Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kelly from Bridgeport, CT, USA

Great to combine a business stay with UCONN.

Posted Mar 6, 2013
Quick check in and check out. Restaurant staff was excellent. We were able to be seated despite the restaurant being booked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Review for Nathan Hale Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2012
The Hotel was not busy at all and they put us as far away from the elevator as possible. The Hot Tub was warm - not hot like it should be. They only had plain bagels offered in the morning and it took forever to get just 2 of them to go and then we had to apply our own cream cheese - very inconvenient. My son is thinking of attending UCONN and I am not sure I would stay at this Hotel again while visiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

noise

Posted Oct 4, 2012
It is also used as a student housing, we had someone below us that had music on quite loud, but the front desk took care of it. No other issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Wonderful Hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2012
Absolutely Wonderful. Have nothing to complain about. Loved the free coffee. Great location for visiting the University of Connecticut.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellant Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2012
We entered our room to find that housekeeping had not prepared the room - no sheets, towels etc. The front desk had some problems finding another room for us but the new room was an upgrade and we received complimentary breakfast for our inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cindy from New Hampshire, USA

Fine overall

Posted Jul 18, 2012
Pros: Very convenient location on campus
Cons: Bath wallpaper was coming off wall
Location: Great campus location
Overall I was fine with this hotel the only negative comments I have is the wallpaper was coming off the wall around the shower and the bathroom sink was very slow to drain. Also, they have coffee machines in the bathroom- I didn't like that.
3 out of 5
by Joseph from Long Island, New York, USA

Over-Priced and Over-Rated!...

Posted Jun 19, 2012
I do a lot of travelling through Expedia, and this hotel was vastly overpriced for what you got.. The hotel was ok, but I've stayed at many similiar and better hotels through Expedia for half the price that I was charged.. the unfortunate thing is that there really is no other options near UConn. The remote to the TV was broken, they tried to fix it to no avil... there were no compensation... Basically the answer to this problem was "oh well". The Whirlpool was way too hot.. It was so hot, I thought they were boiling Lobsters in it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Security concern

Posted Jun 12, 2012
Security concern. My key card got erased. Staff politely gave me a new one. My concern is that they just asked me for my room number and did not ask who I was, let alone ask for ID.
3 out of 5
by Doreen from Maine

Dont trust the website

Posted Apr 9, 2012
The website says"Pet friendly" so we drove all the way to Storrs, 3 1/2 hours for a family event and went to check in at about 11PM. We told them we had a dog with us and they said it was not allowed. I told them we had gotten it from the website and they said"we are trying to fix that". We had pre-paid in advance. If the site is not up to date then the customer has to be allowed to have their pet. THis was a pretty lousy experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Paying for Location

Posted Nov 28, 2011
The Nathan Hale Inn is an overpriced Comfort Inn-type hotel. You are paying a premium for the privilege of avoiding a lengthy drive to less costly options when attending events on or near the UConn campus. I knew this when I booked the hotel, but it is a bit annoying when you realize what you actually got by paying about $100 extra for the privilege of a convenient location. Perhaps it's just buyer's remorse; paying a premium to be in Storrs is just more painful than paying extra to be in a great neighborhood in NY or to be at a resort. The rooms are generously sized and clean, but the overall condition of the hotel feels a bit tired. Breakfast at the restaurant (Friday after Thanksgiving) was okay but no better or more interesting than what most good diners produce. Service was also quite slow, which was surprising given how few people were in the restaurant.