Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff friendly and accommodating

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly service from the staff - they were very helpful at reception.
Cons: the standard of the facility - pool area and would like restaurant open every day.
Location: liked the location close to ONS exhibition centre.
Staff were very friendly and helpful - which was a big plus. Pool was good although facilities could have been better - with sauna not always on and a general feeling of just ok with the leisure facilities. Also charging for a car parked in the hotel car park at the ONS conference when you have stayed at the hotel for 4 days is not the most customer friendly gesture!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tatton from Cheshire UK

Convenient location

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 nights. Well located just off E39 route, easy to get into Stavanger city, airport and main industrial areas. Comfortable room, WiFi, reception staff v helpful and great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel outside Stavanger center

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were generally pleased with the hotel. It was, however, farther from downtown than we expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Huon from London, UK

Conference at University of Stavanger

Posted Jun 18, 2012
Pros: Brealfast
Cons: No hair dryer, and TV could not swivel to watch easily from bed
Location: Fine, if you are working near university. you must get a taxi to go to town 160-180 kroner
Quiet hotel close to university (20 min walk) just outside Stavanger. Great breakfasts.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dave G

Posted May 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was practical and did what I wanted. There was nothing around the hotel, the evening meal was basic but nice. A little pricey for the size of the small rooms......you could hear people above walking around above you and the next rooms TV etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Enfield, UK

Faded glory, but still useable

Posted Jun 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
I imagine that this hotel was built in the late 60s or early 70s, judging from the decor which doesn't seem to have been updated since. It's situated a couple of kilometres out of the city centre close to a large conference centre and I think it was probably originally intended as a hotel for business users rather than backpackers and tourists. But those "glory years" (if they truly existed) have passed for this hotel, and now it's become something of a budget hotel for the cost-conscious. So although the internal fittings are reminiscent of the 1970s, everything we encountered was clean and functional (except for the oh-so-retro radio in the headboard of the bed, but there was a fully working TV instead). The beds themselves were comfortable and the shower and bathroom were clean and had ample hot water. The staff were friendly and helpful, and all spoke excellent English. Breakfasts were buffet-style with a reasonably good choice of cold and hot food, there's a bar (which wasn't open during the weekend we were there) and a small "library" with a selection of books and magazines -- mostly in Norwegian. Downsides -- the place definitely needs some redecoration, both inside and out, and its location means that it's a 30-minute walk from the city centre. That doesn't sound too bad, but if you've arrived back at the ferry terminal after a day's hiking up and down Preikestolen, say, it's a disheartening thought to realise you then have another 2.5km of trudging through the city streets to get back to your room. The alternative would be a taxi (horribly expensive in Norway) or a bus, although we never quite worked out which was the best bus to get. There are also a lack of decent places to eat in the area, and at weekends the hotel only serves breakfast, no evening meal, so we ended up sending out for takeaway pizza. So I'd recommend this hotel if you're on a budget, or if you're an afficionado of 1970s Nordic interior design! It's got what you need as a place to sleep and to relax after being a tourist or hiking, but the location isn't ideal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from united kindom

friendly

Posted May 15, 2011
First hotel Alstor is a clean and comfortable hotel in a quiet location, it is a bit dated but is being updated at the moment. Food is excellent and the staff are friendly and polite. It is a 30-40 minute walk to Stavanger and its a walk i would recommend with its fantastic scenery and lakes throughout. I would certainly go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Colin from Scotland

Stavanger hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2010
Showing its age a bit, but still a very good friendly hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Friendly Hotel in Stavanger

Posted Nov 15, 2010
The Alstor is in urgent need of investment to refurbish the bedrooms but if you can live with a hotel with a slightly worn look you will find the staff always friendly and helpful, which actually means that along with its convenient location you will leave happy and relaxed.