Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Stayed here several times - great place!

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
Love this hotel for the food alone. Rooms are a little cramped, albeit clean, and the service is excellent. Would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by derekfrom Durham

wedding bliss

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
we went there because we had an invitation to a evening reception to a wedding that was held there that afternoon. The hotel staff were very efficient and very friendly the room was extremely warm and comfortable ,those that were at the wedding said the food was excellent we had roast beef in very large buns with wedges or fries the beef was rather tough but the fries and gravy went down well. The breakfast was delicious and we would not hesitate to pay another visit in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by brentfrom south shields

one night stay

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
having been to a wedding at another venue close by, we were not in the room for long! the room was fab and we would definitely stay here again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gordy29from Plymouth

Traditional friendly English Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
South Causey Inn is a lovely place I have stayed in quiet a few hotels, with plenty disappointing but this one certainly didn't. All the staff I encountered were very friendly. Better yet after my sister in law took too long to get ready for a wedding and was going to be late the owner volunteered to drop her and 3 others off. Never been to a hotel where they would do that. The rooms are great with old fashioned oak furniture but with a modern en suite. Food was great and there is an amazing open log fire downstairs in the well furnished bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Spannermanfrom Somerset

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff very friendly - location great for our visit to Beamish - evening meal and breakfast very good. Only negative was the loud disco music coming from a function.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Munleyfrom Northumberland

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed very much - only one night but v good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tyen and Wear

relaxing beautiful views

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: friendly, comfy and fab food.
Cons: our room could do with the ceiling updating. nothing major
Location: country walks Beamish museum Tanfield railway horse-riding
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom East Sussex

Potentially a lovely environment but TOO NOISY

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Nice location. Restaurant was pleasant.
Cons: Customer service. Noise management.
Location: Too tired to explore the surroundings.
Sadly this hotel was terribly disappointing. There was no wifi in the room at all. From 8pm to just after midnight the noise from the disco was so loud we might as well have been at the disco. The walls reverberated from the sound. We could not watch the TV or talk, much less sleep. I even did a recording of the noise to prove how incredibly loud it was. When I politely explained how disappointed we were the next day the manager only offered to take our drinks off the bill. For an expensive night away I was really upset and aggrieved that this token gesture was all that was offered. Very poor customer service and I would not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by happychappyfrom North wales

hreat location

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice Rooms comfy beds great food with a xcellent selection but portions are far to big, lots of guests including my party completely Overfaced,reduce the size of the meals and charge a bit less,other than that a great place to stay with all the sights within easy driving distance,I highly reccomend this Hotel/Pub and will certainly return