Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, helpful staff

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Three girls sharing a room can be fun but also crowded! We initially got a small room with three single beds but then we spoke to the hotel staff and asked to be moved in a bigger room. They luckily had something available and we got to stay in their family room. They were super helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The location of the hotel is also very convenient and central. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great position

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Our only problem was that the hotel had changed its name to Scandic. An email from them indicating to us this change of name would have been appreciated! The breakfast was great. Position to bus and metro was excellent. We would recommend this Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Great location, but be prepared for compromises

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Location! Breakfast buffet was great. Friendly, courteous staff. Clean rooms.
Cons: Weak air conditioning overpowered by passive solar effect. Shower drainage smelled bad. Soap container not refilled. Shower cold water not working.
Location: Hotorget market, Hotorgshallen food market, Metro, Kafe Esaias, city tunnel, K25 food court, Drottningatan shopping street, main train station.
Stayed at the Scandic Kungsgatan for seven days this July 2014, and while it was a great stay, a few little annoyances prevent me from giving this hotel a 5-star rating. The 3 best things: location, breakfast buffet, and friendly staff. The 3 worst things: weak air conditioner that never overcame the passive solar effect from the windows, foul smell coming out of the shower drainage, and hand-soap containers that were never refilled. Overall, though, the hotel was quite nice and I would stay here again, but I would be demanding of a few things. Thus, if I were to book again in the summer, this is what I would ask for: room without windows or at least not exposed to afternoon sun, demand that all soap containers be filled when needed. Not sure what to ask about the shower drainage, as this may be more of a structural (plumbing) problem than anything else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louise from Sydney Australia

Good location

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was included and was really quite good.
Cons: Staff service - they were not very efficient and didn't really seem to know what they were doing.
Location: Near the Concert Hall and Drottinggatan where there were lots of restaurants. Near a hop-on/off bus stop as well. A good location
The hotel has changed its name but I was never notified so arrived and was very confused as I couldn't find it! Hotel staff said - "we left a note for a few days". This is not really acceptable as people can book in advance and should be told of changes such as this. Hotel staff seemed very dis-organised and when I originally got there, they didn't have my booking even though it was paid in advance. Room was OK other than the curtains not being heavy enough so it was light due to the time of the year. Breakfast was included and was really quite good. Good location also.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel in a Great location

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location, safety and clean are the keys to this hotel.
Cons: Offer a larger room with actual windows. And cheer up the staff. Nobody on the staff was pleasant. They did their job but don't expect a smile.
Location: Excellent location. Close to the Hop on Hop off, shopping, restaurants, bars, opera, playhouses and site seeing.
There is nothing fancy about this hotel. But it is very clean and safe. The rooms are very small and have no windows. Not what you want if you are looking to spend anytime at all in your room. However, it has a great location in the middle of all the tourist attractions. Walking distance to many great restaurants, operas, shopping and site seeing. Comfortable and quiet if you are just looking to sleep 8 hours.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near train station

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Nice hotel in the middle of Stockholm near the train station. Staff was fine, clean room and its quiet. The rooms don't have any windows, which was a bit more disconcerting than I expected.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fahad from Jeddah, KSA

Good hotel but far a way from downtown

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: It was near to Karlioniska Institute Dental school at the south campus
Cons: Internet Wifi should be included in the room rate, supplying soap and shampoo to the toilets.
Location: Near to train station
The room was so small in size, i don't like the toilet ( No soap, No shampoo were provided). I found it difficult for me to go to my meeting next day morning at Hotell Norrtull in the downtown
2 out of 5
by C from New York, NY

Good location

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: The location is excellent. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: For the price we think that some products like a small bar of soap etc should be available. The all purpose liquid soap is expected in a bargain hotel
The room was very basic, but functional. We did not enjoy the fact that the windows don't open. We were forced to turn on the air conditioning due to lack of fresh air. We chose the hotel because of the location and the fact that the breakfast was highly rated by other reviewers. There was a large selection of items available, but the coffee was not very good and it was difficult to gain access to any of the food because of the aggresive crowd. The room where the breakfast was served is much too small to accommodate the volume of guests. The breakfast experience was unfortunately not good at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dean from Vancouver

Overall Pretty Good Choice

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Location, beds, breakfast, soundproofing
Cons: Bathrooms need an update, rooms badly need a safe for a four star hotel, storage system could include a closet.
Location: Surrounded by high-street style shopping like H&M, walking distance to big dept stores like Ahlens and NK, 20 minutes to Gamla Stan.
The hotel is above and old department store, PUB central to most of the 'high-street' type shopping and a 15 minute walk from the most elegant shopping areas and centres such as Mood Stockholm. My room was VERY compact but functional, there are no closets to speak of just a hook and some hangers and there is no safe in the room which really was my only 'beef' as you had to carry valuables and check them at the front desk. Rooms have been recently reno'd but bathroom have not and IMO need it, rather depressing green tiles, chipping paint around the door. Beds are VERY comfy and rooms have good soundproofing as well, TV has but one english language channel, BBC World News, but the internet is fast and reliable. Breakfast is served off the lobby on the 4th floor, good selection but could use some fresh fruits. There's hot and cold, including bacon, scrambled eggs, pancakes, a waffle maker, 3 minute eggs plus a large selections of breads, cheeses and meats. Would recommend if you're not bringing a lot as storage is an issues. Overall a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janey from Sydney

Close to shopping and old city

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Easy walk through pedestrian shopping mall to the old city and Palace and to Central station.
Nice hotel well located close to shopping and old city. Room was very nice and the service was excellent. Breakfast was also excellent.