Ratings based on 724 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all the restaurants and shops

Posted Feb 23, 2015
The hotel staff was very responsive to the bad weather conditions. They helped shovel the snow away from my car and they gave me a jump when my car would not start. Great service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great home base for touring Staunton

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Easy access to downtown, quiet.
Cons: Newer TVs during the next refresh.
Location: Everything in downtown Staunton is a few minutes walk.
I have stayed here several times, usually on the spur of the moment, to visit downtown Staunton. Its quiet, there is a bus pickup one needs to keep an eye on across the street, but generally feels safe. New coat of paint on everything, so it looks tidy. Easy walk to everything. A great value for this price range.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom n.c.

Posted Feb 3, 2015
The gas dryer made the third floor reek, the building had flooded at some point in the past and it shows
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Skipwith,Va

Nice location

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: I like that it was close to the downtown area.
Location: We enjoyed the American Shakespeare Center. We saw The Taming of the Shrew. Lots of nice shops and restaurants all in the downtown area.
The building is old, but it has been kept up. My only recommendation would be to update the toilets. I am tall and the toilet was like almost sitting on the floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good night

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Only one night as we were travelling..clean and comfy...if you are big into breakfast, we are not, you may be disappointed .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chateauguay, Qc

We will be back!

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Tout!
After a very long drive frm Quebec, we were warmly greated by a yong men very professional at the front desk. We felt welcome and at home. The room was very clean and the beds were confortable. We also appreciate the convenience of being close to highway 81 and beautiful downtown Staunton. We will certainly be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Best deal in America!

Posted Dec 11, 2014
The Howard Johnson in Staunton cannot be beat in terms of value. It is clean, very close to the downtown part of Staunton where attractions like the Blackfriars' Theater are (within walking distance), and the management is very friendly and helpful. It's not the fanciest hotel in the world, but they do have a decent breakfast and a pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dannyfrom NJ

Cheap, but clean

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was very run down. The rooms looked clean, but outdated. The breakfast was really bad. I would pay extra for better breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Great place for the price!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location, room was pleasant and comfortable
Location: Just a few blocks walk to downtown Staunton.
Super convenient to downtown Staunton, room was large and comfortable. Very comfortable, reasonably clean and well maintained for an older motel. We would definitely stay here again!