Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Mar 29, 2014
I know this is often used for convention stays but we just wanted to relax and it was great. The only disappointment was that there was no table I. The room and when food was brought for dinner and breakfast the next more no table was brought in. So the choice was to eat at the dssk(not big enough for two) or sit at the beds and use the end tables or hold your plate on your lap while sitting on the couch. Hmmm. Everything else was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great get away from a busy weekend.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Room service is such a treat because it is so affordable…feels luxurious but you can let your kids order whatever they want.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mirada from New York City

Perfect except the swimming pool, dirty by vomited

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Everything was perfect except swimming pool, there were somebody vomit, but hotel didn't clean up on time so that we couldn't swim.
3 out of 5
by Linda from White Plains, NY

Nice Hotel, Room Was Cold

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Rooms were clean, staff was pleasant.
Cons: Make sure rooms have heat or air-conditioning as the weather warrants.
The hotel and staff were nice. The heat did not work in the room I was given, even though the indicator said it was on. I awoke in the middle of the night freezing and there were no extra blankets. I wondered why this room was available, when nearly all of the hotels in the area were booked for my dates. Now I know.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, not so nice staff

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: They offered a lot of amenities and it turned out that a lot of things were cheaper than expected, so that was a plus.
Cons: Definitely the staff's attitude. I worked front desk at a hotel and we could never act like that. Their manager must not have been there.
Location: The location is good (a little far from town) but they have a free shuttle so that didn't make much difference. The area is pretty and scenic.
I stayed at the Penn Stater for one night to attend a PSU function. Overall the facility was clean, easy to navigate, and offered a lot of amenities. However, the staff at both the Front Desk and The Legends restaurant were not very inviting. They continued to act like because we were not students or family of students that we were not worth their full attention and pleasant service. Of course, there were a couple of people that were exceptions to this review. For instance, the shuttle driver Joshua, and the restaurant server, Justin. They were very pleasant, and oddly made us feel the most welcomed out of everyone. Our shuttle was about 15 minutes late though, and again, the Front Desk acted as if it was not their problem. All in all, nice/safe/clean hotel, but unwelcoming staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Donna from East Hampton NY

Forget about a la carte

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The lobby, rooms, staff.
Cons: peoples should be able to order beyond buffet for breakfast after 11:00.
Location: It 's Penn State something to do all the time.
I had a great experience at this hotel. The best place I've ever stayed in Penn State. The only problem was the menu online was not available at the Garden Room, only the buffet and a special Valentine menu that was strangely ordered and priced. We had already planned our meals before coming and all of us had to switch plans. Also we came down for breakfast just wanting a coffee and muffin and we were told that a la carte was over (it was 11:15) and we could only get the buffet. We were offered early lunch at Legends, but we did not want lunch. We ended up driving downtown for a cup of coffee!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jim from Rochester, NY

Great Penn State hospitality.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Reception staff is informed and attentive. Facilities are clean, modern and in good condition.
Cons: Staff in Legends Lounge seemed like they didn't want to be there. Need to re-focus on customer service.
Location: A little remote, but great highway access puts you minutes from most regional attractions. Also, free shuttle service to PSU events and downtown.
This sister hotel to the Nittany Lion Inn is a clean, modern facility with exceptional Penn State service. The location (2+ miles east of downtown) might be a little remote for some, but it boasts excellent highway access and offers a quiet respite to the bustle of a college town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rubina from Plainview, NY

Finally found an excellent place to stay near PSU

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Cons: A microwave oven would be a great addition.
This was my first visit to this hotel. I had been to Penn State multiple times and stayed in other places / I don't want to mention names/ but I spent more money on those places too. It was a Friday night/ all other near by places were full/ I had to choose this place. But it was my best hotel experience in that area. The room was spacious/ clean/ we'll kept/ linen was excellent. The dining places are wonderful. I would definitely come this place on my next visit to Penn State.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MA from Michigan

Close to Penn State Campus

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff - inviting lobby.
Cons: Replace some carpeting in hallways, chair in room and bed covering.
Location: Penn State very close by.
Everything functioned well (heat, water, fridge, tv). The facilities rooms and hallways looked a little dated. Could use new carpeting and new bed coverings but other than that - good for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location - away from traffic

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Nice room size, large bathroom, large windows, two beds plus enough room for small sofa and chair.
Cons: Cleaning service knocked on the door at 10:00am, when check out is Noon.
Stayed here to be close to the Pegula Ice Rink. Was close to the venue, but out of the way from town traffic.