Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Charming hotel in centre of old town

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Old town -very central
Staff uniformly helpful. Room clean and pleasant. Breakfast good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phuket, Thailand

Bijoux hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
a 400 year old hotel with 6 rooms in the middle of the old town. The location is ideal for everything you want to do. The staff is outstanding. You have everything you need: WIFI, fridge, safe. The breakfast is nice, you can have a coffee from the espresso machine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Gamla Stan at your doorstep!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The charm, age, patina and renovation of a 400 year old building!
Cons: It was sometimes hard for WIFI to reach up to the top floor. Given the fact that there was no elevator, running down to pick up a signal not ideal.
Location: Couldn't have asked for a better location. Right in the middle of Gamla Stan. Shopping and dining right outside of your doorstep.
Upon checking into the hotel, we quickly noticed that this was no ordinary place... no elevator, historic skeleton keys, and history at every turn of the spiraling staircase. I almost felt like we were at a secret location or home of a friend. More like an apartment - the top floor suite was so special!
3 out of 5
by 62 CA female from CA

TinyRoom

Posted May 16, 2014
Our room was so little we nicknamed it the Anne Frank room. It was difficult for two people to be in the room together. The bathroom was nice. The breakfast selection was excellent but go early as some selections are not replenished .
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AC from UK

Charming but avoid if you need total silence

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a lovely small hotel - not for everyone as there are steep stairs but really sweet. However I've had to give it a '2' for comfort purely for the fact that I was woken at 6am or 7am every morning due to people outside rolling clattering bins or something for ages on the cobbled streets or doing building work. Obviously this is completely out of the hotel's control but worth pointing out. Apart from this the room was lovely and comfortable - although the double bed was two twins, with two separate 'single' duvets. Did not find this a problem though. The staff are so welcoming and the breakfast buffet in their cafe is delightful (cold meats and cheese, bread, pastries, toast, home-made jams, wonderful tea selection etc). We definitely picked the best area to stay in as it's very beautiful, central and full of decent restaurants (plus some very pricey ones that looked intriguing!) yet not at all rowdy or overly touristy when we were there. And you get a proper big key for your room! Free wi-fi and bottled mineral water too. No bath in the tiny wetroom bathroom but the shower was better than most, very invigorating!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location in the old town. Staff very very welcoming. Great breakfasts. And so nice to have two comfy chairs rather than sit on the bed. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Drakelink from Portland, Oregon

Superb all around!

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Location: EVERYTHING is within walking distance.
For an authentic experience of what it may have been like to stay in an early 17th century lodging, with the most ideal location, friendliest staff as well as a delicious breakfast....stay at Sven Vintappare!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mid thirties from london

Wonderful, quirky, great location!

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Stayed at this hotel this weekend with two friends on the top floor suite (Room 7), cosy full attic, absolutely the perfect place to stay for a real Stockholm experience. In the very heart of Gamla Stan, the old and most atmospheric area of Stockholm. The staff were wonderful, so friendly and could not do enough for you. The hotel is small but quirky and unique and I'm so glad I booked for us to stay here. On a little alley just off of the cobbled streets which are full of cafés, restaurants, bars and shops. Two minutes walk to the water and tunnelbanna. Breakfast nice cold buffet in the tiny cosy cafe downstairs, wide selection of breads, teas, coffee and biscuits with cold cuts, fruit, jams etc. You won't regret booking this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tyler from Hinckley, Ohio

Excellent Location & Alternative to Larger hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Location, room style and decor, comfortable bed
This hotel oozed charm, built in 1607 and with only 8 rooms, it is a great alternative to a larger hotel. The staff was extremely helpful, while also respecting privacy. I would definitely stay here in the heart of Old Town / Gamla Stan on my next trip to Stockholm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to everything in central Stockholm

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent small hotel in Gamla Stan. 3-4 blocks walk from the T stop. Easy to get to all of the sites in Sodermalm, central Stockholm, Kungsholmen and of course Gamla Stan. Charming and very old, but well maintained. The staircase up was steep. Not an issue for us, but with heavy bags or someone not fit, it could be challenging. Overall, we loved our stay. Will consider it again.