Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but internet a pain

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Attractive, clean, friendly staff. Pool, sauna and exercise room were a plus.
Cons: The supplies. Also, the Wifi. Not worth bothering with the hassle of it.
Location: Restaurant right near by, gas station, shopping for souvenirs across the street, close to downtown and other attractions.
The saltwater pool was small, but in good condition. I couldn't figure out the sauna, but I didn't try that hard, and the front desk clerk said she would help if I wanted. It was very clean and the furnishings were a plus, the office chair at the desk was very nice and there was an easy chair as well. Very attractive and the grounds were well kept up. My only complaint was that the number of towels and toiletries was skimpy. The toilet paper was terrible quality and the towels were a little stained in spots and pretty thin. It was like one person chose the furnishings and another chose the supplies. Internet was a pain. We had to keep disconnecting and re-connecting, shutting off devices, changing settings. We could get to the router, but not to the internet most of the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Comfort for travelers

Posted Apr 16, 2015
The rooms were clean and recently re-done; much nicer than I expected for the price point. Staff were friendly and helpful, though we didn't really have any exceptional needs. Standard breakfast with cereal, toast, biscuits and gravy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ct

Posted Apr 16, 2015
the rooms are very nice and clean and the staff pays attention to detail. The staff was most helpful and I will return to the red roof in Staunton Vg
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Clean! What more do you want for $70 a night!

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, clean room, great value.
Cons: The only negatives were simple things, like no paper or pens in the room. Also, the free breakfast consisted of juice, some mini muffins, toast, bage
Location: The location was right off I -81, and about 4 minutes from downtown Staunton, VA. Town did not have much, but 30 min Harrisonburg and Charlottesville
The room was basic, but I could not ask for more. The staff was incredibly nice!!! The only negatives were simple things, like no paper or pens in the room. Also, the free breakfast consisted of juice, some mini muffins, toast, bagels, jam, cream cheese, and two cereal options. The pool was not as nice as it looked in the picture, and I believe the sauna was not working well. The fitness center was NOT good. Very small selection and smelled funny. However, for sleeping, showering, and saving money, this is the place to stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2015
The rooms were like there was no doors , very noisy from other rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Second visit

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We really enjoy staying here. We had the same room as last time and sleep so well. The room is very clean and staff very friendly. Close to Rt 81 and great restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom TN

Best part was restaurant next door.

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was clean.
Cons: Sooo much.
Location: Only used to spend night during traveling. Restaurant next door was excellent. Town is very old and charming, but need to drive to get to it.
First time we stayed at a Red Roof in many years. Wood floor (laminate?) was consumer unfriendly. Room temp was wall heater/ air cond unit. Room was always too hot or too cold. Toilet very low to ground, seemed like it was made for elementary school children. Bed was ok, not bad but not extreme comfort either. Close to freeway, but out of walking distance to town. Wouldn't stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the interstate and restaurants.

Posted Mar 6, 2015
I use this hotel regularly for business trips. The rooms that I have had have been newly remodeled and well appointed. They are clean. The television has Direct TV which is enjoyable. The internet is free, but slow. My LTE service allows for streaming movies to devices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Good for the price! Free breakfast and it has an indoor pool, it was nice. The only problem no hair dryer in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom l

Overall great experience!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
The staff were excellent and helpful! Great room for the price. Only complaint was that the lack of consistent plowing during the snow storm led me to getting my car stuck. When it did, the hotel staff were helpful in giving me a hand.