Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Surprisingly okay

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Value - in St. Thomas you'll find it hard to beat the quality/price.
Cons: Broader breakfast selection - yogurt, cereals should be available.
Location: Across the main street from the main harbor. Pay extra for the harbor view, otherwise no useful view. Very good Green House restaurant nearby.
Tropical storm Bertha caused a lot of folks to find a last minute play to stay. We all had left week or so of beaches and beautiful water and were worried about an 'airport hotel' experience. Well, we didn't get the beach, but I paid the extra cost for the view of the harbor - which isn't bad. Whole family said they were relieved - the room was big enough, clean, comfortable beds (doubles so we got closer than we usually do, but hey..). Staff tried to assist in all of our requests. Breakfast wasn't too expensive (2 eggs, bacon, toast for ~$11). Gift shop wasn't open on a Monday, so that was strange, but we were given water bottles. They really try to make this hotel special and in general, they succeeded in getting a very serviceable hotel for a brief and economical stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to airport, but old hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Staff wasn't very helpful. Some were texting in between checking guests in. Only hotel available post tropical storm and couldn't make it to St. John. It did it's job fine, but felt gross after staying there. Definitely in need of a renovation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2014
hotel under some sort of perpetual state of construction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Convenient to town

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Although I would rate this hotel as average, it is definitely worth staying there for the convenience of being close to town. You can walk to restaurants and shopping, and take a cab to beaches 20-30 minutes away. Also close to airport. Given there were no real complaints other than AC leak and some trouble with key not allowing access to room after several tries, I would still recommend this hotel. The other hotels are a bit too far away and for me a feeling isolation especially since I did not feel comfortable driving in this area. Taking a taxi or cab everywhere is not something I look forward to. Staff was ok. No regrets staying at the Windward Passage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location - OK Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Good location downtown, but the rooms are not very clean. Bathroom shower does not work well and very little water pressure. Never could get the safe to work correctly. Bed was comfortable. Staff was polite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Good hotel close to the center of town. Good value compared to other hotels especially if you need to be closer to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time, great location

Posted Jul 16, 2014
We had a great time in St. Thomas. The location of Windward couldn't be better. It's central to everything. You can hit the night life down town, the mall, and if you rent a car you can get to any of the beaches within 30 minutes. The staff were excellent. There are renovations going on, on the second floor balcony where the pool is, but it wasn't too much of a nuisance. Nice to see the new tile coming in, looks great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hotel on the waterfront

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Best feature about the hotel was the location on the waterfront. For the most part the staff was friendly.
Cons: Renovations were being done at the hotel.
Location: The hotel is located on the waterfront within walking distance of restaurants, shopping district and the ferry to other islands and "Magic Ice"
The hotel was within walking distance from restaurants,shopping areas, the ferry to other islands and even the post office. The dollar jitney stopped in front of the hotel if you needed to shop for groceries or to go to Kmart or to the Havensight area for more shopping. There was also a daily shuttle to Magens Bay. There was also the opportunity to walk safely on the waterfront if you wanted to take a daily walk. My room faced west so I had a view of the local ball playing field. The hotel was less than 15 minutes from the airport. No lunch was served at the hotel.although the information book in the room advised hours for lunch. A few menu items were not available everyday.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Okay hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Morning front desk wasn't friendly. AC unit was leaking in the middle of the night. Bathroom door didn't work. Overall, it was a fair stay for the price we paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DeAnn from Houston

Great stop close to airport

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location and gorgeous evening views.
Location: The night life closes down early in this area.
Although they were doing some noisy repairs, they moved us to a quieter room. It was clean and comfy and the staff was nice. It's a cute hotel close to all of the good shopping. We stayed as a layover from island hopping so that we could be close to the airport. I would stay there again.