Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Lovely campground with a great view of the ocean!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Quiet simple beauty
I went alone and found it a lovely place to go and have community and quiet time! The owners were very helpful and kind!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Water Island campground US VI

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Friendly… Peaceful… Welcoming… Relaxing We hope to return ...just the right amount of vacationing visitors and things to do. The more secluded the better. Might I suggest a raised walking path from the lower cabins up to the communal area…driveway very very steep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Great eco camp site

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Its Eco which is great for the environment also very quiet
Cons: nothing
Location: Honeymoon beach is a great beach sandy clear water, hiking and biking
Paul and Debbie are great hosts lots of info before and when you arrive and great location all rooms have sea view, and a great experience to sit and have breakfast with an amazing view
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by Deborah and Paul, Hotel Management
Lee and Antoni, Thanks for much for all your reviews...much appreciated that you took the time. I just figured out how to write reviews on Expedia, so you're my first owner response...Do come and see us again Sincerely, Deb and Paul
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Mississippi

Beach-Island Getaway

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The Campground was clean, but be prepared if you live on flat ground you may want to do some leg workout prior, as everything is up hill (bathrooms, k
Cons: Clean towels and sheets
Location: Paradise
It cold rainy morning here and I’m dreaming of our wonderful vacation on warm sunny Water Island just a week ago. I thought since I can’t do much here I would set and finally write my reviews of the Campground. This trip was for our 15 year Anniversary in which we were celebrating our” first Honeymoon to Honeymoon beach”. It was the first trip without our three kids, so you can say it was way overdue. The first day of arrival was rocky, since we missed our flight from New Orleans, due to the lovely, but friendly TSA. I immediately contacted Sean, and informed him our flight was to arrive at 10:30 p.m., missing the last Ferry to Water Island. Sean insured that we would make it to the Island that night by arranging a boat to pick us up at the Marina. And he reassured me that he would meet us at the dock to pick us up no matter how late we arrived. When we arrived it was night but I could tell this was Paradise, the Taxi from the airport to the Marina was overpriced, I recommend trying to prearrange pick up from the airport just like we did when we left. It saved us $20.00 to prearrange. Gypsy Taxis are overpriced and take advantage of tourist. Once we arrive to Water Island, Sean was there just as he promised to pick up us up. His generosity was one of the best parts of the Campground atmosphere. Sean was helpful and even arranged for us a Sailboat trip to Buck Island, and lobster dinner, which he took some burns why boiling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Beautiful cabins with breathtaking views!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The breathtaking views in close proximity to two gorgeous beaches, each offering something unique.
Cons: Nothing. It's perfect!
Location: As we said, it's just a few minutes walk to two beaches. We particularly enjoyed Dinghy's bar and grill located on Honeymoon Beach.
Far better than we ever could have imagined, Virgin Islands campgrounds delivers in every possible way. Sean picked us up from the dock and was very friendly and accommodating. He told us everything we needed to know about the islands.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Caribbean

Great for getting away from it all

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Owners, guests, & locals were all very friendly, helpful, sociable.
Cons: For those who are eco-friendly, & want to rough it & get away from it all, this place needs no improvement.
Location: Tour the island ($40 & 3 hours on a golf cart). Snorkel at Limestone Bay. Enjoy lounging, swimming, eating, & drinking at beautiful Honeymoon beach
We stayed in the only suite at Virgin Island Campground. It was really nice, with fridge, sink, microwave, shower, PC, WIFI, but no A/C. The other units are basically wooden tents with screens & a bed. Very picturesque, peaceful, & secure. The common area or pavilion serves all guests & includes fridge, icemaker, cooktop, BBQ pit, microwave, tables, chairs. Small Water Island has no grocery stores, no gas stations, no stores AT ALL. There are a couple food trailer joints on the one INCREDIBLE beach (Honeymoon). They serve drinks, great food, & provide tables, chairs, beach loungers, & a band on Saturday night. There are also a couple of golf cart rentals that work out of the parking lot by the ferry dock. There are also LOTS of mosquitoes. Much of the island is off limits, so that leaves about 1/2 square mile. The locals are very friendly & will stop to offer you a ride in their pickup or golf cart. In your luggage, pack LOTS of mosquito repellent, food, drinks, whatever you can, because.,, If you want to eat out at a nice restaurant, or buy groceries/drinks/supplies, or do laundry, or catch the dive boat, you will pay a $10/person round-trip ferry ride to Crown Bay on St Thomas. The ferry runs frequently from 6 AM to 6 PM. If you want to rent a car to see St Thomas, leave early, pay the ferry, taxi, & car rental fees, & be back at ferry before 6 PM. We should have done more research because, if you really want to see St Thomas (which we did), stay on St Thomas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Camping without the downsides of camping!

