Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Fine place to stay. Staff was very helpful . Room was clean and breakfast good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abingdon,VA

Convenient. Close to restaurants. Quiet.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Convenience, amenities
Cons: For the price, nothing.
Location: Near Blue Ridge Parkway and University of VA.
Everything a business traveler needs. Quiet and good breakfast. Friendly and helpful employees.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from philadelphia

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: It is very unusual to have a comfortable bed in a hotel - this one was great! The Lady at the desk was very gracious and friendly.
Cons: The lobby was worn and outdated in appearance - a real contrast to the very nice rooms.
Location: Gateway to the Shenandoah mountains, with many beautiful vineyards nearby. Many restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.
The staff was friendly, the rooms were attractive, the beds were very comfortable, and the free hot breakfast was very nice! We would definitely return to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to interstate; clean and quiet

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Difficult to find proper entrance at night, but convenient? Clean and quick
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim from Shepherdstown, West Virginia

Pretty much what I expected

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: The staff, the location, breakfast
Cons: better quality pillows, a liitle more attention to detail in cleaning, no newspapers at frony desk area as advertised
Location: great location...centrally located to multiple destinations and plenty of shopping & eating options.
This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. We were obviously pleased enough with our pewvious stays to stay there once more. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself and the room were not quite as clean/maintained as our previous stays however. The breakfast was great. All in all we would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A convenient hotel for dining and shopping

Posted Oct 30, 2012
Hotel was very convenient for shopping, restaurants, etc. Cleanliness could have been a bit better. Floors were dirty in the corners. As for comfort ... the room would get hot but with the air conditioning on it was uncomfortable to sit at the desk and work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Visit

Posted Oct 2, 2012
After eating what we felt was a really nice continental breakfast as we were headed back to our room some of the cleaning staff were having a heated argument about what was and was not "their problem". All involved were quite young, and it was a Saturday morning. Understood the weekends are the weekends, but when your job includes a weekend, you just have to make the best of the situation. The only other thing we noticed that the lobby-elevator area was very hot - I believe due to the washer and dryer being located in a hallway.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad/ staff are you friendly

Posted Sep 10, 2012
Pros: Price
Cons: Dated, smoking room was very musty
No a bad hotel, rooms are a little dated. I had a Jacuzzi room and the Jacuzzi did not work. Room was not advertised as having one on Expedia, nor was I charged for it, but would have been nice to have! Hotrl has pretty much looked the same since my first stay in 2001
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We would stay again.

Posted Sep 9, 2012
Pros: price, and relaxed feeling
Cons: the "queen size" bed was more like a full size
Location: good for what we needed, the bluegrass in Gottoes, Va
Good hotel, very good breakfast, we were pleased with our stay, and the price was reasonable.