Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice hotel near Penn State Campus

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Very nice rooms with easy parking and access to downtown State College
Cons: no improvement necessary
Location: Easy access to the Penn State campus and downtown State College.
Excellent hotel with easy access to the Penn State campus near Rec Hall and west end of the campus
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to downtown

Posted Jun 8, 2015
The hotel was comfortable and very close to downtown. There were a few cleanliness issues, but nothing that would keep me from going back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel. close to everything

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: air conditioning is loud
room is clean, decor is pleasing with pay parking on site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD

Close to campus

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Old Charm.
Cons: Wallpaper needs to be tacked down in places.
Location: Walking distance to everything downtown and the school!
Always fun to visit Penn State and the Atherton is in a great spot! Easy to park your car and walk the town and the school.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dover, DE

Nice- Close to everything Penn State related.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Nice- Close to everything Penn State related.
Location: Nice- Close to everything Penn State related.
I was not aware of the parking fee, it was only $8 per night, but I would have liked to have known about it, before check out. I'm not sure what other hotels are charging in this area, but the room seemed pretty small given the Rate. They were basic rooms and it seemed a little on the high end. I was surprised to learn that there was no continental breakfast offered. I believe the web site listed this when I purchased the room. Other that that, staff and hotel were very nice..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks County, PA

Nice hotel right in the heart of State College

Posted May 3, 2015
Very easy check in. Nice bar and restaurant. Friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2015
The names of the hotel bar and restaurant are cheesy, as is the outdated restaurant decor, but overall I had a great stay. If you stay on the alley side you'll probably get woken up every morning around 7:30 by the garbage truck emptying 5-6 dumpsters.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time in reviewing the property. We are sorry to know that the names of the restaurant and bar do not appeal to you but we want you to know that we can help with your complaint about the restaurant decor as we are in the process of redesigning our restaurant and feel sure you will love it. I am delighted to know that overall you had a great stay. Your business and input are truly valued. Thanks very much for staying with us. Best Regards, Maggie Biddle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Decent place with a few glitches

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Hotel service made up for glitches.
Location: It's a great location downtown.
Construction across the street started at 7 am with pile driver. Not happy with that. Wi Fi did not really work.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much taking the time to share your review. I am sorry that your stay was affected by the construction nearby. We have recently replaced and significantly upgraded the hotel's internet access however during the date of your stay there was a city wide outage of service. Please know that your business is truly valued and we will look forward to having you as our guest again in the future. Best Regards, Maggie Biddle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Penn State

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Mattress was great. Keurig in the room, loved it!
Cons: Cheap foam pillows, powdered creamer instead of UHT half n half.
Location: very convenient for Penn State Visit. I parked my car Friday and did not move it until I left Sunday :)
Very nice hotel. Restaurant was good, which was a nice surprise since hotel restaurants often are not! Pleasant staff. Reasonably priced parking. Very loud partying students next room woke me up a lot one night but that's not the hotel's fault. I liked it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I'm delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay but hope you will accept my sincere apology in regard to the loud guest next door. We do have 24 hour security staff in the building so please know that when you report any issue we will attend to it. Thank you for choosing The Atherton. We appreciate your business very much and will look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Best Regards, Maggie Biddle General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Very noisy under-serviced room.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Close to a busy street. You can hear truck rolling along the road :30am. Room did not have enough supplies: Empty tissue box, not enough bath tissue etc. Not a good hotel to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay. I'm very sorry that your guest room was not properly supplied with tissues and I apologize for this oversight. To address the other issue that you mentioned, the hotel is located in the heart of downtown State College, one block from Penn State University. Our college town can be noisy at times but the location also offers the ability to walk to any location on campus or in our vibrant and charming downtown. Thank you again for your insight. Best Regards, Maggie Biddle General Manager