Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the Hotel was very clean and nice.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: very clean and located in good area
Cons: the heat in the rooms
the rooms have issues with heat. I could not get it to a comfortable spot...it was either to hot or to cold. Also elevators were freezing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Coral Springs, FL

Nice but noisey

Posted Mar 3, 2015
All was great until 7:00 am on Saturday morning when the construction started across the street. We were very happy when they were kind enough to start at 8:30 am on Sunday. We really love staying at The Atherton because of its close proximity to everything, however until the construction is over we might consider another location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Well kept hotel. Friendly staff. Wish the bed would have been a little larger.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom pennsylvania

never again

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: convenience to town housekeeping responded immediately
Cons: heat the hotel adequately. clean the upholstery. repair the squeals in the pipes and heating unit. update hallway carpets.
we will never stay at this hotel again. the entire hotel was freezing... from the elevators, to the lobby to the rooms. the heater squealed. the shower squealed. the uphostered chair was stained and worn. the hotel just appeared to be worn and beaten.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean hotel. very convenient to penn state campus.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: i do not appreciate that hotel doubles their rates everytime they know penn state is having an event.
room was missing a refrigerator which would have been nice. clean. great location if you are visiting penn state campus. walking distance to all stores/ restaurants on college avenue
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Efficient check-in, convenient shuttle, friendly staff. Only downside was room service breakfast food. Generous portions, quality was below average. Fresh fruit was perfect
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Nice hotel. Good value for the price. Visited state college for the weekend, has a nice time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Walter Mfrom Conneaut Lake

Great location at Penn State.

Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Could benefit with extra parking, also would like queen size beds. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michaelfrom Ann Arbor, MI

The Atherton is clean and conveniently located

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We've stayed at the Atherton before and it clearly is more than a 3 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Glenn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com