Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport News VA

Fine for overnight while on the road

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Did not use it, but there was a pool.
Cons: No breakfast, just coffee.
Location: American Shakespeare Theater is in nearby Staunton.
Only stayed one night, accommodations were fine and fairly priced. Good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alleghany County, Virginia

Affordable hotel right off the interstate.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Cost efficient! Pet friendly! Excellent staff!
Cons: Room cosmetics. (Carpet, mattress, bathroom.) Reopening the pool.
Location: Lake Sherando. Staunton Historic District. Wine Vineyards. Antique stores. Restaurants. Cave Mountain Lake. Natural Bridge. Caverns. Zoos.
You get what you pay for. It was a quiet hotel, polite staff. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff was hospitable.The perks were that the hotel is pet friendly and that makes all of the difference in the world. I would sacrifice cosmetic appearance for the ability to take my pet with me any day. The pool was out of service during our stay which was disappointing. It had been closed for maintenance for several days. There was a large burn mark in the carpet and the room smelled like it had been a smoking room at one point in time. The tub was "flaking" enamel or paint or something. The mattress was extremely stiff. Other than that is was a very clean, efficient, economical choice. It did include a mini-fridge, hair dryer, iron & ironing board and wifi access. It was conveniently located to the interstate and surrounding attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Location: We were just driving through from SF to the Grand Canyon. Good stopping point because we left in the afternoon.
It was fine! Nice pool, pleasant experience. The hotel staff was super friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The price!
Cons: Continental breakfast.
Location: Only stayed overnight on a trip from GA to PA.
It was pleasant...we watched TV and went to bed. No further comment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by AM

Great for a sleep stop

Posted Nov 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is a good hotel, but its not near anything else except the highway. I was just using it as a sleep stop in a long trip and it was perfect. Domino's does deliver there so if you are hungry there is an option.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
We asked for a wakeup call at 6 but didn't get it until 6:30. Breakfast was decent. Overall everything was ok. It was good for what we needed, a place to sleep over night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were looking for a place that was 400 miles to Long Island on our trip from San Antonio and this fit. The lobby, business center and breakfast was embarrassing. I noted it was under renovation in September but it was November. The room was very nice, clean and convienent. I tightened the desk chair that was loose, but everything else was fine.
3 out of 5
by Dexter's Mom from SW, OH

Disappointed!

Posted Oct 22, 2012
Pros: Location, and accepted multiple dogs in room
Cons: No Wi-Fi, unavailable cable channels
Location: Very rural - lots of wide, open spaces - not much close by.
My husband, myself and our dogs stopped at this hotel for an over night stop on our way home from a beach vacation. We purposely got the to hotel early afternoon so my husband could watch the Notre Dame game on NBC. To his dismay, the local channels were not available - problem with the cable contract was the excuse. He ended up sitting in the car, outside our room for hours to listen to the game on his XM radio. I tried to stream the game on my computer, but the Wi-Fi was not working either - even though they have a HUGE sign, visible from the highway saying they have FREE Wi-Fi. Room was OK, and they were very accommodating about our dogs staying in the room with us.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by E Watson

Room that needed ungrading

Posted Oct 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
I have been traveling for work for more than 30 years and found this hotel one of the worst places to stay. The front desk clerk wouldn't look for another bath towel, gave me incorrect directions to the room and was in generally a bad mood. The room was old, all the lights didn't work. Bathroom was the worst, looked like the 50's, and had loose tile as well. The night was cold enough to need the heater on but went it was turned on it smelled. Also, I had asked to stay in a non-smoking room and this one wasn't. The breakffast the next day was very limited. Only stayed at this hotel and nothing else in area was available. Will never stay there again.