Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom York

Good hotel next door to Beamish Museum

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Very interesting grade 2 listed building.
Cons: Less furniture in a small room.
Location: Ideally situated if you want to visit Beamish Museum
Very pleasant hotel, room a little small but adequate, staff very pleasant especially in the restaurant. Food good and not expensive, breakfast cooked to order and a good selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Staff were very helpful and polite. Nothing was too much trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Debbiefrom Cumbria

Lovely Place

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed our visit - superior room was large and very nice with good shower. We particularly enjoyed our evening at the stables restaurant and the food was fantastic and the drinks excellent oarticularly the ales brewed there!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new zealand

A grand old lady

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: The grounds were lovely. A grand house but getting tired and in need of some maintenance. The restaurant was nice and the staff very helpful.
Cons: The bed and plumbing
Location: Beamish museum is wonderful for families. Needs at least half a day to do it justice
The plumbing is very noisy and all night long we were disturbed by water running loudly. The bed needed replacing and even though a thick mattress topper had been put on the bed it did not disguise the worn out mattress. The room was small with little ventilation . The breakfast was very nice . No wifi in the rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

Very convenient for visit to Beamish Museum

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Room was peaceful for most of the time (a wedding one night) Plenty of space in room. Easyto have a drink or go for breakfast and pay on departur
Cons: Lift a bit cranky
Location: Beamish Museum is fabulous Trip to Newcastle/Gateshead not far
The booking by Expedia was very efficient. The hotel is in beautiful surroundings and our room had a lovely view of grounds. Car parking was convenient. It felt quite expensive at £105 per night without breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Brief overnight stay.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Quiet, beautiful location
Cons: It is really essential to have a car for access to the hotel and to make the most of a stay here
Location: Beamish Museum - outstanding living museum. Enjoyable for visitors of all ages.
Comfortable room, friendly staff, very good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jakofrom Yorkshire

Fantastic retreat after long day at work

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good all round hidden gem .recommend to anyone
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very small rooms, no place to stand for two in double room
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Susanfrom Heywood

Fantastic Hotel

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel ,beautiful room, helpful pleasent staff, food in The Stables was lovely,lots of choice for breakfast and everything freshly cooked. Can not wait for our next stay.