Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fairfax City, VA

Not many positives

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: We liked the location and the food at the breakfast bar was tasty.
Cons: It's hard to control the noise if guests arriving late and leaving early aren't courteous. But the cleanliness of the room should be a priority.
Location: We visited Fort Dobbs state historic sight and, while the fort has not been rebuilt, the docents were very well versed.
We booked our hotel stay for a weekend get-away. Upon check in, we asked when the lounge would open. The front desk employee laughed and said "she should get in around 5:30" and something to the extent of "she's not consistent with when she arrives." We noted that the sign said that the lounge was open from 5 - 10pm. Our room had nice furnishings but there was mold in the shower and the showerewalls looked really dirty. There were 2 bars of soap, shampoo and lotion (no conditioner). We used the pool and hot tub and both seemed to be in good repair and there were ample clean towels. The sauna in the fitness center was not working. There was no in room Wi-Fi but there was a business center. Our alarm clock also kept putting out a static sound - like some sort of interference. We eventually just unplugged it. Our biggest complaint was the NOISE! It seemed like you could hear every single movement and people were coming and going until late in the night and started leaving around 6am. We even had to call the front desk around 8am because of a dog whimpering and barking down the hall. The bed was really uncomfortable too and all in all - we didn't get a restful nights sleep. Our Sunday breakfast had eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy but the items weren't restocked. We had to ask for orange juice and there was only one biscuit and just enough waffle batter to make 1/2 waffle. The icing on the cake was one of the hotel guests coming to breakfast in his pajamas and bare feet... gross
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value, great area for pets

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Stopped here with our dog en route to GA. Desk clerk was very nice and helpful. Our room was comfortable, bed was great. The hotel is situated so there were several great areas to walk our dog! Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chuckfrom St. Clair, MI

Welcome stay

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable stay welcome after a long drive. Very nice facilities. Found a very good BBQ in the neighborhood as well.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Overbooked

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
On the morning of our arrival we received a call that because of overbooking, we no longer had a room at this hotel. We were rebooked elsewhere and enjoyed our stay at the new hotel. I travel to this area at least once a year and will continue to stay at the new hotel in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Jim, Hotel Management
I must admit that I am a bit confused. We have not been overbooked. My staff works very hard to make sure reservations for our hotel are accurate and precise. I am glad that you were able to get rebooked at another hotel. I will certainly be looking in to the reason for the overbooking. Thank you for making me aware of this. Jim McJunkin General Manager Comfort Inn and Suites Statesville
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom columbus, oh

Overall nice looking place.

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Was a good experience but the remote didn't work and the sheets were soiled so had to move rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Jim McJunkin, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I am happy that my staff followed protocol and moved you to a more suitable room. I have directed my Executive Housekeeper to go over the room you were originally placed with a fine tooth comb. Thank you for letting me know about that. I hope you will consider staying with us again on your next trip through Statesville. Jim McJunkin General Manger Comfort Inn and Suites Statesville
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Friendy,helpful staff

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
Near a busy highway,noisy. Enjoyed the bar area in the evening. Staff friendly and helpful. Bathroom,tub had hair in it. Walls thin. Will not stop here on way north.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. On behalf of my entire staff, I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to me. I am glad you were able to enjoy our bar and that my staff was friendly and helpful. I hope you will consider staying with us again. Jim McJunkin General Manager Comfort Inn and Suites Statesville
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Business trip felt like a mini vacation

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
Top Notch!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I am most pleased you had a "top notch" stay with us while traveling on business. Our corporate guests are important to us. You are on the road making the wheels of our economy turn and I appreciate each and every one of you for what you do. Jim McJunkin General Manager Comfort Inn and Suites Statesville
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gailfrom Pine City

Great place to stay.

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful experience staying at this hotel both on our way to Florida, and on our way home a week later. The staff was efficient and friendly. The pool was not huge, but it was perfect for our two six year old grandsons to work off the energy built up after a long day in the car. The hotel was clean, and the breakfast had a lot of variety. As I saw in the reviews I used to book this hotel, the bathtubs were a little old, but the two we had were clean and adequate. I didn't give the neighborhood a 5 rating only because it is definitely an off the highway neighborhood; there were other hotels around and places to get gas and food, but we did not feel that the area was unsafe. The only down side for me was that the breakfast didn't have much to offer for someone who is gluten free. There was instant oatmeal, but that is a questionable item. However, gluten free was not expected(I make it a habit to bring my own food). I would stay in this hotel again, and recommend it to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us and thank you for your recommendation! I am currently working with our food supplier to change our breakfast a bit and have asked him to include some gluten free items. My brother is on a gluten free diet and he says any variation from the diet leaves him feeling bad. So, I understand the need for more gluten free items. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we certainly hope you will keep us in mind for your future travels. Jim McJunkin General Manager Comfort Inn and Suites Statesville
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Stayed the nigt on the way to Charlotte. Caulking around shower could be cleaner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2015 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests. My maintenance crew is busy during this slower time of the year installing grab bars and re-caulking every bathtub in the building. Thank you for choosing our hotel on your trip to Charlotte and we hope you will keep us in mind for your future travels. Jim McJunkin General Manager Comfort Inn and Suites Statesville
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JAMESfrom MERCER

GOOD CHOICE

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
Good night's rest!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us in Statesville. I am happy you got a good night's rest after all, that is what is most important. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Jim McJunkin General Manager Comfort Inn and Suites Statesville