Ratings based on 228 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

A lovely hotel right downtown.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
This is a lovely hotel full of Victorian charm. The desk staff are very helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and everything State College has to offer is right at your doorstep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philly, pa

Great location!

Posted Jul 17, 2015
In town for only one night, great location. The hotel is out dated, but clean and friendly. The bedding could use an upgrade, but the bed were surprisingly comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice hotel near Penn State Campus

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Very nice rooms with easy parking and access to downtown State College
Cons: no improvement necessary
Location: Easy access to the Penn State campus and downtown State College.
Excellent hotel with easy access to the Penn State campus near Rec Hall and west end of the campus
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share you review and for your business. Maggie Biddle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to downtown

Posted Jun 8, 2015
The hotel was comfortable and very close to downtown. There were a few cleanliness issues, but nothing that would keep me from going back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your insight. I apologize for your finding any cleanliness issues during your stay with us. We like to know when you are happy, but also if there's ever an issue and promise to try to take care of anything that is not to your liking while you're on property. Please know we have staff available around the clock to help with anything and very much value the opportunity to correct issues. Thank you for your business, your feedback, and your opinions. Maggie Biddle General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your insight. I apologize for your finding any cleanliness issues during your stay with us. We like to know when you are happy, but also if there's ever an issue and promise to try to take care of anything that is not to your liking while you're on property. Please know we have staff available around the clock to help with anything and very much value the opportunity to correct issues. Thank you for your business, your feedback, and your opinions. Maggie Biddle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel. close to everything

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: air conditioning is loud
room is clean, decor is pleasing with pay parking on site.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and give a rating for our hotel. We truly appreciate your business. Maggie Biddle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD

Close to campus

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Old Charm.
Cons: Wallpaper needs to be tacked down in places.
Location: Walking distance to everything downtown and the school!
Always fun to visit Penn State and the Atherton is in a great spot! Easy to park your car and walk the town and the school.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to respond with your verified stay review! We truly appreciate your business and your feedback. Maggie Biddle General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dover, DE

Nice- Close to everything Penn State related.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Nice- Close to everything Penn State related.
Location: Nice- Close to everything Penn State related.
I was not aware of the parking fee, it was only $8 per night, but I would have liked to have known about it, before check out. I'm not sure what other hotels are charging in this area, but the room seemed pretty small given the Rate. They were basic rooms and it seemed a little on the high end. I was surprised to learn that there was no continental breakfast offered. I believe the web site listed this when I purchased the room. Other that that, staff and hotel were very nice..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks County, PA

Nice hotel right in the heart of State College

Posted May 3, 2015
Very easy check in. Nice bar and restaurant. Friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your high rating and compliments for our staff! We appreciate your stay and your opinion. Maggie Biddle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2015
The names of the hotel bar and restaurant are cheesy, as is the outdated restaurant decor, but overall I had a great stay. If you stay on the alley side you'll probably get woken up every morning around 7:30 by the garbage truck emptying 5-6 dumpsters.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time in reviewing the property. We are sorry to know that the names of the restaurant and bar do not appeal to you but we want you to know that we can help with your complaint about the restaurant decor as we are in the process of redesigning our restaurant and feel sure you will love it. I am delighted to know that overall you had a great stay. Your business and input are truly valued. Thanks very much for staying with us. Best Regards, Maggie Biddle General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

PSU Visit

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great time at the Atherton! Thanks for such a wonderful stay! Elizabeth Meyer
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ms Meyer, Thank you very much for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay and for taking the time to share your rating with other travelers. Your business is valued and we will look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Best Regards, Maggie Biddle General Manager