) that I could not stand it for a minute. The internet was poor but only an idiot would bring a computer there, right?
Location: Very picturesque location. We did some snorkeling (rental: $15 per stay per person) and walking - but not much as the other beaches are horrible.
USVI are indeed boring as hell. There is practically no culture. Just fancy yachts, great nature, great climate...the only entertainment is so gringo...Fly so far to hear a rock band...? Being offered a $15 lift for 1 mile by any passing by car is tiring already after the second time... After the third day I was wondering how are we going to go through another three...but - it was GREAT :oD In my opinion if you want to experience the nature 24h per day - the Campground is the only place. You can hear the ocean, bugs, birds, wind...so cool! Even American food tastes great in this place. The air (oxygen?), the wind, the swimming truly revitalizes. BTW. There were three of us - me, my wife and our 7 months old baby. We did not rent a cart, neither bikes.Walking was fine - doing groceries a little tough, but bearable. There is practically one beach (for such a family - in a walking distance etc). Thus going there everyday gets a little boring. But sea turtles make up for it :o} We got some bug-bites. But the staff gave us "Off" and it solved the problem. Just do it right away - don't play tough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Quinn from Erie, PA

Wonderful :)

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Beautiful island and beautiful accommodations :) provides everything you need for a relaxing vacation, close to nature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cabin was awesome!!!!!!!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
The campground staff were very welcoming, friendly and accomadating, hope to visit again very soon!!!!!!! Loved it!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolyn from New York City, NY

Wish I was still there!

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Warm breezes and warm hospitality. This is a great place to relax in a beautiful setting. Lovely cottages, well maintained. Enjoyed meeting other guests in communal kitchen area. Short walk to incredible beach with two good food vendors on either end of beach. Great recommendation from Deb and Paul for snorkelling/sail trip. Had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Option in Virgin Islands

Posted Dec 29, 2013
I've never left a comment about a hotel stay, but it is so hard to find an alternative to overstimulating and crowded and too expensive places in the virgin islands. If you enjoy doing your own cooking, if you understand this is more like a camping experience than a hotel or B&B, and if you want some peace but you are not a millionaire, the Virgin Islands Campground may be your only option. Give it a try.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Deborah and Paul, Hotel Management
Holy Smokes!! I had no idea someone wrote a reivew on Expedia....thank you so much...LOVE your review and sorry it has taken me so long to respond. I guess better late than not at all. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nikki and Peter

Welcome to paradise

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: Deborah and Paul were great and so friendly! We liked how relaxed it was
Location: perfect location. Honeymoon beach is close, snorkelling, rum!
We would highly recommend the Virgin Islands Campground as we were incredibly impressed with our stay. To begin with, the location is perfect. Water Island has only 182 residents (not all permanent), so as you can imagine, the island is quiet, peaceful and extremely laid back. Honeymoon beach is a 5 minute walk from the camp ground, with brilliant local food, amazing company and a stunning beach. You can also get the small ferry over to St Thomas, which is extremely cheap, convenient and runs often. As for the camp ground itself, we were very impressed with everything. Paul met us from the ferry and drove us up to the camp ground, where Deborah greeted us with rum punch and gave us a tour of the grounds. The cottages are beautiful and comfortable. The camp ground itself is very peaceful and there is plenty of privacy. However, the pavilion with cooking facilities is a great place to meet others staying at the camp ground. We paired up with another couple to go snorkelling with Karl, who is advertised in the welcome book you receive on arrival. We highly recommend his trip, especially if you're hoping to see turtles! If you're hoping for s relaxing getaway, then this is a perfect trip for you. Make sure you have plenty of bug spray and sun cream and you'll have a fantastic time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Deborah and Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Nikki and Peter, Thanks you so much for your beautiful review...I had no idea you had written one....just brought to my attention by Expedia...and we do need these for expedia...we only have two!! Looking forward to your return visit Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mom & Pop Campground Facility in Isolated Paradise

Posted Jun 15, 2013
Pros: On the ground, surrounding our tent, were red flower petals that had fallen off the trees. Behind our tent, several turtles crawled around.
Location: Honeymoon Beach is where locals go to escape the crowds. There were times when my family had the beach to ourselves.
When Paul picked us up from the ferry in his friendly down to earth nature it was as if we were visiting an uncle. He helped us carry in our lugage and his wife Deborah greeted us with rum punch. The entire facility is built upon their own property in which they themselves live in their own home. There's a breezy outdoor cooking facility for campers with a gorgeous view of the ocean complete with two large refrigerators, a grill, and a coleman burner. Connected to the outdoor kitchen is the bathouse containing two flushable toilets, two private showers, and two sinks with running water. Paul would take us to and from the ferry in his truck when needed, and would even help us carry groceries. I never felt any kind of awkwardness sharing the bathhouse or kitchen with the other campers. In fact, it turned out to be rather fun. At night we would hear the pleasant sounds of insects and animals that would slowly lull us to sleep. The steady breeze kept us cool and I never felt hot. If you've never gone camping, you should consider staying elesewhere. The showers were not always hot, which did not bother me-it was the carribean. No matter how much bug spray we used, we still got bit. There was evidence that some cute little lizards were visiting our hut when we were gone during the day. And yes-we did see some bugs in our tent. Although the other campers had never seen a single insect in their tents-just us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2014
Mom and Pop at your service!!! Thanks so much for the detailed account of your experience here on Water Island and the Virgin Islands Campground. These reviews mean so much to us. Sincerely, Deborah and Paul
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sandra from San Diego

Sublime eco-camping experience

Posted Apr 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved every minute. The owners are incredibly helpful and friendly. This is eco-friendly cabin camping. The campground is scrupulously maintained, comfortable and well equipped, and the location is stunningly beautiful. Water Island is a gem, and close enough to St Thomas to commute at will. St John is also within easy range for day trips. Honeymoon Beach is beautiful and clean, perfect for swimming orkicking back and enjoying a beach cocktail, and has decent snorkeling too. Heidi, a former chef, serves delicious beach food that will please kids and foodies alike.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2013 by Deborah and Paul, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. It means so much to us, especially since we are new the Expedia and Hotels.com, we have so very few reviews. Thanks you Thank you!! Please do come back to see us. Sincerely, Deborah and Paul