Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from earth

fab

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: people
Cons: not much
Location: paradise and no end of things to do
fab factor x 3 , chill factor x 2 , people factor x X, wow factor xv$$
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Overlooking harbour

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: The warm welcome and friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Slightly hotter water and more pressure from the shower but this is only an observation not a complaint, we have had much worse in other hotels.
Location: Mon - Sat there are small museums to visit but unless walking or cycling hire a small car to explore the islands and villages.
Older style hotel overlooking the harbour. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent from the full breakfast to the varied evening meals, in fact we ate in the hotel restaurants each night as we enjoyed the food and service so much. Packed lunch can be supplied on request which is useful as much of Scotland observes the Sabbath and most places are closed on Sunday. Flying into and out of Stornoway airport was a joy... no queues for security or long waits before boarding and the air hostesses were so friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Don't your hotel to eat....

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Comfort, drinks and dining. The staff are very friendly
We have stayed here before and chose to return. If the weather is poor, don't despair. You don't need to leave this Hotel to have a wonderful experience. The 3 dining areas are to be recommended. We travelled from the south of the Hebrides to the north and The Royal had the best breakfast by far as well as the best dinner. The rooms were als very comfortable. # 27 has a lovely view. Well done Chef. Hopefully we will return, but from Australia.....we'll see
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Nice position overlooking harbour

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Comfy beds, nice location.
Cons: The Breakfasts
Location: Ideally situated in Stornaway for the ferry terminal and sightseeing.
We stayed at the Royal Hotel for 3 nights in February 2015 with friends. The rooms were clean and comfortable, nice white bedding and towels and our shower was ok although our friends really struggled! We had some nice evening meals downstairs in the Bistro but felt the breakfasts let them down. They were 'OK' but not great for the price charged. I believe the porrige was microwaved, mushrooms tinned,etc, overall not exciting!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good location, satisfactory hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
On harbour, good advice over where to eat with hotel restaurants booked, helpful over early breakfast. Small room, decor fairly typical for older hotels in Scotland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by LHaenlein from Düsseldorf

Nette Zimmer, Super Aussicht, tolles Essen

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels
Gemütliche Zimmer mit toller Aussicht. Sehr sauber, Essen im Restaurant und Frühstück hervorragend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the ferry

Posted Jun 16, 2014
quick visit and small room but easy to find and get in and out of. There was not enough parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt

Town Centre, excellent Staff

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Staff, Room 23
Cons: Makeover- a little tired.
Location: Town Centre location- 2m from Ferry. Great base for starting in the Hebrides. Plenty free parking outside and directly opposite.
2nd floor big room in the eaves- big comfy bed, big clean bathroom- big TV and most importantly for me FAST wifi! All staff were lovely, food was great (1kg pot of mussels is well recommended) Hotel itself (Not my room) could do with a lick of paint and a makeover but nothing wrong with it- a little tired that's all. I will definately stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels