Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Castle Rock, Colorado

Great Condo - Close to the Mountain

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Proximity to everything - downtown, the mountain, stores and groceries. The décor was very comfortable and clean. Having a washer/dryer in the unit.
Cons: Better utensils in the kitchen. Towel hangers in the bathroom. One is not enough even for two people.
Location: Close the mountain for easy access to the shops and mountain biking. It was also just a few minutes away from downtown to all the shops
The whole complex is only about 4 years old and still a nice size. We had a one bedroom with a den that would sleep 6. However with only 1 bathroom, it would not be the best situation for couples. For a family - it would be just fine. The Den had a foldout queen and the main living area couch also folds out. The kitchen was fairly large with a nice granite island. However there were not enough cooking utensils so we were always washing dishes. There was not a large salad bowl so we had to use a glass baking dish. The unit was missing an electric can opener and the manual one would not open certain cans - so our over all cooking experience hampered the vacation. The complex has a nice pool, hot tub and exercise room. The outdoor area has a patio with two grills. So my suggestions to the Wyndham staff are - put better cooking utensils into the units and towel hangers in the bathroom to allow better use by more guests. Otherwise a great property that is next to the chair for access in winter to the slopes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Really comfortable beds and bed arrangement, very nice spacious kitchen
We had a very pleasant stay, my only complaint was it was really hot in our room the first night and it would have been nice to have had the air conditioning turned on prior to our arrival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Cons: Less restrictions on allowing guests to visit.
Great location for rest and relaxation. Beautiful rooms. Love the decor and balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by mike from GRAND RAPIDS MI

Great First Ski Trip!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Beautiful, new, clean condo. Great friendly staff. Nice location (convenient with the Gondola right outside to get you to the base!).
Cons: Little. More frequent housekeeping maybe? Not a big deal for us-we kept it clean!
Location: Incredible location. Town is great. Beautiful Yampa River running through it. That bad smell is a sulphur spring near the library-not your husband!
Researched CO resorts for a Spring Break '14 ski trip. Chose SBS as it seemed family friendly, less arrogant/expensive. Steamboat is a sweet town with a great range of restaurants-we loved The Laundry and Mahoganey Ridge. We stayed at Trailhead Lodge in a 2bed/2bth condo. Was really nice with plenty of space for me and Mrs along with 3 teenage sons. Nice balcony overlooking the private gondola that took us right to the base. We grocery shopped and used the condo's kitchen and outdoor grill for many of our meals. Staff folks were really nice. Seemed to be skiers and offered us recommendations that were very helpful. One of the Wildhorse gondola guys gave me a coupon for a lift ticket-REALLY nice, considering how hard it is to get discounted tickets to SBS! Those guys are great ambassadeurs for the place! Outdoor pool and 3 jacuzzi's were very clean and warm-nice way to relax after skiing! Work out room was great. The development was under 50% occuppied, so we had our run of the place. Sounds like it's busy in Summer and Holidays, so go in early-mid April-the skiing was incredible!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Loveland, CO

Great Stay

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Great location, close to the ski resort. Wonderful amenities, heated pool and 3 hot tubs, plus a rec. room for kids with a pool table, xbox, and other
Cons: Later check out time. Check out is 10 a.m.
Location: Close to the ski resort, shopping, dining, downtown, and area attractions.
Great location, close to the ski resort. Wonderful amenities, heated pool and 3 hot tubs, plus a rec. room for kids with a pool table, xbox, and other games. Room was very nice. Staff was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Houston

Could be great

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Location and modern amenities
Cons: Room was dirty and dusty on arrival. We had to wash the sofa sheets and found socks in the closet and under the bed from previous guests.
Location: Not much in walking distance but the gondola takes you to the base of the ski area with everything close by.
Great amenities and location with the gondola on site makes it easy to get to gondola square. Don't expect a staff that caters like a hotel. Nice to have a kitchen and fireplace along with a stackable washer and dryer. The room felt smaller than the sq ft listed but was adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich from Sarasota, Fl

Great Ski Spot, but more a Condo rental than Hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Comfortable rooms, private gondola, reliable shuttle into town
Cons: While they have a ski locker area, skis are left outside on racks till about 9:30 at night then rolled inside completely unsupervised for hours on end
Location: Skiing is the only reason to come to Steamboat in the Winter
Enjoyed our stay and the room met expectations for price point for a 1 BR plus den 713 S.F.. Bed are very comfy and utilizes work very well. Gas Fireplace is a plus. 5 minute Private Gondola ride to ski area makes this place work. Staff is minimally interactive but will do what you need if directly asked. Gondola only runs late (after 6 pm) on Fri-Sun nights (to 9:30) into the ski village.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by anonymous from Denver

Loved it

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Great accommodations. Friendly and helpful staff. Gondola takes you to ski resort. Room - a queen with kitchenette --was true to the photos on the website. My one peeve is that there is not daily housekeeping. It's not an inexpensive place to stay, but after our special occasion getaway, would definitely recommend it!
3 out of 5
by Marcus from Evergreen Co

Stuck in the Rain

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Jacuzzis/pool were great. Maid service once they showed up were good. Shuttle drivers / bellman and most of the front desk staff were very friendly..
Cons: Please read our experience details.
Location: Snowmobiling, cross country skiing , snow shoeing, horseback riding and the list goes on and on… : - )
The staff seemed friendly and compitent and then when the wind gusts over 25 miles per hr. the Gondola to the property shuts down… Very wise move. What went wrong was we were left waiting for shuttle busses in the rain for over 25 minutes at the peak hours of 4pm -5pm.. The correct and easy solution was to increase the number of buses picking up Stranded Wet Lodge Customers. One family was there a lot longer than us and joined in on our frustration. In a ski town the peak hours are in the morning are from 8:30 am -10 and 3:30 pm -5 pm. This is when skiers and boarders are moving up and/or coming down off the mountain. We saw numerous Wyndham busses coming and going with half filled buses however , no one could help us. The bottom line to satisfying a wet frustrated customer is a simple apology and a more pro active solution would be put in place. Instead we received a dialogue of we only have one bus for mountain shuttles and we had to run to town to pick up other customers. The question is do you take/pickup a family of 4-5 into town or do you shuttle 25-50 customers off the mountain every 15 minutes? The answer : Obtain more buses and staff to accomandate your customers. We were thinking to purchase a residence on this property of Trail Head Lodge of Wyndham properties . That ship or should we say that bus has gone into town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Lodge, with great Access to the slopes

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: The amenities of the lodge were great. Great athletic club and facilities. Would be a great place for families.
Cons: Room Sizes were a little small for the one bed room studio.
Location: Location is great
Great Lodge, with Great amenities, and great access to the slope. Take the Wildhorse Gondola right outside of the lodge doors to Gondola Square and be skiiing within 5-10 mins.