Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Beautiful Hotel in A Great Location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The service at this hotel was excellent. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was outstanding.
Location: Sightseeing tours by water, The Vasa Museum was a 10 minute walk. Many great restaurants within walking distance.
We were only in Stockholm for 2 nights. Our stay at the Hotel Diplomat was very nice. It is a beautiful building near the water and in walking distance to many popular tourist sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2014
The location is pretty good. The tram station is located about 200 meters away from hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Too overpriced for what it has to offer

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the water and boats, as well a sthe proximity to old town
Cons: Needs another elevator!
Location: Good location
Overall, a nice hotel, close to the water and sightseeing trips. Rooms are small; only one elevator, which has to be opened manually. Breakfast is good. Staff are very friendly. Overpriced rooms. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pippa from U.K.

Great central waterfront location

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The hotel is in a good location and we were very happy with the room - 6th floor, overlooking the waterfront, spotlessly clean and a good size.
Cons: Check-in could have been smoother (in a hotel of this calibre more staff should have been brought in to prepare the rooms for the incoming guests)
Location: On the bus, tram and hop on-hop off tour bus route. Walking distance from Vasa Museum and old city, and plenty of restaurants.
Can't fault the location, room or cleanliness. We didn't eat in the hotel, so can't comment on the quality of the food or restaurant facilities. Only fault was the scrum at check-in at 3.15 p.m., caused (apparently) by a wedding the day before where all guests had late check-outs coupled with the arrival of a number of cruise ship passengers. Although check-in is stated as 3 p.m., the rooms were not ready and a number of guests were, not surprisingly, not happy! There were only 2 computer terminals available at the check-in desk, which compounded the problem and exacerbated the queues. Our own room was available just after 4 p.m.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from Doncaster

Well located hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Very convenient for sightseeing and shopping with views across the harbour
Cons: A shower rather than a bath/shower. If you are getting older it is more difficult to get in and out of a bath
Location: Royal Palace and other public buildings and museums are nearby
This hotel was conveniently located for sightseeing and shopping. It was well managed and the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Allowing for the constraints of an older building the room was comfortable and well appointed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from San Francisco Bay Area

Great stay

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds and clean, large bathrooms
Cons: The elevator system, maybe there was another one that I just didn't see -- the old classic one, very stylish and appealing can only handle two people.
Location: Right in the heart of the strip, great views, easy access to the museums, parks, waterways, and shopping.
Beautiful hotel right on the strip with great views - very popular bar with an outdoor cafe for coffee, wine, or dining. Rooms were very comfortable and staff are very friendly. The only challenge was the well-kept classic elevator - great to look at and ride, but can only handle one or two people at a time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gareth from bridgend, Wales

High end hotel overlooking Stockholm harbour

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly environment and relative value for money. Welcome for all ages.
Cons: Provide tea & coffee facilities in the rooms.
Location: Stockholm harbour - museums, galleries and boat trips.
A highly rated hotel maintaining excellent quality and friendly service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tiger from Washington, DC USA

Location, location, location

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: see above
I chose this hotel for its location and the view of the water from the front rooms. I was happy that I did so, especially since it was easy to walk to shops, museum, the Royal Palace and other things one might want to see and do when one has a limited time. It was so central. The bath was especially nice, great shower, and the linens for good as well. I was not feeling well for one day, and I enjoyed having a nice place to be and still feel that I could "see and enjoy" the city view. the furniture was a little bit plain. It needed to be little more upscale I felt for the price, but it was all comfortable. The mini-bar might have had a few more drink choices. I ended up eating in the hotel most of the time. The food was quite nice, and the service was fine. I ended up eating after the dining room closed.... at 10:30 and not 11:00 as the sign said, but the staff made an effort to get me something quite special from what was available. Whitefish roe and creme brulee. Both were so good that I repeated then the next night even though the kitchen was still fully operation. The desk staff were especially helpful. I might save money and try one of the courtyard rooms next time, but I really did enjoy waking up this time to the view of the water and building on the other shore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location Charming character
Cons: Rooms are quite small, typical of Europe.
Easy walking distance to attractions like Vasa museum, City Hall etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Oxford, UK

A lovely find!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: As above.
Cons: A kettle in the room, but that was my only very 'British' gripe!
Location: From the hotel you can find restaurants close by, boats for trips around the arhipelago, and a short walk to get to the main museums.
I was very pleased with my choice of hotel when arriving at the Hotel Diplomat. It looks great from the outside and the inside! The position is just perfect, particularly if you want to be down by the water and within walking distance to the main areas of interest in Stockholm. I was pleased with the room and felt it met my expectations. It did not matter to me that I chose one without a view over the water since every day you walk out of the hotel to amazing views, and lovely fresh air that was very invigorating. The quaint old fashioned lift, and the lovely stain glass windows up the stairwell, as well as other features were all lovely. You can't go wrong with this hotel in terms of ambience, location, its cleanliness, and the friendly, welcoming staff.