Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thanks

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: A mirror and a chair in the room would've been nice
It's still a work in progress, but they're definitely going in the right direction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, USA

Enjoyed it!

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Nice setting, amazing food, pleasant staff, good comfortable beds.
Cons: The windows where not only dirty but had mold on them. I think they could easily be washed with a spunge mop or broom.
Location: wonderful forested sourroundings with mountains behind.
Our overall our experience was good. We relaxed, slept well and ate amazing food. It was great staying in a castle and although it is still in the "remodel and updating" state it was an enjoyable experience! We hope to make it back someday to see your continued improvements!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom kenilworth

Pleasant historic hotel friendly helpful staff

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, interesting building
Cons: Minor repairs to soap dishes, drive way pot holes etc.. would be helpful
Location: The location is a bit of a way out. It is within a short drive of sterling and the Wallace monument
We booked into Broomhall because of the Commonwealth games. I is a genuinely interesting building with historic restored features though some more renovation would help. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The wifi is only available in the ground floor public areas. It is in a town a little out from Sterling and there are not many restaurants or facilities within walking distance, though Sterling is in easy driving distance. The on site restaurant serves a limited but good standard menu.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gillianfrom Glasgow

A Beautiful Castle

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel building is really lovely - old, regal. Some areas could do with being modernised - our room was No 12 and had pine wardrobe etc. It was also quite small. The bathroom was nice but very stark. It looked fresh as it appeared recently refurbished but could do with some soft furnishing/pictures to make it seem more sumptuous and to soften the edges. Breakfast was nice and the waitresses were very chatty, friendly and an asset to the hotel. The cost for 1 night with breakfast was £120 and based upon our previous experiences (we travel often), I think it was a bit steep. The manager/owner was very accommodating as we were given access to our room early (before it had been cleaned) to allow us a quick change as we were travelling to a wedding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Overall it was pretty much as expected...castle shows a little wear and tear (cut corners on finishings) which seperates it from other castle experiences...felt more like a B&B than a castle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom GA

Nice view

Posted Jul 15, 2014
A bit farther out from Stirling than expected. Beautiful view. Interesting building. Ok staying there. Wasnt wild about it but cant complain either really.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brisbane, Australia

Comfortable stay in a quirky building.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Large room with high ceilings. Very comfortable bed and pillows.
Cons: Floor boards creak but only to be expected.
Location: William Wallace monument, Stirling Castle, walk the hill behind the castle
Large rooms with a super comfortable bed. Great food. Dining room has a casual atmosphere. We stayed 2 nights but could easily have stayed more. Take a walk up the hill behind the baronial mansion after dinner and watch the sun set.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Travel Girlfrom San Antonio, TX

Fun place to stay

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the Broomhall Castle. Our friends in the states were so jealous when they saw the pictures. It is an older building and the elevator might break soon, but glad they had one for our luggage. The breakfast is huge, we didn't even need lunch and just needed a light dinner after that meal. We had dinner there one night, chicken and lamb. A very expensive meal but nice not many options. The next night we eat in town at a restaurant. Beautiful location. The room was nice older toilet and older room, but lots of character. The staff were very friendly and welcoming as well. The internet is terrible! While on vacation we were in the process of purchasing a home and car and needed reliable internet and it was only available in the lobby downstairs and late at night everyone would huddle around that spot to get access. That was a little annoying and could easily be fixed, but hopefully most people are there to enjoy time away from things like facebook and email.