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness and closeness to nature.
Cons: Island is accessed by a ferry which stops around 6pm making it hard to go out if you're looking for stuff to do at night.
Location: Heidi's at Honeymoon beach for food (fish tacos!). Explore Fort Segurra and do some snorkeling (early to see sea turtles!)
Virgin Islands Campground was great! Deborah greeted us with rum punch and Sean showed us around the grounds (shared bathroom and kitchen). Our cabin was perfect! Clean, private, with beach towels, bath towels, fresh linens and flowers. The toilets are a little to get used to but the campground is very eco-friendly and again, very clean and well maintained! Shampoo, conditioner and shower gel are provided too! Kitchen is a great place to interact with the other guests, everyone staying there while we were were super friendly and respectful of food, space and privacy. Water Island itself is not for everyone but it is EXACTLY what I was looking for- a quiet peaceful place to kick back in nature- lay on the beach, do some snorkeling, explore the grounds, eat some amazing fish tacos at Heidi's and go to bed early. 5 days here and I feel totally energized and at peace!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Craigfrom Boston, Ma

Great place for a quiet vacation

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: It was relaxing, nice and quiet while still having an open social atmosphere if you want it. There's no front desk or corporate-y feeling to it.
Cons: The showers are cold and you have to keep pulling on a string to keep it flowing. Kitchen area could use a microwave.
Location: Do: Find Jeff near Dingy's, ask about sailing/snorkling Go to St John on one day Get a fish taco from Heidi's Don't: Go ziplining
We went here for our honeymoon, and decided on water island and this campground in particular because we wanted to avoid the crowd and have a quiet, relaxing vacation. It was what we hoped for. The main honeymoon beach is fantastic and easily in walking distance. The rooms are screened to let the breeze come through and help keep you cool while keeping any bugs out. There's privacy curtains which is convenient for honeymooners or couples. :) There's a shared bathroom and a (covered) outdoor kitchen area with a picnic bench that adds a social element to it. We met some nice couples we ended up hanging out with. There's a hot tub that we used a few nights out of the week we stayed that was nice and relaxing. The administrator of the campground, Sean, is very nice, responds to any issues quickly, and even set us up with a 7 lb lobster on our last day! Check with the locals for tips on fun things to do. We went on a sail/snorkling venture with a guy named Jeff on the beach that works at Dingy's. That was great and we got to swim with the turtles and saw a small shark, a barracuda, hundreds of colorful fish along the reef. You can also rent a golf cart relatively cheaply and go exploring around the island. If you're staying for at least a few days make your way to St John on one of them. We spent a day there, rented a motorcycle and cruised around stopping at beaches and taking lots of pictures. That was def fun it's so beautiful there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave and Krisfrom Baltimore

secluded but friendly

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
wonderful location with a fantastic view in secluded, yet easy to reach cabins. best campground amenities i have ever seen with a wonderfully helpful and informative staff. pretty amazing getaway or home base for those looking to explore the virgin islands without the hassle of running into cruise ship tourists.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Machifrom Boston, MA

The best of USVI, which BTW is boring as hell

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Close to nature and comfy & clean. This place is a complex of a few bungalows. Some of them share showers/toilets. No A/C, no glass in the windows.
Cons: Jacuzzi was so chlorinated (?) that I could not stand it for a minute. The internet was poor but only an idiot would bring a computer there, right?
Location: Very picturesque location. We did some snorkeling (rental: $15 per stay per person) and walking - but not much as the other beaches are horrible.
USVI are indeed boring as hell. There is practically no culture. Just fancy yachts, great nature, great climate...the only entertainment is so gringo...Fly so far to hear a rock band...? Being offered a $15 lift for 1 mile by any passing by car is tiring already after the second time... After the third day I was wondering how are we going to go through another three...but - it was GREAT :oD In my opinion if you want to experience the nature 24h per day - the Campground is the only place. You can hear the ocean, bugs, birds, wind...so cool! Even American food tastes great in this place. The air (oxygen?), the wind, the swimming truly revitalizes. BTW. There were three of us - me, my wife and our 7 months old baby. We did not rent a cart, neither bikes.Walking was fine - doing groceries a little tough, but bearable. There is practically one beach (for such a family - in a walking distance etc). Thus going there everyday gets a little boring. But sea turtles make up for it :o} We got some bug-bites. But the staff gave us "Off" and it solved the problem. Just do it right away - don't play tough.