Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom ottawa, on

Wonderful stay, sleep and location!

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Location, the view, comfy beds, cleanliness, services available.
Cons: Restaurant hours/menu.
Location: Stirling castle, restaurants, train station.
The hotel is quite opulent and well placed to see Stirling Castle. We had booked a family room despite not having kids (1 on the way), this hotel would be ideal for families as they have a bunk room, with a desk, TV and snacks in the kids room. The main room had a lovely view, very comfortable bed, was clean and nice bathroom. We didn't take advantage of the spa or pool but it looked marvellous. The restaurant left a little to be desired but we simply walked down the hill and found a nice local place. The hotel is halfway up the hill to Stirling and it located directly between the train station and the castle, great location all in all. We will definitely stay there next time we visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Had a lovely stay staff were excellent and hotel was very clean and comfortable.Couldnt ask for anything more for a weekend away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

Nice hotel with pool and handy for the centre

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Conveniently close to the town centre and the swimming pool.
Cons: The squash court was out of action and it would look better if it wasn't.
Location: Handy for the castle, the Smith art gallery & town centre. I can recommend McAree Brothers Knitting and Haberdashery shop on King Street.
We enjoyed our stay, chosen because it has a pool. The room was comfy but very hot. There appeared to be no where to buy coffee and entertain friends between meals unless the bar provided it,. We didn't ask) The one dinner we had was good but not fantastic though it was expensive. Breakfast on weekdays was better than at the weekend, but that is just us being a bit picky. We did enjoy our stay and would happily recommend it to others. Certainly it is very convenient for the town centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great location in Stirling

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Stirling Highland Hotel is in an old school and with its position just down from castle is hard to beat for location. It has a traditional Scottish feel and does get a number of groups, so won't suit everybody however. We found the staff very friendly, the room comfortable (but overly warm) and the breakfast was good. On our last day there were too many people at breakfast for the number of tables, so this does need to be addressed as those in the queue were not happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by donaldfrom Aberdeen

Return visit

Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms bit tired but decent hotel and good service. Donald
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pas un vrai 4 étoiles

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
A mon sens l'hôtel n'est pas un vrai 4 étoiles, les chambres ont besoin d'être rénovées. Problème avec wifi qui ne fonctionnait pas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Julie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in good location.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Hotel with loads of character in a good central position for shops and restaurants. Friendly staff who were cheery and helpful. Only moan was that breakfast hot plate and food was not hot and very depleted at 10am although serving 8 to 11am. Would return but take room only for this reason.