Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Great hotel, nice rooms in quiet yet accessible location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Bootique without the ooo

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Much bigger breakfast buffet - nothing wrong with the food, but the room is far too small.
Serious risk of head injury from low beams in the bathroom shoe-horned into the loft. The breakfast room is now far too small to accommodate the extra guests resulting from expansion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P from New Zealand

Beatiful hotel, well situated, character and charm

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The building and garden is charming. Breakfast in the dungeon-like cellar is quite an experience. Conveniently situated and perfectly quiet.
Cons: The colour scheme in the rooms is overpowering - I was blessed with purple and red - and the staff are rather clinical. Did not feel overly welcomed.
Location: Convenient to T station, in a great part of town.
The hotel is in a hitorical manor that has, for the most part, been beautifully renovated. It is conveniently situated near the Zinkensdamm T station, although a little hard to find - you have to go right up to the end of the street and through a pedestrian walkway to get to the hotel. Only downside is their cleaning staff who are intrusive, amateurish and desperate to get the job done - so I got woken up at 8am to be asked whether I wanted fresh towels?! Grrrrr.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from UK

Interesting hotel close to centre

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Interesting building with genuine character. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Convenient location. Decent price so close to city centre
Cons: Room cleaning during our stay was good but not top notch - some details missed No tea or coffee in rooms - but always available in a public space
Location: T bana nearby, three stops to Gamla Stan, shops, restaurants, museums, tours. Vasa is not to be missed.
We picked this hotel because it was a 3-star place, it is not part of a big chain, and it looked easy to get to the centre of Stockholm. It worked really well on all three counts. It is a lovely building with genuine character, and has good public spaces inside and outdoors. The rooms are interesting - especially ours, which wasn't very big but was still practical, comfortable, and had an old porcelain stove and a sleeping loft suitable for young children. The staff on the desk were helpful and friendly. The hotel provides a good breakfast in the charming under-croft. Location is amongst 5-storey blocks of flats, so whilst it didn't feel hemmed in there is no view. It is in a decent area, close to T-bana and then three stops into the centre of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Per Hellsten, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing this review, we really appreciate your kind words and are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! You seem to have had a great experience at our hotel and all the things you point out is what we do our utmost to deliver to all our guest. Hope to see you back with us anytime soon. Kind Regards, Per Hellsten
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by gianni_liguori from Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel, tiny room

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfasts
Cons: The beds!
Location: Not much in the immediate area, but extremely well connected by metro and close to everything you would want to see as a tourist.
The hotel is nice, in a quiet residential area but very well connected by metro (into central areas in 10 minutes). The hotel itself is in a lovely old building. However the rooms are tiny and we didn't even have the smallest room type. There literally wan't room to put two large suitcases on the floor to open them (we had to put one on the desk!). Also, the double bed was just two single beds pushed together with two single duvets. Granted we did not complain about this, so management didn't have an opportunity to try to rectify it for us, but I just found it odd. If you wanted a twin, you wouldn't want the beds stuck together. If you wanted a double, you definitely wouldn't want two single covers. Delicious buffet breakfasts though!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2014 by Per Hellsten, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time to write a review and I am glad that you appreciated the hotel, location and breakfast. Hotel Hellstens Malmgård is situated in a rebuilt mansion from 1770. It is a remarkable historic building which has been declared a cultural heritage site. Therefore the renovation of this house has been done very carefully. Due to this, the rooms are indeed very different and quite spectacular. A few are located on the top floor below the roof with wooden beams, some rooms are in fact small and narrow and many others again are bigger. To me this makes the hotel charming and something special, but I do understand if this was not ideal for you. We are always happy to help you as a guests to change room if you notify our staff about this at the reception. Regarding the beds we have both Twin beds and double beds in the room category standard double. We would have been happy to change you to a room with a double bed if you would had let us known. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to us again if you come back to Stockholm. Kind regards, Per Hellsten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Fantastic receptionist. Great Breakfast WiFi worked well Hotel charming
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2014 by Per Hellsten, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing this review, what a lovely one to receive! I am so glad to read that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast, wifi, hotel atmosphere and helpful staff. Kind regards Per Hellsten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CT from Sheffield, UK

Good hotel in Sodermalm, Stockholm.

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: It's a 200 year old family house converted to a hotel. Many of the original features have been kept, like the stone floors and the arched roof cellar.
Cons: The hot water wasn't as hot as I would have liked it to be.
Location: There are and lots of cafes and shops to visit on the streets around the hotel. There are also parks to visit.
I enjoyed my stay. The room was big enough and warm enough for me. I slept well each night. The hotel staff were always pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2014 by Per Hellsten, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing this review, what a nice one to receive. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your room, breakfast and especially our helpful staff! We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to us again in the future if you come back to Stockholm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great choice for something a little different.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the bread at breakfast was the way to make a morning start out right.
Cons: Somehow if they could get the Stockholm taxi drivers to know where they were, that would be helpful.
Location: Even in the winter, 20 minutes walk into the Gamla Stan. And the subway stop only a very short walk away if you don't want to see the city on foot.
It not only looks old, it is old. But charming old, and well maintained. Modernized where it counts (bathrooms, TV's, wireless internet, etc, but old in its wooden floors, its gated courtyard, and its quiet location. This is not a hotel for travelers looking for luxury, it is one for people looking for a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I think your comment is spot on what I have wanted to achieve with the hotel; a great experience. I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com