Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by bobbyb from tyne&wear

A lot of money for a room

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: The sweeping staircase
Stopped in room103 a big room . The cost of this room through Beamish was quite substancial to be honest I would of been devistated if I had to pay that . Through expedia I paid half which I Thort was enough . Breakfast was ok nothing special. Would I go back ? No
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by G payne from Bham

Brill hotel - no phone coverage

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel, brilliant staff but no phone coverage on my orange iPhone mobile...... I had to drive away from the hotel (about 1/2 mile) to get reception !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Cons: secondry double glazeing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BOB/SYE from Grantham

Very nice hotel ,close to the Beamish village

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: Clean and food at a decent price
Cons: Bed !!! Not very comfortable and ours was not a double bed as we booked but a 3/4
Location: Well placed for a quiet time or for Newcastle ,Durham etc
Had a great stay ,nice grounds ,nice staff nice hotel to stay in
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from Chichester

Absolutely great

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I don't understand the negative comments by other people who have stayed here. The room was great and the bed comfortable - perhaps because we had a "de luxe" room (number 003). The staff were very pleasant, and the Stables bar and restaurant was excellent - superb food and very reasonable prices. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by chris from Lincoln

getaway

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed stay at hotel, only downside was that the room was to hot. Service was very good and excellent food in the Stable Bar. Room was very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by B.Chatfield from Gloucestershire

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent location, especially as we were meeting family at Beamish Museum. We are very likely to use the hotel for overnight stays on journeys north in future. The reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Stable Bar and restaurant very good, especially the choice of beers from the micro brewery. Our room was rather small but fine for a short stay; the bathroom was good, though one of the taps needed attention and water was extremely hot - warning notice needed, I suggest. Comfortable lounge near reception, perhaps another one upstairs is needed, rather than the tea room with tables? Wifi good in public rooms, would be nice to have it in bedrooms. Grounds pleasant for a stroll. The house has an interesting history - is it displayed anywhere? We would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela from Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK

Nice hotel, needs a bit of TLC

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Great character, lovely setting
Cons: Cramped, poor quality shower.
Two nights stay in a Classic room with double bed. Room was a little cramped, bed seemed to fill it and too warm. Bed must have been a 'small double' as there was barely room to turn over and feet touched footboard, (my partner and I are not svelte but we're not obese either). Nice white bathroom with bath and shower, plenty of fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries, however shower attachment was poor quality, had only one setting and the direction of flow was difficult to maintain as the head kept dropping. Good hearty breakfast on day one but felt the quality wasn't as good on the second day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Graham from Wirral

Great Location - Poor Rooms

Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location of the hotel is great, set in beautiful grounds with a few nice pubs nearby. Also close to the Beamish Open Air Museum which is well worth a visit. However the room we had was small, the bed was uncomfortable and the maid service was poor (left us with no toilet paper!!!) we heard a few people complaining about their rooms also. The stables bar is good however and the food was of a good quality. Hotel has fine for a couple of days but due to the room quality it would not be great for staying any longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com