Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warsaw

An enjoyable 24 hours at The Hornsgatan

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Very little. Oh, they should lay on tomato juice for breakfast.
Location: The Hornsgatan is on a street with many shops, bars and amenities close to the docks and 'the old town'.
From Stockholm Central bus station, it is a pleasant 30 minute walk through 'the old town' to get to the Hornsgatan. So, retracing your steps, you're only 10 minutes back to 'the heart of the city'. The Hornsgatan is quiet, airy and welcoming. My bedroom was simple but served its purpose. My bed was comfortable and I slept well. There was a wide choice for the breakfast buffet and free access to the Internet for guests. ** However, the Hornsgatan's greatest asset was/is its front desk manager, Carol. Carol was/is very helpful, friendly and welcoming. The hotel should hold on to her.
2 out of 5
by Happy Family from Canada

Shared Bathrooms and Noise Disappointing

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The rooms were clean and fairly large by Swedish Standards and the Staff were very nice.
Cons: The noise, security and cleanliness of the shared bathrooms. Some of the bathrooms were extremely small and lacked counter space
Location: Location was good, centrally located and easy to get to the tourist sights.
The hotel was clean and Staff was very nice and helpful but the disappointment was the shared bathrooms and noise in the middle of the night. People were coming and going and using the bathrooms and we couldn't get any sleep at all the second night. I talked myself into booking the room based on reviews that said the shared bathroom were fine. I know now that I will never book another hotel with a shared bathroom. Also it was a concern that there was no one at the hotel front desk from 10 pm till 6 in the morning. I was concerned for security. There was also lots of noise outside of our room the last evening we stayed, it sounded like loud, drunk people. I really was so glad to check out. I wish it would have been a better experience because the staff were very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Milan from London

A lovely stay

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Overall cozy feeling, not a mega hotel feeling of being just a number. You are a guest in here not a customer. My comfy bed.
Cons: I would definitely improve the visibility of the hotel as you can easily pass by without noticing it. A small black and white plaque marks the hotel.
Location: Great busy and popular area with many restaurants, bars, shops, galleries. Mainly local people, which is great. You get the idea of their live style.
Hotel is situated on 1st floor 19th century apartment block on a popular/noisy road, however, this fact does not disturb hotel guests, as all is taken care off. Reception staff very friendly and helpful with any request. Great Stockholm attractions menu available at reception. Rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated, it feels like a boutique hotel but a bit more modern. Very cozy indeed. Beds super comfortable and white crispy linen just enhancing this feeling. For me personally, this is one of the facts that hotel must have to satisfy me. Breakfast served in a bright rooms facing the street. Breakfast consists of continental breakfast choices as well as bread, salami, sausage, boiled eggs, cheese, fresh cut vegetables and of course tea, coffee, juices and yogurts. Its a buffet style B&B breakfast, therefore, do not expect scrambled eggs eggs benedict.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tom from NY

A Gem of a Hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Just 3 stops from Stockholm Central, located in a thriving, bustling neighborhood Hornsgatan is a jewel of a place. Klara and Carol add charm to a stately, charming 100 yr old building. Lovely interior, a sweet Scandinavian experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LJ641 from London

Excellent!

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Myself and my friend were extremely happy with our stay at Hotel Hornsgaten. The people were so friendly and helpful, especially the blonde lady (we didn't catch her name unfortunately). They have food available all day and takeaway coffee cups for the road. The room was huge, clean and the beds were comfy. We chose a room with the shared bathroom facilities and found them perfectly clean and usually available - they even provide shower gel and shampoo/conditioner. The only thing to note is that there is a club/bar nearly at the weekends which my friend struggled with a little - I had earplugs so didn't hear it at all. I've also read it was hard to get to but i found these directions and found it easy; Take the underground in the direction of Norsborg and Fruängen (red line). Get off at Mariatorget, three stops from the central station. Take the exit Torkel Knutssonsgatan. At the entrance/exit at street level, turn to your right and walk straight ahead until reaching Hornsgatan. Walk across Hornsgatan and turn to your right, walk straight ahead for approx. 100 metres. The entrance to Hotel Hornsgatan is found next to the restaurant Marie Laveau. Overall we were very happy with our stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend it to our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kristi from Woodstock, il

Home away from home!

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is off the beaten path, yet so conveniently located. I thought the shared bathroom would be an issue, but there were 5 of them and they were clean and nice- not an issue at all! The room was charming and the staff was so helpful and kind. The breakfast room was also so lovely and there was coffee, tea, and juice always available. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious! I would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Ralph from London

Great location but it's a hostel

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very welcoming but it is a hostel not a hotel - I.e. Shared bath / toilet - they wanted to ensure I knew where to go, hotspots etc so the people were brilliant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Krystal from Tucson, AZ

All in all very nice, earplugs are a good idea...

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean, and we had a lovely spacious room. We were only a block from a metro stop and walking distance from a ton of restaurants and shops and galleries. The setup is a little unique in that when you first arrive you have to use the callbox on the street to get in, and after you are checked in you have a code to get in. It worked great for us, we felt like the hotel area (on the second floor) was very secure and private. Our room was well set up, the only downsides were that the bed was 2 singles pushed together instead of 1 big bed, and it made it a little hard to snuggle in the middle like we normally do. Also we were on the street side and above a club, so it was a little noisy at night. Not too bad at all though, my husband slept with no problems, and I just put in earplugs and had no complaints. The shared bathroom situation was no problem, we never had to wait once for one to free up and they were always clean and well stocked. The breakfast area was also always clean and had drinks and snacks on hand at all times. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious, and I thought it was really nice that there was a small fridge for the guests in case we had leftovers. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful, even going so far as to pack us a breakfast for our incredibly early departure and helping us find the right train to take to the airport. All in all a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A most welcoming place

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I've stayed in hotels all over the world, at every price point, and the welcome I received at Hornsgatan is among the best. Smiling faces, genuine care, lots of time spent orienting you to the city, every question answered, choices of rooms presented, free coffee and tea throughout the day. Room itself also had a very warm, inviting feeling, with typical Scandinavian decor and thoughtful design touches. Yes, the bathrooms are shared but I found that to be no problem at all. Breakfast was delicious. The Sodermalm location near T-bana stop Mariatorget made it easy to get to everything. Would stay here again and will tell friends visiting Stockholm to also choose the Hornsgatan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simon from Buckinghamshire, UK

Fabulous, friendly and unexpected

Posted Sep 28, 2013
A tiny hotel on a single floor in a residential area we were a little nervous when we rang the buzzer to be let in. There was no need to worry, the reception was exceptional with friendly, caring staff who engaged with all the guests. The facilities are basic but adequate with some rooms using shared bathrooms, the rooms were comfortable and great value. The dining room is open all day and night for guests to self serve with snacks and tea and coffee. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for visitors who just want somewhere comfortable and welcoming to stay and aren't too bothered about gyms, swimming pools and dining in.