Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Great location and pleasant staff. The room was comfortable, but there were two small problems: one of the the window mullions wasn't properly attached and as a result rattled and the coffee maker didn't work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom VA

RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF STATE COLLEGE

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION
Cons: HOTEL WAS VERY NICE CAN'T REALLY THINK OF ANYTHING THAT NEEDS TO CHANGE
Location: RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET FROM PENN STATE EASY WALK TO DOWNTOWN RESTAURANTS AND BARS. EASY TO FIND-GREAT LOCATION
HOTEL WAS EXTREMELY CONVENIENT TO PENN STATE, MAIN STREET, AND BEAVER AVENUE
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Bad Bed

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Restaurant - If you like onion rings - they have the best I've ever tasted.
Cons: new mattresses
Location: The hotel was centrally located in downtown with close proximate to the University.
The look of the room was suitable but the beds were a total disappointment.....so worn and soft that you rolled into the middle and every time you moved it felt like you were sleeping in a bowl of jelly. If you want a good nights sleep, try somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
great location, close to campus, shops, and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by annettefrom columbus oh

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
My stay was very enjoyable and the staff was great
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was fine but the food at the bar was horrendous. I had their "Drunken Mushrooms " appetizer and just the smell was had the exact opposite effect an appetizer should. I am not one to make a scene or embarrass the bartender so I kept my mouth shut. Regardless... I couldn't choke it down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by kakashi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andy

Fancier than expected

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service was excellent, room was exactly as portrayed in the gallery, king-size bed was very comfortable, and I was pleasantly surprised by the unexpectedly fancy atmosphere of the hotel in general.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your comments and for choosing The Atherton Hotel. We very much appreciate your compliments and hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels.com