Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southampton, NY

Friendly economy hotel in State College

Posted May 17, 2015
We've stayed at Sleep Inn several times while visiting our daughter at Penn State. The staff is always pleasant, the rooms are fine, and you can't beat the price. The delicious Otis Spunkmeyer cookies at the front desk are a nice touch!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wernersville, PA

Staff was rude

Posted May 8, 2015
I can't complain about the actual hotel or the room. Both were fine but the staff were rude. We were in town for a Garth Brooks concert and I asked the front desk people about how to get to the Bryce Jordan Center without having to drive or walk. They both laughed at me and told me to call a cab but didn't even offer me a cab number to call. After the concert, we were outside with some friends and the desk clerk came outside and screamed at us, telling us to quiet down or else we would be thrown off the property. There was no reason for his rudeness.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

OK Time for a decent Price

Posted May 4, 2015
Hotel staff was very friendly. The first room we checked into had a piece of pizza crust with ants all over it in the corner of the room, which we complained and we were switched rooms immediately. The second room was free of any food or any debris, but had a musky scent. Would look at other hotels before booking here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lititz, PA

Nice Hotel, great location, will stay here again

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The location was perfect for us. The room was clean.
Cons: Sound proofing between rooms. We were on the 1st floor and the people above us were a little noisy.
Location: The location was perfect if you are visiting the college , a short car drive to Penn State campus. There is a restaurant out front of the hotel also.
We were in State College for a concert and booked this hotel because of it's location to the venue. We really liked it. We were able to check in a little early, the room (1 queen bed, non-smoking room) was just the right size for my husband and I, the room and bathroom were clean, and the bed was comfortable. The hotel provides a free breakfast and we were really surprised by what they had to offer, waffles, eggs, bagels, sausage, a really nice selection for free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and nice.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Clean, included breakfast, close to Penn State campus.
Location: The campus is very close to the Penn State campus.
This hotel was clean, had nice rooms, decent breakfast, and is super close to the Penn State campus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Booked here because of an event

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: We liked the location!
Cons: More staff sceduled when there is a large event scheduled in the area.
My husband and I were in the area for a concert held at the Bryce Jordan Center. We arrived around 4:00pm and our room was still unavaible even though check in is at 3:00pm.. Was told it was a busy day! Had to wait 40 minutes before it was ready.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UAE

acceptable

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: The staff and locaton
Cons: Will come back to it and recommend it to freinds.
Location: Locations is good, the hotel needs land escaping and good lightening outside.
The staff are excellent and friendly, However, the hotel is old and needs renovation when it comes to bath rooms door, shower and needs carpet cleaning or change. Breakfast is OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Great night sleep at a great rate!

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: A great location close to Penn State. Easy arrival access and departure.
Cons: Were only able to get a room with double beds, Queens would have been preferred, but not a deal breaker.
Location: A great hotel location close to Penn State.
We had to make a quick trip to Penn State and arrived late at night. The hotel was very welcoming and our room was ready, clean and comfortable. A very clean place everywhere, breakfast was very good and everyone was polite to us. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2015 by Krista, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. Safe Travels... Yours In Service, Krista Olson General Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

yuck.

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hard to find. Walls cracking. Smells terrible. Old dirty carpet. Had to unplug mini fridge was so loud. Took hours to heat room up. Stiff hard towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by victoriafrom Westminster

Thumbs up

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
We just needed a place to sleep after attending a 9:00 pm basketball game at State College. The weather forecast all week had included snow, so we elected to reserve a room for the night. We ended up needing another room, since another family member had to spend the night unexpectedly. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Gave us a deal on the second room; also had toothbrush for the "surprise" guest. The free breakfast was pretty good; Belgian waffles, bagels, eggs, sausage, Danishes, fruit, yogurt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Wes, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review; we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay while in State College. We have a great location to downtown, the Penn State Campus and many other attractions and restaurants. On behalf of myself and the entire team here at the Sleep Inn, we appreciate your business and value your kind words. We strive to provide clean rooms at a great value and make every guests stay enjoyable! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town. Safe Travels! Yours In Service, Krista Olson General Manager