Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wiltshire

Nice position overlooking harbour

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Comfy beds, nice location.
Cons: The Breakfasts
Location: Ideally situated in Stornaway for the ferry terminal and sightseeing.
We stayed at the Royal Hotel for 3 nights in February 2015 with friends. The rooms were clean and comfortable, nice white bedding and towels and our shower was ok although our friends really struggled! We had some nice evening meals downstairs in the Bistro but felt the breakfasts let them down. They were 'OK' but not great for the price charged. I believe the porrige was microwaved, mushrooms tinned,etc, overall not exciting!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good location, satisfactory hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
On harbour, good advice over where to eat with hotel restaurants booked, helpful over early breakfast. Small room, decor fairly typical for older hotels in Scotland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by LHaenleinfrom Düsseldorf

Nette Zimmer, Super Aussicht, tolles Essen

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Gemütliche Zimmer mit toller Aussicht. Sehr sauber, Essen im Restaurant und Frühstück hervorragend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the ferry

Posted Jun 16, 2014
quick visit and small room but easy to find and get in and out of. There was not enough parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt

Town Centre, excellent Staff

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Staff, Room 23
Cons: Makeover- a little tired.
Location: Town Centre location- 2m from Ferry. Great base for starting in the Hebrides. Plenty free parking outside and directly opposite.
2nd floor big room in the eaves- big comfy bed, big clean bathroom- big TV and most importantly for me FAST wifi! All staff were lovely, food was great (1kg pot of mussels is well recommended) Hotel itself (Not my room) could do with a lick of paint and a makeover but nothing wrong with it- a little tired that's all. I will definately stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alanfrom Preston

4 star price for a 2 star hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2012
Pros: the food in the restaurant
Cons: poor value for money
Location: good position near the centre of Stornoway
The hotel is very well situated near the centre of Stornoway. Apparently it is part way through a renovation process and there is a definite need for some of the common areas and the carpets everywhere to be upgraded. The price we paid was not cheap and we did not feel that it represented value for money. However we did have an excellent experience in the bistro restaurant, where the quality of the food and the service was first-class. Breakfast was also very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mo and Wilffrom Salford, UK

The place to stay in Stornoway!

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff and the lovely Scottish breakfasts
Cons: Lack of shelves in the bathroom is the only thing we would change
Location: Perfect position for its views and its convenience
The hotel occupies a prime position in Stornoway. It overlooks overlooks the harbour and all the town's amenities are very close by. Recent improvements have taken place and these work well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Markfrom Dumfries & Galloway

Stornoway Hideaway

Posted Jul 10, 2011
The Royal Stornoway is a very comfortable hotel in the centre of Stornoway. It isn't cheap however the food and service are good so I would say it is value for money.