Ratings based on 542 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only OK

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pool and hot tub (the reason I hose this hotel over others) were grimy, and the shower floor. The sheets felt like paper towels and the blanket had big yellow stains.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom FLORIDA

NO RESTAURANT

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: GREAT LOCATION
Cons: COLORS ARE DARK AND DATED
THE HOTEL IS UNDERGOING RENOVATIONS AND HAS NOT HAD THE SENSE TO PLACE A CAFE CART IN THE LOBBY FOR GUESTS TO GRAB COFFEE AND A MUFFIN IN THE MORNING. FOOD KIOSKS ARE PLENTIFUL ALL OVER....WHY NOT HAVE THEM FOR GUESTS TO AT LEAST GRAB A BIT AND BEVERAGE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Was a quick stay and great price, I would definitely recommend it if you need to be in the area. We went into the city for the day and it was an easy train ride there and back. The only issue we had was multiple housekeepers knocking on the door at 9 AM.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom midcoast Maine

Incomplete hotel, contrary to the Hotel's website.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Our room and bed were comfortable.
Cons: Towel bars and clothes hooks in the bathroom. Make the restaurant operational!
The website extols the Restaurant and Lounge facilities. Neither exist as operational units. The nearest restaurant, called "Little Buddha", It's quite good and serves Thai food which I found tasty, but it is about a block and a half South of the Hotel and across a heavily trafficked street, with no crosswalks between the Hotel and Little Buddha. My wife is unable to walk for any long distance, so we had a rather difficult time getting to a place to eat. The Hotel is also not suited for someone who has limited mobility since long walks are necessary both entering and going to the elevators, and going from the elevator to many of the rooms. The hotel room we had was large by urban hotel standards, and quite nice. It had been recently remodeled, but lacked simple amenities such a towel bars in the bathroom. The remodeling showed poor workmanship,and poor quality materials - The metal edging used at the border of the carpet was already showing worn areas which exposed the base metal through the flaked brown coating. We were in Stamford for only two nights so we put up with the problems, but would not recommend the Plaza until they finish remodeling, or produce a truthful website.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Good.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Cons: No
The room had an old musty smell. In attending a conference off site of the hotel, the first day we took the hotel shuttle with no problem. The second morning we went downstairs, inquired about the shuttle and was informed that they would not take us today, because of a two mile radius from the hotel was the limit. Taken by surprise, we let them know it was allowed the day before with no limit of miles mentioned to us. We had to call a taxi. No food or coffee services were available because they are under construction, this was not disclosed when I made the reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had to pay for parking.....seems wrong.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Jersey City, NJ

Standard hotel close to downtown

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The staff was very polite.
Cons: The hotel needs to be renovated and updated.
Location: The hotel is a 10 minute drive from downtown. There's lots to do downtown.
It's a strange hotel that really needs a facelift. The decor is outdated, the carpet in the hallways is not easy to roll one's luggage on. The hotel just felt a bit unappealing. My friend and I checked into our room and there was an industrial air purifier on full blast. The smell from the machine was very strange so we asked to be moved. The next room was better but the bathroom needed updating. I didn't see a hair dryer. It was fine though, we were tired and coming in late from work. We just needed a place to sleep. We checked out very early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marthafrom Japan

コンフェランス用ホテル

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
ビジネスライクなホテルです。巨大な空間のエントランス。朝食などは付いていません。隣のホテル(ホリデーインエクスプレス)まで朝食を食べに行くことになります。(一食7ドルでした) スタンフォードの駅からはかなり距離があるので、歩くのは無理です。駐車場はホテルの後ろにありますが、結構一杯で、停める場所にちょっと困りました。部屋はとても快適でした。寝心地抜群でした。
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Minafrom Chicago

Rough around the edges

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
First off the room was FILTHY. Sheets had stains everywhere. The comforter, the sheets, even the fitted sheet way underneath the covers had some kind of stains. As if they a) never even bothered to change the sheets between guests or b) just don't wash them. Disgusting. I was just praying not to leave with bed bugs. Thankfully I didn't. But I could not wait to get out of there. Cut my trip a few days short to go stay with friends because I was so grossed out. Besides that the building itself is dark and gloomy and just industrial looking. Not very appealing. It seems as though they were trying to look like a 5 star hotel with the budget of a motel. Every where you look things are of poor quality, poorly maintained, and run down. At first it may seem like there must be MAJOR renovations going on but alas, it's just a run down hotel too cheap to bother with upkeep. The man who checked me in was friendly at least. But I'm sure there are equally friendly people in less grubby places. WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND.