Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by George Cross from Kew

A bit dated but great value and service

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in this hotel over the Christmas period - which is a bit of an odd time of year - however the rooms were very clean and the service was great. The place was very quiet which made it feel a bit unloved. However, when we did meet staff they were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. The only thing I didn't like was the décor - which is stuck in the eighties in the bedrooms/bar/dining areas. The feature space was the club created in the ancient barn or hall that I assume gives the venue it's name. That was well worth a visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel but Clientele let it down

Posted Dec 23, 2013
I booked this hotel for a friend and I and stayed on Saturday 21 December. The hotel on arrival was lovely and the hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Up until the evening I honestly could not fault the hotel until people (not staying at the hotel) started arriving to go to the Nightclub which is attached to the hotel... to be honest to say the place and atmosphere changed dramatically was an understatement and the hotel turned into more of a pick up joint with nothing but a lot of young people who could not handle there alcohol which really lowered the tone of what was a lovely hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by S124587 from Hertfordshire

Nothing special

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed here as convenient for business. First room that I was allocated smelt strongly of smoke but I was offered an alternative room with no issue. Second room was fine, extremely large and clean. Bathroom spacious and clean but with no shower curtain or screen it quickly turned into a wet room...very odd design! Service in the bar was friendly and prompt - did not eat in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Canada from Derby

Bar with night club

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Country hotel ? Turned up to 3 bouncers on the door to a full scale party wedding and noise this should be called pub and nightclub not at all what you expect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by dmac from durham

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rooms need upgrading even if it meant psying a little more per night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cat from N wales

Amazing value for money

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Location: Easy to find, free parking
Stayed here on friday night, hotel room was spotless, nice big bath - with plenty of hot water!! :) The club was busy but always managed to get a drink quickly at the bar and the beef butties at 2am were just what we needed - if a little expensive though. Would definitely stay here again, deserves to be 4* in my opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Howard from Cardiff

Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location near Stockport and within easy reach of the Peak District. Good inclusive deal for Manchester Airport, room, parking and transfer to and from the airport. The hotel does not use make the best use of the terrace outside the bar, with insufficient seating and tables.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Happy wanderer from Gloucester

excellent hotel ~ a first class experience

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We couldnt fault the hotel. It came highly recommended and lived up to its reputation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Jun 27, 2013
For the cost £89 this hotel is disappointing. There are plenty of cheaper hotels in the area that are much better quality.