Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location Charming character
Cons: Rooms are quite small, typical of Europe.
Easy walking distance to attractions like Vasa museum, City Hall etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Oxford, UK

A lovely find!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: As above.
Cons: A kettle in the room, but that was my only very 'British' gripe!
Location: From the hotel you can find restaurants close by, boats for trips around the arhipelago, and a short walk to get to the main museums.
I was very pleased with my choice of hotel when arriving at the Hotel Diplomat. It looks great from the outside and the inside! The position is just perfect, particularly if you want to be down by the water and within walking distance to the main areas of interest in Stockholm. I was pleased with the room and felt it met my expectations. It did not matter to me that I chose one without a view over the water since every day you walk out of the hotel to amazing views, and lovely fresh air that was very invigorating. The quaint old fashioned lift, and the lovely stain glass windows up the stairwell, as well as other features were all lovely. You can't go wrong with this hotel in terms of ambience, location, its cleanliness, and the friendly, welcoming staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by loulou from brighton

Great location, room far too hot

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent.
Cons: Ability to change room temperature.
Location: Lovely location and really easy to walk to most attractions or easy to jump on a tram / bus.
The hotel was in a great location, easy to walk everywhere! I was however slightly disappointed as the room was far too hot and only way to keep it cool was to have windows open but this then meant you had the hum of heating / air con units from outside. Also paid for superior room with courtyard view - wouldn't bother to be honest as courtyard view was painted wall on back of hotel, not something you want to look out at and very dark room. Room also felt small for a superior room! Really helpful staff and when we had a few problems they sorted it straight away for us. Lunch in the T/bar was lovely. Gym looked good but didn't use it. There is a great cafe (Cafe Linne) next door, really friendly staff, gorgeous cakes & pastries. Definitely recommend a visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by loulou from brighton

Great location, room far too hot

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent.
Cons: Ability to change room temperature.
Location: Lovely location and really easy to walk to most attractions or easy to jump on a tram / bus.
The hotel was in a great location, easy to walk everywhere! I was however slightly disappointed as the room was far too hot and only way to keep it cool was to have windows open but this then meant you had the hum of heating / air con units from outside. Also paid for superior room with courtyard view - wouldn't bother to be honest as courtyard view was painted wall on back of hotel, not something you want to look out at and very dark room. Room also felt small for a superior room! Really helpful staff and when we had a few problems they sorted it straight away for us. Lunch in the T/bar was lovely. Gym looked good but didn't use it. There is a great cafe (Cafe Linne) next door, really friendly staff, gorgeous cakes & pastries. Definitely recommend a visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Griswald from Boston, MA

Beautiful hotel on the water.

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Location: The T-bar restaurant is pricey but excellent!
This hotel has an excellent location in Stockholm and it is in an older building so it has a lot of charm. The rooms are modern and clean. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely place

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Character property, great location and top notch staff
Cons: Washroom size
Great location - fantastic staff and a lovely place to stay while in Stockholm
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lori from Bend, OR

Love it! Great location!

Posted Dec 19, 2013
This is our new " go to" hotel in Stockholm. Excellent location, very comfortable, fairly priced. Go to the Vasa Museum, it is amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark and Ally L from Minneapolis, USA

Great Old World Paris

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Classic hotel with great staff. Loved almost everything but would not recommend their restaurant. Overpriced and food was not exceptional. There are plenty of cafes and bistros nearby. We would stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul H from Hampshire,UK

Classy hotel in prime location

Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
A comfortable hotel right in the centre of the city; helpful and well-trained staff; restaurant great for dinner and breakfast; pricey - but then so is everything in Stockholm.